We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for young groups” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alkyonis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laganas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alkyonis
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in Laganas
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for young groups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here with four of my friends in August this year. When we arrived it was 7 in the morning so after a long night flight and delay all we wanted to do was sleep. as there were 5 of us we were splitting the rooms so that me and one other girl were together and then the other three girls were together. However when we got there the room for the 3 girls had a double bed and a single instead of 3 singles. the girls werent best pleased about this but the hotel were great about it and swapped them to a new room straight away. As it was quite quiet when we went (only 3 other groups in the whole hotel) they also offered to swap me and the girl i was sharing with so that we were still next door to them which was really nice. So we ended up in rooms 30 and 31 :) The rooms themselves were perfect as a base for a group holiday. They were clean and safe and the beds were comfortable.It was great aswell as its the only hotel ive been in where they dont tell you off for playing music loud!! Also if you came in in the morning being a bit rowdy they didnt really mind as long as you didnt linger in the lobby! The safe deposit boxes were in reception which was annoying but not too much of a problem. Also dont panic when they take your passports off you :) The rooms were also super quiet so like in the day when we needed a nap we could go aty any time and as long as we shut the shutters, couldnt hear noise form the other guests or pool which was great!! The staff are all great although dont speak a whole lot of english so if you have a problem probably best to wait for the rep as trying to get your point across is sometimes a bit hard, although theyre more then happy to help!! One issue was that the towels werent changed every day and also we had to keep asking for loo roll the cleaner didnt just change it. The pool areas great and they play awesome music all day with cocktails for like 2 euros and great food. The whole area was lovely. You can also pay for aircon in the rooms which is 40 euros for the week and well worth it. We had a late flight at 2am aswell so we also got late check out which was only 30 euros and totally worth it as it meant we got to stay in the rooms till we left unlike the other groups who were sleeping in the lobby. The hotels location is great for the beach but it is a bit of a misssion to the strip.... its only like a 5-10 min walk but with PR's trying to drag you into every bar before you get anywhere near it it can take up to 20-25 mins! Over all that is my only complaint! And that the cleaner is really rude!! Everyday she would walk into the rooms without knocking and start cleaning even if you were asleep. If you asked her to come back later she just wouldnt come back despite the fact youd see her roaming round the hotel all day!! Really annoying!! Over all though this is a fantastic hotel for young group holidays!! I wouldnt recommend it for families and couples but i think with hotels like this, you should expect that when you book!! Had an amazing time here and everyone (except the cleaner) were great!! :)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel dont look as safe as they can be accessed from the road. Try and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissELH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    33
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
4
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Personally, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Although, first thoughts on it were good. Staff were reasonably friendly, hotel was full of people in my age group (18-25) and the rooms weren't too bad for a 3* hotel. This opinion quickly changed. On the second night of our holiday the whole of the 2nd floor had there rooms broken in to. Me and my friend had almost €900 taken along with other rooms having money, phones, ipods,cameras etc stolen. The hotel staff were very unhelpful and the "security man" of the hotel couldn't speak a word of English and to mine and others observation hardly did his job. Turns out a group of boys were given a room key which also fitted most other rooms on our floor (the master key). Luckily we got our belongings back and Monarch sent the boy responsible home but for the rest of the holiday we were all worried about how safe ourselves and our belongings were in this hotel. Simple things such as toilet rolls weren't provided and our towels were changed 3 times out of the 7 nights we stayed. Our sheets were stained with what looked like blood which wasn't too pleasant. If you like tinned peaches, stale bread and boiled eggs for breakfast every morning then you'll love the breakfast. Other than that the bar was a good place for everybody to go to pre-drink before a night out and was also cheap. The location of the hotel was great meaning that it was a 2 minute walk to the beach and a 10 minute walk to the strip and the pool in the hotel is a really nice place to spend the day before heading out at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

just got home from a week here with my wife and son and had a lovely holiday here the staff here are lovely cheerful and helpful giving it a feel good factor in a great location a short walk to the beach and from the busy nightlife if you want it ! slightly worried when i read some reviews but we had a nice mix of young and old the rooms are basic but hey you get what you pay for the cleaner came in each day swept mopped and made the beds and left clean towels , the breakfast is exactly what i expected tea`coffee` juice` toast `cereal`fruit honey and boiled eggs plenty of places to get a breakfast elsewhere if that`s not your cup of tea ! the pool bar does great snacks and meals and if you don`t want to go far serve up to about half eight if your booked here then have a great trip it`s not 5 star luxury but we found it perfectly alright for what we paid ! and i would come here again certainly

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel was basic and clean, could probably do with redecorating. The family that owns the apartments are very friendly and try there best to make you feel welcome. Breakfast is very limited, but in all fairness we hardly ever woke up for it! You can buy air con and hire a safe for your valuables which was very useful! The food is pretty poor... but all we needed was a bacon sandwich which were good! The best part was probably the bar which had friendly staff and cheap drinks, 2 euro cocktails and 1 euro shots and although slightly watered down ... more safe than some of the pre bars that sell anti freeze stuff in there drinks ... so beware! It has pool tables and tv's , no wifi that i was aware of ... although you can pick it up off the cocktail bar opposite! Its located really close to the sea and mini supermarkets! Its fairly close to the strip... find out the safe way (don't walk past drunken dunkens! ) , go past the canadian bar and keep walking! If your on a party holiday I highly recommend these apartments!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0sie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I recently got back from spending two weeks in the Alkyonis with 4 of my friends. The hotel itself was lovely and kept very clean. The staff were very welcoming on arrival. Don't panic when they ask to keep your passports for the duration of the holiday as they are very safe and locked away. Yes the hotel is a little walk from the strip but as the hotel is small everyone gets to know everyone and most nights everyone in the hotel walks to the strip together after pre drinks at the hotel bar. Which is a very reasonable price. If available I would say book the apartments as they are very big and roomy.

If you have the money I would recommend hiring quads for your holiday as this saves getting pestered by all the prs on the way to the strip. The quads are 25 a day. But they are well worth it. I would say leave them at the strip overnight if your going to drink as the police are pretty strict on driving them while drunk.

Overall we had a amazing holiday. People say the hotel is just somewhere you sleep, but the Alkyonis is a great hotel and brings everyone together. I would recommend this hotel to everyone looking to go to Zante.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerrianneBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Such a shame this hotel is full of kids on there first holiday without there parents. Most looked just of of school and behaved like it. This has the potential to be a lovely hotel in great position but ruined by the clientele

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gailbrown100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Fantastic family ran hotel in a great location with very friendly, chilled out staff. 3 girls arrived at the hotel and were greeted by the older woman who took our passports and locked them in a safe. We were showed to our room which was really nice considering what we paid. The room including the bathroom was cleaned everyday. We did have breakfast included however we didn't get up for it but apparently it wasn't the best. Half way through the week we realized there was a fridge in our room and asked the woman how much it would cost for the rest of the week however she gave it us for free. The pool bar is very cheap and Dennis and Dom are really nice and will help you out with any problems plus they are full of banter, great place to pre drink cheaply! Because it is a smaller hotel, everyone gets to know everyone which is a great way to make friends! There is supermarkets and restaurants everywhere you look, 5 minutes from the beach and 15 minute walk to the strip which is a good distance, ask Dennis or Dom for directions, they'll sort you out! I would definitely stay here again, I absolutely loved it!! This hotel helped make the best week of my life!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 928Julie928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.0 mi away
Mon Repos Apartments
Mon Repos Apartments
#19 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#17 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#26 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Castelli Hotel
Castelli Hotel
#5 of 77 in Laganas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agrilia Hotel
Agrilia Hotel
#8 of 77 in Laganas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyonis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyonis

Property: Alkyonis
Address: Laganas, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in Laganas
Number of rooms: 103
Also Known As:
Alkyonis Hotel Laganas
Alkyonis Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing