We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday!”
Review of Alkyonis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laganas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alkyonis
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with 5 girls... Lets keep it too the point. Basic but clean and spacious, sleep able but not good beds, near to to the beach and 15-20 to strip but walk across the beach. Breakfast is naff but overall loved the holiday and hotel also part of that so recommend it only if u get a bargain

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HolidayLover0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 103 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Me and My friend, Went to the Alkyonis hotel in September. We are both 18 and decided to visit Zante purely for the night life! The hotel was nice and clean but basic.. The hotel is rather small, but the swimming pool is of a good size and plenty of sun beds around the pool area. The pool bar drinks were cheep and the food was decent also. Our room was nice but the bathroom shower wasn't on a stand so you had to hold the shower head, which became annoying. Also the shower curtain never stayed inside the cubical therefor the floor always got flooded. There was no TV or a kettle. The reception lady was nice but did not speak much English so you kind of just have to guess when and where breakfast is.. Breakfast was nothing special and a complete waste of money, So i'd say dont bother paying extra for it. All it was, tined fruit, bread and cereal. Tea & Coffee. Your better of going down the road and getting an English breakfast for 5 euros. The cleaner is lovley! although she smokes lots round the hotel and even if your still sleeping she will come in and clean your room, but she has to do it. The main strip is quite close a ten minute walk away with many bars and restraints on the way down.. You just have to be careful of all the cheap deals because the alcohol is vial and not genuine. The hotel has security and have no problem with you getting back at 5, 6, 8 in the morning. Even when we went to the paint party in Rescue, they had no problem with us being coved in paint walking up to our room. The beach is very close to the hotel also. All in all a great holiday for what we payed.. wouldn't go back because once you've been there once you kinda do everything. Defiantly a good hotel if your going on a clubbing holiday, The hotel is not suitable for family's really, there was none when we stayed there. Just old couples, Young couples and groups of friends :)!

Room Tip: Rooms to the side of the swimming pool are quieter, The rooms on the front of the hotel have a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Myself (46) and my partner (49) stayed at the Alkyonis Hotel Laganas in Zante for 2 wks in Aug 2012. We were initially a little worried that we were going to be surrounded by screaming marauding youngsters, but although there were plenty of them! they were all really lovely and respectful, just wanting to have a good time in the towns strip. At the hotel, although basic, we were pleasantly surprised at how pretty and clean it was. Cleaned our room every day and clean towels etc :breakfast provided was adequate and fresh.Best food and vaue for money was definetley:Bon Appetit, and The Toad In The Hole. There are lots of fancy restraunts but we found they didnt fare as well as the others we ate in.Little tip: we found a free bus that takes you to the best beach i have ever seen! It goes to Vasillicos about 30mins away.i t was simply spectacular. Secluded and beautiful.

Room Tip: We were at first given a room overlooking the pool, but we didnt think we would get much privacy, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went to the Alkyonis hotel, self catering as a group of four 18 year old girls. The hotel is relatively small with a fairly small pool but for the size of the hotel this was fine and with it being a smaller hotel you got to know everyone staying there. The food at the bar was very nice and fairly cheap for the amount you got. The cleaners cleaned the room every day and did a good job. The rooms are lovely and perfectly adequate for all your needs. The only thing I would say is our shower flooded the bathroom floor as there was no shower curtain so just had to put towels down after to clean it up but this was not a major issue. Air con was 45 euros for the week but split between you isn't too bad and was well worth it. If you have a night flight you can pay an extra 30 euros to keep your room until you need to leave which was well worth having as we got a whole extra day and evening without worrying about our suitcases. The beach is nice and only a 2-3 minute walk and the strip is around a 15 minute walk which is quite nice as it is all on lit streets so perfectly safe. You do get a lot of PR people pestering you to go in their restaurants but just be polite and say no and keep walking. All in all, the hotel is lovely, full of young people around 18-25 yrs and music playing in the day. If a young, fun, clubbing holiday is what you want, Alkyonis is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally18_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed in Alkyonis 2nd August 2012 for a week with my mates, we was a little apprehensive at first because reviews don't always give them best impression. But all I can say it's the prefect place to stay for a clubbing holiday.

It's a little walk from the main strip about 15 minutes. But the is plenty of Bars, Shops and Restaurant on the way to stop at if you get bored or need a drink, obviously PR's all over the place trying to entice you in. But I just ignore them. Just for your information a taxi from the strip to the hotel is €6, and €17 to the airport.

The hotel staff were really laid back, and if you treat them with respect they will be your friend. We had many parties with our pre drinks before going out and they were ok with it, obviously after about 12am to 1am. We were told to turn the music down, because the hotel staffs rooms were below our rooms and they were sleeping. Which we did then went out to the strip.

I never tried the food at the bar, but one of my friends said they had a breakfast and it was very nice.

Also I never went the beach but I think it’s really close to the beach if you go left when you come out the main entrance.

The rooms are clean, well as can be expected on a clubbing holiday. You're not staying at the Ritz or the Hilton, so you've got to look at it that way. The Cleaner is a trooper, she cleaned our rooms everyday, and even cleaned stuff I wouldn't allow my mother to clean. So I take my hat off to her. Obviously some people like to sleep all day, so she may clean around you, but you've got to remember she's just doing her job.

The pool is a nice size and isn't that deep, but its perfect size for interacting amongst yourselves and with fellow people in the hotel. There is a sun deck for the sun junkies and that gets the sun all day long.

On a whole it's I believe it’s the prefect place to stay if your on group holiday. As HYI took over the hotel and everyone who was there while we were there will remember us “The Real Scousers”!

Room Tip: Ideally you want a room that over looks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRealMrHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was the best holiday I have ever been on!! You get grumpy people who put places down all the time!! but I went with a group of 6 girls our hotel was just what we needed !! We only wanted it to sleep n get ready.. the bar was good and the pool was clean .. We were 10 mins away from the strip and the beach best beach Iv seen and loved the turtles :) !! There was lots to do and the night life was out of this world !!! Would Defo go back miss it so much !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amieelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have just got back from a weeks holiday in Zante with my friends. Five of us stayed at the Hotel Alkyonis and all of us would go back. The rooms are basic but very clean and tidy. I would advise that you perhaps take a spare towel (new ones are not provided unless you request them). Be prepared to pay extra for air conditioning, a fridge and a safety deposit box - there not expensive, just a good idea to be aware that they are not included in the inital price.
The beautiful beach is a two minute walk away, plenty of little shops and resteraunts nearby too. The main nightlife (Laganas strip) is a 15 minute walk away - close enough to get easily merry and far enough away so you can actually get some sleep!
Fantastic holiday bring on 2013!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#12 of 73 in Laganas
478 reviews
0 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 73 in Laganas
1,752 reviews
0 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#11 of 73 in Laganas
716 reviews
0 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#25 of 73 in Laganas
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyonis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyonis

Address: Laganas, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Price Range: $69 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alkyonis 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Also Known As:
Alkyonis Hotel Laganas
Alkyonis Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing