We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunflower Apartments & Studios
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Laganas
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at Sunflower studios this summer with 5 other girls for our first girls holiday away. The location is perfect, about a 3 minute walk and you're in the middle of the strip, but its far enough away so you don't hear the noise at night. The beach is at the end of the strip, about a 10/15 min walk from Sunflower. The owners were lovely and happy to help us throughout our stay. The rooms were basic but clean. The pool area was so nice! We always managed to find a group of 6 sunbeds together, even if we didn't make it to the pool by 1pm. It was never too crowded. The pool bar served good food and was quite cheap, really handy for when we couldn't be bothered to cook. There's also a shop just round the corner that sells everything you needed. There were mainly other groups of teens staying when we went and everyone was friendly. Laganas itself is great for a night out! (We loved Rescue, Zeros and G Spot). I would say that Sunflower Studios is perfect for groups of teens who want to be close to the strip but still have a nice room/pool area- some of the other hotels looked grim! If we go back to Laganas, I'd definitely stay again in sunflower studios.

Room Tip: We were in a separate block of rooms away from the main area with the pool, but we didn't mind a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I've just come back and had a great stay at this hotel. Its a family owed hotel and they are very friendly. The pool is very clean and quiet. The rooms are a good size and clean. Rooms are equipt with a hob and fridge. You can pay for air-con and a safe. Kettle is available from the bar area. Its 5 mins walk to the main strip and beach. Recommend you to go to the banana beach and do one of the tours.

Room Tip: Hand soap is not provided, but supplies can be brought from a convenient store 2mins down the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Me and 6 other girls went from the 2nd - 9th July and the location of the apartments is perfect. Its a 2 minute walk down the road to the strip so no taxis needed, and you still cant hear all the music through the night so its fine if you want a quiet night in. There is a little shop down the road perfect for nesessities. The owners are extremely friendly with the man owner giving us free shots at the bar at night! The pool is a great place to rest during the day with all the teenagers resting after a night out so its quite quiet but still full of teenagers! There is also a restaurant opposite the apartment which is great to go to.

Only downside is we were actually put in a house thing on the other side of the pool with 2 other groups of people instead of the actual hotel, although i actually preferred this! No cutlery or kettle etc is provided but you get what you pay for and I would reccommend this apartment to any group of teenagers who want a great location to the strip and a nice place to chill through the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaW94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Myself and 8 other boys arrived at Sunflower on the 27th of July and left on the 6th of August.

It has a great location, with the strip a three minute walk away and a local shop one minute away which is incredibly useful for water runs to cure the hangovers in 30+ degree heat.

The pool area is fantastic with plenty of sun beds, lidos, bat and balls etc. so there is always something to be doing. The bar area is great even though it is about 30 degrees in there (Mavra needs to get some AC in there) however, drinks aren't always the cheapest and so sometimes we ran down to the shop for pre-drinks instead of going to the bar. The balconies are fantastic - we were in the bottom floor, ajacent to the pool and it's perfect for pre-drinks.


The rooms are small but we found they were perfect for us. Of course, not all the rooms have the same appliances and so we had to do a little borrowing with the toaster at times but other than that, the kitchen was great for little meals. We did have enough bowls, cutlery and cups unlike some other hotels where our friends stayed.

But, the cleaning of the rooms is incredibly inconsistent and unless I bugged Mavra for a clean, it wouldn't happen. Even when our towels were smelly, she refused to change them because they weren't visibly 'dirty'. Sometimes the maid did a great job other times, I could have done better myself but for such a cheap price night after night, we couldn't really argue.

I have to say John (Mavra's son who looks after the hotel during the night) is a character and is fantastic to have when you come in completely intoxicated at 6am. In fact, Mavra herself is a lovely person and even offered to borrow me money when my card got swallowed. I think this sums up how well looked after you are at Sunflower.

I have to say if we had our time again, we would go for the rooms on the top floors which are much much bigger and indeed, better. Even with three of us, greater space would have meant when girls came back, it would of been a hell of a lot less awkward.


If you're going to Zante for a lads holiday this is the perfect place to go. Just far enough away from the strip so that you can sunbathe in silence and close enough that you don't have to travel for more than 5 minutes attempting to walk in a straight line. We had a great holiday and met some great people by the pool. Thank you Sunflower!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Cornelius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We arrived in late june 2012 to sunflower it is about 15 minutes from the airport, there is no reception just a bar and at arrival we were given our key to our room and showed to our room. At first we were a little disapointed at our rooms as they AREN'T the rooms that are on the photos displayed on the sunflower website. These rooms are infact on the top floor and are the larger studio flats. Still however we had a fridge which worked really well and a couple of saucers and plates and glasses, but we did have no bowls which we did find really annoying as we couldn't eat any cereals etc and there were no wine glasses but we werent too fussy, no kettle and the hob they provided were two rust rings which looked prehistoric and I was frightened for our safety to actually use it. We didn't really find too many problems as the only thing we needed a kitchen for was the fridge which in fact worked very well and actually works when the electricity card isn't in the hold which was really nice! Surprisingly for greek beds they were actually comfortable and the room was clean, but the maid came inconsistently at first they didn't come for our first 4 days, which was annoying as we needed some clean towels, but then after that they came every other day. We hired a safe which is in your room built into the back of the wardrobe which was 35 euro for the week but we did use it for 10 days but the very nice hotel manager let it slip, the air con was 60 euros for a week, our room didn't get that hot and you could cope without it, but after a few drinks (or way too many) we found the heat was a little bit too much the air con worked amazingly we often woke up freezing cold and turned it off! You do not want to open your windows as the mozzies are awful, invest in a decent wall plug in or you will be bitten to death. The hotel is 2-3 minute walk from the strip (down the short cut which is the back of the bar) but it is very lonely and dark, which we did find a little daunting being two young girls but it is short enough distance to run and gypsys do hang around there and we were approached and asked by them if they could lend our phones, but I wouldn't let that put you off as when you get past the dark street you are right in the middle of the strip which is fantastic. We ate at the hotel twice and it was nice nothing special, but the owner cooked it all herself so it is just what is expected.

Our main problem with the hotel were a few of the guests we didn't see any families or anyone over 25 in the hotel apart from a few greeks using the pool. The guests didn't seem to understand that screaming and singing at the top of their voices is ridiculously annoying, we are not in any way kill joys, and we understood there would be a rowdy crowd but they were beyond reasonable specially when two groups joined together and there meeting point was outside our room, the walls are extremely thin and you will hear people coming back at 6am. However it was entertaining seeing George (owner) who could barely speak english telling them to shut up, we couldn't of said it better ourselves.

The problem with the guests did come useful as they were all out so late, at 11am the sunloungers were still empty! No getting up at sillyo'clock to reserve a lounger. We arrived back between 3-6am every night and as there was no reception there was no dirty stop out shame walking in or battling with security like the bigger hotels.

Overall our time was amazing, our hotel was clean, the owners were extremely friendly (unless you scream for 3 hours straight) and it is right on the strip (almost), it does state it is a family hotel but it is NOT a family hotel, but then again laganas is not a family resort and I 100% would not recommend taking young children to anywhere in laganas. It is a great hotel for the general standard of laganas, which is very grim.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Me and 3 other girls stayed in the sunflower studios from 12th-19th July 2012! It was great!!! We were on the top floor in two rooms next to each other (not easy taking suitcases up 3 flights of stairs!), we had an interconnecting door which the owner kindly opened for us, so we basically had 1 big room! Rooms were basic but perfect for us, had a bed each, and the kitchen area had a big fridge and lots of cups. We were self catering and it would be difficult to cook a meal in the room, but its so cheap to eat out we did that instead! The bathroom was ok, the shower was small and the water went absolutely everywhere as there was nowhere to hook the shower head on to. However not a massive problem and easily cleaned up with a towel. The balcony was nice and big and perfect for pre-drinks before going out, and drying wet swimwear/towels on. Air con was an absolute must and I didn't think too expensive at 40 euros a week. We shared 1 safe between 4 of us and it was only about 15 euros, and plenty big enough for all our stuff. The pool was lovely, nice and quiet throughout the day with music playing but not too loudly, which was very welcome after a big night out! Plenty of sunbeds, never had to fight for them. Chip butties round the pool were lovely. Food and drink round the pool was a bit pricey. There's a shop just round the corner which is much cheaper but don't bring the drink back to round the pool as you get it taken away from you! The hotel was mainly young groups of people and there was 1 family whilst we were there. Mavra and George were ok, did tell us to keep the noise down a few times and reminded us that we were not allowed to bring people back! We did keep getting told we would have to move rooms which was a pain, but we didn't in the end thankfully, that would have been a nightmare. Cleaners came in every other day to tidy up, change sheets etc... Be careful not to break anything. We broke part of the balcony and thankfully it was fixed easily, but the owners/cleaners were not impressed. Also we got charged 10 euros at the end of the holiday for getting paint all over the towels after the paint party. The hotel is literally a 3-4 minute walk from the strip. The location is perfect and its a lot nicer than some of the other more popular and livelier hotels we saw!! Just don't walk back on your own as the road is a bit dark, but other than that we couldn't of asked for a better location. 5-10 minute maximum walk to the big clubs like 'Rescue'. Also it was far enough away from the strip so you couldn't hear all the noise when you did want to sleep. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would most definitely stay again. It's not a luxurious hotel by any standards, but perfect for what we were looking for on a clubbing holiday! And the beds were comfy which is always a bonus!

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor did look a lot nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Em92_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have recently returned from a week Holiday at Sunflower apartments. The accomodation for us was perfect, the rooms were a good size and very clean, their was a very large pool, lovely bar which was open at all times and also served great food. The owners were particularly friendly and were happy for us to come and go whenever, but also extremely helpful with any information we needed, booking taxis etc. Also, the location was much better than I expected, a few minutes walk from the strip so it was still easy to access but not noisy 24/7, very close to the beach and local shop aswell as anything else you could need. Laganas itself was lovely and offered everything. Even though there was a group of us who went, I would reccomend Sunflower to everyone as the facilities would suit families, couples, groups etc. Overall i was so impressed and the accomodation completed the best holiday for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tilly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#18 of 74 in Laganas
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
No Name Apartments
No Name Apartments
#54 of 74 in Laganas
19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castelli Hotel
Castelli Hotel
#7 of 74 in Laganas
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#23 of 74 in Laganas
107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ikaros Hotel
Ikaros Hotel
#56 of 74 in Laganas
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Apartments & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Apartments & Studios

Property: Sunflower Apartments & Studios
Address: Laganas Road, Laganas 29092, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Apartments & Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunflower Apartments & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Apartments And Studios
Sunflower Apartments & Studios Hotel Laganas
Sunflower Apartments & Studios Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing