We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review from someone who knows zante like the back of her hand”
Review of Esperia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esperia Hotel
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Reviewed September 24, 2013

basic background of me - i used to work in zante and also have been many times to visit for a holiday. from this my experiance of accomidation in zante are quite experianced.

Esperia is personally one of the better hotels/accomodation that we have stayed in.

The rooms are pretty standard (like all hotels/rooms here) but it does the job!!! if you are going for a wild week please do not expect luxury you will hardly get this in anywhere that you book.

rooms are clean and pool is nice. and you are 2 seconds away from the beach and right on the main strip so perfect for people wanting everything right on your door step.

To be honest we never made breakfast so i cannot comment on that.. but if u do see the side of 9 am that doesnt include you still being half cut then shame on you!

i would not advise any hotel on the main strip if you are looking for luxuary/comfort/piece and quiet. i would advise staying off the strip and away from the clubs as you will not get this here.

The staff in the hotel are always around to help and reception is 24/7.

If i ever return to zante i would go back to esperia

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ip-dip-do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 231 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rooms are great, very clean & modern. The only thing that could be improved is greater finesse breakfast. Every day, the same does not affect the desire to buy anything from the bar. For example, we would propose to replace the melon - melon every other day. Adding olive oil, baked or fried eggs, bacon, sausages instead, every now and then add roasted tomatoes instead of regular sliced ​​or simply sliced ​​peppers. Instead, some other grandmothers lemon flavor, which at the same price is a lot. Something Greek, local which is cheap but represent the diversity of the menu.


Beach with warm shallow water is ideal for children who are still under the control of their parents. A little further is deeply what is a good alternative for people who want to swim. An interesting thing is the free sun beds available by the beach restaurants-pubs, poporstu ordered something to drink and we can enjoy a free deck chair. On the beach in Laganas we rent a cruise to the nearby island of turtles Caretta caretta, where they lay eggs. They can also be seen flying along the coast. Motor boats and pedal boats are also readily available on the beach.main street is full of shops where you can stock up on souvenirs, suntan lotion, mask and snorkel, etc. a lot of taxis, shopping, food fresh fruits and vegetables.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lukasz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I'll start by saying you have to consider the location, the price and all the other circumstances for the rating, it cannot be rated "objectively". The reason I say this is first of all the location: the very heart of Laganas, which is a party town. So people who don't like crowd and noise in the streets should not pick this location. And this is not about the hotel, it's not that they can do something to change it.
The location itself is also an advantage, not just a disadvantage: all the tavernas, shops, clubs, the beach is just a few minutes walk away. You can actually get to the beach in about 2 minutes if you walk out the back gate by the pool.
A few words about the pool: it was nice and clean, with free sunbeds and umbrellas. Music was playing all day long and there was a bar where you can buy snacks, drinks, coffee and cocktails. There was a very friendly and helpful girl working there, Christina, who worked really hard all day, serving breakfast in the morning then continuing all day long by the pool. She was never tired and always dancing and singing, which made all the guest feel very good too!
The rest of the staff was also very friendly, check-in and check-out didn't take long at all. We didn't have any problems to resolve so I don't have a view on how efficient they would be in that situation.
About the rooms: we stayed in a room on the top floor, facing inside, not the street. You could see the sea from the balcony. Fortunately no noise came in during the night and we were lucky as our neighbours were also quiet people. But there were a lot of partying teenagers staying there so I can imagine it can get noisy if you get the wrong people. The rooms were nice and clean, they looked quite new, so for the price we paid it was really great. There was a nice blue light in the rooms, if you didn't want to turn on the regular lights, it was quite nice.
You have to pay separately for A/C, a safe box and the fridge. Since we got a room facing east A/C was not a problem as the room didn't get hot at all, it only got a little sunshine in the morning. The rooms facing the street though can heat up like an oven so I would definitely pay extra for the A/C there. The safe deposit was down the hall and looked quite basic and old fashioned so don't expect some very professional protection there. It was like a very small metal box so you can only keep small items in it.
Wifi is only available in the lobby but I didn't miss that very much as I was on vacation and I didn't want to be online all the time. Going in and out of the hotel I just stopped for a few minutes on the big leather couches in the lobby and that was enough to check the most important emails and news.
All in all, if I look at the hotel and what it offers in that location for that price I think it was a good value for money.

Room Tip: Top floor, not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 0Ella0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel itself is not bad at all, the room my friends and I got is the same as in the pictures on the hotel website. However, it is impossible to get any sleep. The problem is not the outside noise, they have sound-proof windows, but the noise from the inside of the hotel. The guests, mainly British teenagers, were shouting, banging at doors, kicking them, jumping over balconies, they locked each other out of rooms and then they would scream and shout to get in, they would stand in front of our door and talk until 3-4 in the morning, unbelievable! The positive thing is Christine from the dining room, very polite, always smiling and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jasmina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is great for teenagers on a holiday. Being right on the strip meant that my daughter and her 2 friends were safe and didn't have to walk far home. The room for 3 was big enough, they didn't pay for the air conditioning but were fine without it. The breakfast was absolutely fine although only one of them got up daily. Fresh fruit, yogurts and bread, ham, cheese etc.

The pool was great, not at all noisy. Water has to be bought at the bar for 1 euro and they were told off for bringing it from the shop to drink by the pool. Safes were available and the key was left behind reception when they went out which made them feel safe. Wifi was fine by the pool and in reception......my daughter managed to 'facetime' me with a good signal.

I wouldn't imagine any hotel in Laganas in the summer would be ideal for families but if you are young but don't want the 18-30's type hotel and want a safe and clean hotel right in the action of the strip yet quiet enough to get a good nights sleep and safe......try the esperia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NothernGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stay there as a family of 5 and had used 2 rooms ,the first unpleasant surprise we got as soon as we arrive is the fact they charge extra for the air con (in a bloody 30 C weather) ,along with charge for mini fridge , and other facility .Regardless of that , we had paid for the air con and hope for the best.

There's Free wifi but the connection is extremely bad that you have to stay in the lobby or outside the balcony (without the air con once again) if you want to use it , so you can see pack of group in the lobby during the evening for the wifi.

. as soon as you open the balcony door ,(for example , to hang the towel or such ) the air con get cut off as the circus go through it .

We had 2 set of supply (including duvet , towel ) provided in the first few night in our room while there's 3 of us in the room .

as for the other 2 of my family member , they had paid for the air con as well but it was broken in the very first night as well as with an extremely bad bedroom , the had moved to another room after complains but still have to stay the first night in original room . even so , they still have other small issue such as charging electrical item due to the power limit in the room , as a result , they have to charge their item in our room.

the breakfast is the same every single day. The TV in our room is tiny and old that barely work .
the hotel rarely change the sheet and towels.

there's no telephone between room or information desk and there's a very small lift in the hotel. suitable for 2 people with luggage maybe (or 1 if the luggage is big)

they request visitor to put down the keys while out but when we returned they lost our key and stated that we had lost it even without looking into the CCTV footage . they found it after about 2 hours in another completely non-related person's room (how ? i dont know .) it is obvious that they do not see anything wrong with their behaviours and the service provided with the attitude they give as well .

however , hotel is not bad in location wise , right in the centre and close to the sea , restaurant and mini supermarket within a few minute walks ,they also got few very cute kitten and cat around there ..and the swimming pool are clean to use with music , great for just chilling (no evening swimming tho )

definatly not even worth 3 stars in my own opinion , maybe a 2 or 1 stair . We regret the choice we made to select this hotel , there's much better option in the area for a cheaper price ;

Room Tip: remember to lock not only the room but the luggage you have before you leave. try to have room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Unless you have really low standards for hotel or your a chav you will hate this hotel. The staff are rude, who never sovled any of our problems which included the air con breaking, the bathroom door locking it self and false advertising is a problem with this hotel as the bathroom is the kind a bathroom I would expect to see on remote Africa and it looked like on the website a really nice bathroom.

Although its rated 3*, it is more like 1* UK standard and as the island is a lot less developed than the UK so its 3* by Greek
standard.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sarahboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.6 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#13 of 73 in Laganas
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Zante Park Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
California Beach Hotel
California Beach Hotel
#42 of 73 in Laganas
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperia Hotel

Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Laganas
Price Range: $53 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Esperia Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Esperia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperia Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing