We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alkyonis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laganas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alkyonis
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in Laganas
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Basic but great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed here with my Boyfriend in Aug 2012. Basically we were looking for somewhere near the beach but on a budget and good for the loggerhead turtles, and this ticked all the boxes. Don't book if you are looking for any great home comforts or 4* service - its a basic apartment block, cheap, cheerful and typical cheap Greek apartments. The rooms are basic but clean and felt secure (since we were robbed in Turkey a few years back). Ours did not have a fridge or any glasses - you have to book self catering for that, B&B rooms do not provide one, so beware. If you have never been to basic Greek apartments before, get used to the fact the shower cubicles are small and water can be tepid if showering at peak times/after dark as it is solar heated. We never had a problem with running out of hot water, but the small cubicle can mean puddles on the bathroom floor. Also get used to the fact you cannot flush toilet paper etc down their toilets due to narrow pipes/rubbish sewers - take an abudnant supply of cheap nappy bags and there will be no whiff from the bin if you use one bag per toilet trip. There is no air con so it can get a bit hot if you leave the balcony doors closed over night (although was often quite cool in the eve for Greece), but never had any mosquito problems. Never ate/drank at the Alkyonis so I can't comment on breakfast/snacks. Due to the fact you are in Laganas and its a party resort, expect some noise from the other rooms - there is usually loud music in the pool area in the eve and some rooms had music on in the early hours or would be taking with friends, but no one was ever rowdy or trouble from what we saw/heard. Alot of people were only going out as we were getting back in so they were usually sleeping early eve. We ended up having a couple of early nights what with diving trips and sun stroke, but the hotel noise never bothered us. Pool was clean and fairly quiet late afteroon, but we went to the beach every day, we just had the occasional pool dip late afternoon.

The resort
Turn left out of the hotel and you will be at the Kalamaki end of Laganas beach, which is cleaner, quieter and has nicer food. If you go to the other end of the resort at the the bottom of the srip area the beach is horrible, dirty and noisy and early in the morning has people sleeping there after a heavy night. Sunbeds do cost but I dont recall them being too expensive and the sun bed guy is friendly and remembered us every day. For lunch on the beach, go to the Blue waves Taverna - friendly staff and tasty food. Greek dishes such as souvaki are reccomended. The Taverna on the other side of the road by the beach wasn't very nice for food, but had toilets. beware there are nesting turtles/eggs on the beach so please respect the area if the 'turtle police' ask you to move away from the nests. If you are lucky you may get to see some of the turtles hatch in early eve - amazing but everyone crowds round. Lookey-lookey men aren't too much hassle - just say no and they don't bother you. If you are up for a walk, walk along the beach to Kalamaki for a change of area. We saw loggerhead turtles in the sea over here and the beach is quieter and more relaxed. Its def worth getting a mask and snorkel.
The restaurants near the hotel and on the way towards the srip are nicer than the ones on/near the strip. most were offering deals. garden of eden and the steak house were nice (but service was sooooo sloooow on our last day), as were a few others on the way from the hotel towards the strip, but I think if you want to have nicer food, go to a different resort, as it felt like it was geared up for party goers and not for nice traditional food. jug of house wine is cheap but nothing amazing, but worth it if you are counting pennies. The local dishes (stifado etc) are def the best though and worth a try.
There are a couple of little shops near the hotel fine for all the basics - ie a breakfast yogurt (bring plastic cutlery/cups with you), drinks and the odd snack. locals are friendly if you are friendly and it is a nice touch to learn how to say a couple of basic greek words such as 'thank you'.
There was a bowling bar near the hotel (opposite the Canadian) with new friendly reps we went to for chilled out drinks. big tv, pool table, mini bowling and nice cocktails. often empty but we didnt always want full on bars as we are not big clubbers. the strip wasn't as full as expected, but we did our thing and had a very drunken night in some of the bars and smaller clubs and paid for it the next day with hang overs.
beware of the heat there - although it didnt feel stupidly hot on the beach (tolerated 35c+ in Bulgaria and survived Egypt for 2 weeks with no problem) we both suffered with a little sun stroke (despite bf being 1/4 Egyptian and dark skinned!!) and sun burn - something we also rarely suffer from. Make use of the parasols on the beach, go for regular paddles, drink LOTS and don't use P20 sun cream!!!! We usually use Piz Buin day long and this usually works well but didnt this year and suffered for it.
Nice day trip options are diving/snorkelling - some of the dive schools aren't amazing but OK for a taster day, the glass bottom style boat trips looked oK but didnt book any. we hired a quad bike (car/moped also an option) and went for a day trip around the peninsula east of Laganas and Kalamaki. There are some lovely little quiet resorts around there and some amazing beaches. Its certainly worth getting out of the town and seeing some more of the island and the real Zante. There is a little beach in the peninsula called turtle beach (if you get a map the car hire places/locals will tell you where is nice to visit), which if you have a powerful enough quad (ours was very underpowered) you can get up over the hills and down to the beach - its meant to be a great place for nesting turtles, but we didnt see any as it wasn't the idea time of year. it is VERY steep in places and our quad was too underpowered to drive both of us up some of the hills though, so beware if there are two of you (I should add neither of us are overweight).

Unfortunately my camera broke, so i didn't get any photos of the rooms, but have added a few of the nearby beach and baby turtle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helenback56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    33
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
4
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with 5 girls... Lets keep it too the point. Basic but clean and spacious, sleep able but not good beds, near to to the beach and 15-20 to strip but walk across the beach. Breakfast is naff but overall loved the holiday and hotel also part of that so recommend it only if u get a bargain

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HolidayLover0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Me and My friend, Went to the Alkyonis hotel in September. We are both 18 and decided to visit Zante purely for the night life! The hotel was nice and clean but basic.. The hotel is rather small, but the swimming pool is of a good size and plenty of sun beds around the pool area. The pool bar drinks were cheep and the food was decent also. Our room was nice but the bathroom shower wasn't on a stand so you had to hold the shower head, which became annoying. Also the shower curtain never stayed inside the cubical therefor the floor always got flooded. There was no TV or a kettle. The reception lady was nice but did not speak much English so you kind of just have to guess when and where breakfast is.. Breakfast was nothing special and a complete waste of money, So i'd say dont bother paying extra for it. All it was, tined fruit, bread and cereal. Tea & Coffee. Your better of going down the road and getting an English breakfast for 5 euros. The cleaner is lovley! although she smokes lots round the hotel and even if your still sleeping she will come in and clean your room, but she has to do it. The main strip is quite close a ten minute walk away with many bars and restraints on the way down.. You just have to be careful of all the cheap deals because the alcohol is vial and not genuine. The hotel has security and have no problem with you getting back at 5, 6, 8 in the morning. Even when we went to the paint party in Rescue, they had no problem with us being coved in paint walking up to our room. The beach is very close to the hotel also. All in all a great holiday for what we payed.. wouldn't go back because once you've been there once you kinda do everything. Defiantly a good hotel if your going on a clubbing holiday, The hotel is not suitable for family's really, there was none when we stayed there. Just old couples, Young couples and groups of friends :)!

Room Tip: Rooms to the side of the swimming pool are quieter, The rooms on the front of the hotel have a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Myself (46) and my partner (49) stayed at the Alkyonis Hotel Laganas in Zante for 2 wks in Aug 2012. We were initially a little worried that we were going to be surrounded by screaming marauding youngsters, but although there were plenty of them! they were all really lovely and respectful, just wanting to have a good time in the towns strip. At the hotel, although basic, we were pleasantly surprised at how pretty and clean it was. Cleaned our room every day and clean towels etc :breakfast provided was adequate and fresh.Best food and vaue for money was definetley:Bon Appetit, and The Toad In The Hole. There are lots of fancy restraunts but we found they didnt fare as well as the others we ate in.Little tip: we found a free bus that takes you to the best beach i have ever seen! It goes to Vasillicos about 30mins away.i t was simply spectacular. Secluded and beautiful.

Room Tip: We were at first given a room overlooking the pool, but we didnt think we would get much privacy, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went to the Alkyonis hotel, self catering as a group of four 18 year old girls. The hotel is relatively small with a fairly small pool but for the size of the hotel this was fine and with it being a smaller hotel you got to know everyone staying there. The food at the bar was very nice and fairly cheap for the amount you got. The cleaners cleaned the room every day and did a good job. The rooms are lovely and perfectly adequate for all your needs. The only thing I would say is our shower flooded the bathroom floor as there was no shower curtain so just had to put towels down after to clean it up but this was not a major issue. Air con was 45 euros for the week but split between you isn't too bad and was well worth it. If you have a night flight you can pay an extra 30 euros to keep your room until you need to leave which was well worth having as we got a whole extra day and evening without worrying about our suitcases. The beach is nice and only a 2-3 minute walk and the strip is around a 15 minute walk which is quite nice as it is all on lit streets so perfectly safe. You do get a lot of PR people pestering you to go in their restaurants but just be polite and say no and keep walking. All in all, the hotel is lovely, full of young people around 18-25 yrs and music playing in the day. If a young, fun, clubbing holiday is what you want, Alkyonis is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally18_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed in Alkyonis 2nd August 2012 for a week with my mates, we was a little apprehensive at first because reviews don't always give them best impression. But all I can say it's the prefect place to stay for a clubbing holiday.

It's a little walk from the main strip about 15 minutes. But the is plenty of Bars, Shops and Restaurant on the way to stop at if you get bored or need a drink, obviously PR's all over the place trying to entice you in. But I just ignore them. Just for your information a taxi from the strip to the hotel is €6, and €17 to the airport.

The hotel staff were really laid back, and if you treat them with respect they will be your friend. We had many parties with our pre drinks before going out and they were ok with it, obviously after about 12am to 1am. We were told to turn the music down, because the hotel staffs rooms were below our rooms and they were sleeping. Which we did then went out to the strip.

I never tried the food at the bar, but one of my friends said they had a breakfast and it was very nice.

Also I never went the beach but I think it’s really close to the beach if you go left when you come out the main entrance.

The rooms are clean, well as can be expected on a clubbing holiday. You're not staying at the Ritz or the Hilton, so you've got to look at it that way. The Cleaner is a trooper, she cleaned our rooms everyday, and even cleaned stuff I wouldn't allow my mother to clean. So I take my hat off to her. Obviously some people like to sleep all day, so she may clean around you, but you've got to remember she's just doing her job.

The pool is a nice size and isn't that deep, but its perfect size for interacting amongst yourselves and with fellow people in the hotel. There is a sun deck for the sun junkies and that gets the sun all day long.

On a whole it's I believe it’s the prefect place to stay if your on group holiday. As HYI took over the hotel and everyone who was there while we were there will remember us “The Real Scousers”!

Room Tip: Ideally you want a room that over looks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealMrHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was the best holiday I have ever been on!! You get grumpy people who put places down all the time!! but I went with a group of 6 girls our hotel was just what we needed !! We only wanted it to sleep n get ready.. the bar was good and the pool was clean .. We were 10 mins away from the strip and the beach best beach Iv seen and loved the turtles :) !! There was lots to do and the night life was out of this world !!! Would Defo go back miss it so much !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amieelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.0 mi away
Mon Repos Apartments
Mon Repos Apartments
#19 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#17 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#26 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Castelli Hotel
Castelli Hotel
#6 of 77 in Laganas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agrilia Hotel
Agrilia Hotel
#8 of 77 in Laganas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyonis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyonis

Property: Alkyonis
Address: Laganas, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in Laganas
Number of rooms: 103
Also Known As:
Alkyonis Hotel Laganas
Alkyonis Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing