We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smashed it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vivian

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laganas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Vivian
Ranked #22 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Laganas
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smashed it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Vivian stole our passports ! the security guard needed vodka as a bribe but my mate max loved the smirnoffs.

Toilets smelt of watermelon and my mate mayhew fell in love with the most naturally beautiful girl in the world even if his wiping skills weren't top notch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DannyGunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    61
    32
    20
    40
See reviews for
2
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Staff were neither friendly nor helpful. Rooms were very small and cramped. The kettle we were provided didn't work. The shower head is placed so low down you either have to sit to shower or stand holding the head throughout giving you arm ache. Oh and the shower regularly flooded the bathroom. As all teenagers want to sit on the balcony before heading out at night, this was not an option, each night the security guard lets himself into your room and demands you come inside and close the door, regardless of if you're not even creating noise. I was also made aware of the same security guard regularly sleeping with guests, you can't take friends from other in your hotel. They take your passport as a deposit. The safe from our room had been pulled out the wall so we weren't able to use this facility. Around the pool area you cannot take your own food/drink, it MUST be purchased from the incredibly overpriced pool bar otherwise you will have it confiscated (ridiculous). The location is okay, a 10 minute walk to the strip, however its a good 25mins to the beach. All drinks in zante are watered down just about everywhere you go so make sure to predrink. On vacating the rooms, just to warn you, the blonde lady in charge of checking rooms and dispensing fines, will fine you for anything you can imagine, the slightest mark on a bed sheet or towel, regardless of if they were given to you like that will cost you €15 per item. We arrived to find a broken plastic chair on our balcony and she tried to fine us for it on leaving! Oh also my final complaint, we had only been booked in till the 6th night and were expected to leave our suitcases by the pool for a good 20 hours before leaving, we were charged an extra €45 to keep the room for a further 12 hours before having to sit in reception for the final 8 hours. Our rep 'ziggy' was an absolute ****, after we decided not to purchase any packages off him, he didn't bother to speak to us at all for the entire week, Overall this holiday was one problem after another, i definitely would not stay here again or recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank burtycrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
btown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

7 Boys in Mid August 2012

Location - Good - 3 minute walk to the strip, Only annoying thing is people trying to get you in there restaurant

Rooms - Simple- Bed, wardrobes, sink, shower, toilet, Also no matter how clean you keep your room they'll charge you for damages

Staff - Nice if your nice to them, except the security thinks his robocop

Other things - shop is literally 50meters away, Everyone is 17-25, get a safe to keep your money in, beach is rubbish, no banana boats or anything, One more thing that pissed me of, our shuttlebus back to the airport was at 11:30pm and they kicked us out our rooms at 11am and said 10 euros each to keep the rooms for rest of the day, they have control of your money because they have one of your passports, get drink from the shops cause the club drinks are watered down

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

payed about 250 for a week here in september, and was definitely only worth that. its an ok hotel, staff are weirdos, tried to charge us for fixing the light that was already broken and when we refused, he said he was only joking. sure he would have taken our money though. bit of a walk from the main strip. laganas nightlife is crazy, id go again just a different hotel. our bathroom had a plug in the middle and water would come out of it, so we used the hotels towels to soak up the water and got charged 30euros for this otherwise they wouldnt give us our passports back. oh, and we though we saw a ghost, or was that just the drink talking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saz92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

9 girls and I all stayed here for a week at the end of August 2012. After reading all the reviews, we were dreading what we were going to get ourselves into. We got a welcome shot when we arrived late afternoon and payed for the air con (definitely worth it) as well as for a safety deposit box.

We got the best room in the hotel by far - on the 1st floor there are two rooms which have an interconnecting balcony, great for drinks in the evening - some of the other balconies are pretty poky and can only fit about 3 people on them at a push.

We were warned about the security guard and to be fair, he was a bit of an idiot - if you make noise anytime after 12, he'll have his spotlight out and shouting at you to be quiet. They are also very strict about noone being allowed back to the hotel if they don't stay here so that is definitely something to bare in mind.

One thing that was really great was the pool - clean, big enough and you could always find enough sunbeds - you didn't have to be up at the crack of dawn to reserve them however you would be up at the crack of dawn due to the blaring music at the poolbar! The food was typical greasy hangover food which didn't bother us to be honest. The mini-strip next to the hotel has loads of restaurants and bars where you can get good deals as well as a Subway (heaven after a heavy night).

To be honest, if you're looking for somewhere fairly cheap to stay then Vivian is fine - if you go with a good group of people then it doesn't really matter! Everyone else there is doing 18-30s and so you're bound to make friends and it's a really good atmosphere around the pool!

There are loads of comments about trying to rip you off and I would DEFINITELY recommend bringing your own bottom sheet and a pillow case because they will find something to charge you on. Our bathroom flooded a few times but we weren't particularly bothered. Just make sure you tell the staff before you unpack your stuff anything you see wrong with the place.

Would not recommend for anyone over the age of 30 but it's a great location and if you just keep out of the way of the staff you will be fine! If you're looking for a better place to stay, we met a few people staying in the alexander hotel and they were raving about it!

Room Tip: Get the one with the interconnecting balcony on the 1st or 2nd floor. Avoid ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyB1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Went on a girls holiday, we were all 18 and it was our first holiday away from parents.
It was DISGUSTING! When we arrived at 6am, we were refused to even buy a drink let alone get into our rooms quickly - instead we had to sit for an hour in a queue whilst they confiscated our passports! We had already read reviews about the charges for stains on sheets, broken furniture etc so were aware when we arrived but obviously this is a scam as the walls were covered in paint in the bathroom, the shower curtain fell down when we drew it back the first time, the sheets had sweat/brown stains on them already so we wrote that down on a list as proof that we didn't cause them. The staff were MISERABLE. Never polite and constantly telling people off for laughing or splashing in the pool - we could understand this if we were being disruptive but there was nobody else around! Food was average, but OVERPRICED! Security guard is a complete physco, on our way back from being out in the clubs, even when we were sober and not even talking, he shouted us back to our rooms and told us we shouldn't be coming back so late. Awful. Just don't bother staying here.

Room Tip: Funny how they scream and yell at you for making 'noise' at night yet keep the music blaring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel and staff have had some bad reviews which I feel are unjustified! If you treat the place with disrespect as many of you do then don't expect to be treated with respect back! If u break something or damage it u pay! Simple! Just because you are abroad doesn't mean these values disappear! Me and my two girlfriends stayed the first week or October 12, this week was perfect reasonably quiet all the party goers gone. The rooms are not great standard but as the manager said young people damage them so it is not worth them upgrading! However, the pool is cleaned every night, the rooms regularly. There has been reviews saying you have to pay for marks on towels; but you are told this on arrival; one friend got mascara on her towel over two days do went to apologise and charged only 5 euros. Me and my friend took our own face towel so this wasn't an issue as make up does ruin towels! The food was great and reasonably priced; drinks cheap around the pool so u don't mind that you can't take your own stuff to the pool! The staff if u took time to speak to and was polite to them they were lovely and friendly. Maids always waved, bar staff and the Maria the manager spoke fantastic English, the owner gave us three free shots each on my friends 30th birthday night! The bar shuts when no one is using it so could be 9 could be 12?! Location is fantastic; theres a graat supermarket left out the hotel then tight a few metres on the right that sells everything! The beach is fantastic, try Cool Peppers which is half way along the beach to eat; bit more expensive but worth it! Other restaurant Vanilla is good! Went on turtle trip only 10 euros as end of season, I didn't see any as wrong side of boat but my friends did! Had a heat wave mid 30s all week! Fabulous holiday, hotel and location if u don't mind very basic rooms!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsey217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.4 mi away
Portego Hotel
Portego Hotel
#35 of 77 in Laganas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savvas Hotel
Savvas Hotel
#62 of 77 in Laganas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#15 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#26 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ikaros Hotel
Ikaros Hotel
#56 of 77 in Laganas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Zante Plaza
Club Zante Plaza
#4 of 77 in Laganas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vivian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vivian

Property: Hotel Vivian
Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vivian 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Vivian Hotel Laganas
Hotel Vivian Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing