We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - but not much happening”
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #57 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here a couple of years ago. The rooms were ok a bit dirty. The pool was great but quite oring over all. but i didn't go there for the hotel. the restaurant opposite was nice i would go back but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sezzyhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 504 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

The hotel is not as bad as the reviews make out, staff is friendly, drink is good and the food is fine as long as you aren't fussy.

The majority of bad reviews of this hotel are old people looking for a relaxing holiday and ending up in Laganas of all places!!

Don't complain if youths are too loud at night, you should have checked into the area before you booked a holiday there.

Yes this is a party town, yes there are louds youths, yes it is a lot of fun for clubbing. So get over yourselves and stop moaning, go somewhere else you old bags.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TrevorSssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

we came as a group of 6 in july the hotel was good, the rooms were clean but basic, not all the staff speak very good english but hey you are in greece!! we were close enough to the strip but not to close as to here all the music when we wanted to sleep, the on site shop is small but has everything you need at very good prices and the people inside are very helpful if you need water, snacks ect thats where you need to go. overall good hotel friendly staff and all the amenities you need.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dennis p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed at Alexander hotel in July 2013 with 11 of my friends for our first girls’ holiday; after we read a few bad reviews we were somewhat perturbed about the hotel we were going to be staying in! However, when we arrived we couldn’t comprehend why it had a few bad reviews. All the staff including the security guards were very polite and friendly making us feel welcome and safe. The pool was a reasonable size, perfect for sunbathing and just chilling out at after having a heavy night the night before.
G-spot was by far our favourite bar to go to. The atmosphere in the bar was sociable; the music wasn’t too loud so we could easily have a conversation between us which we were fond of. Drinks were reasonably priced, normally offers on as well.
Cherry bay we found it was better to go there around about 2-3.30am that is when it starts to get busy because it is located at the bottom end of the strip closer to the beach. 80’s music is okay for a night or so but we found going there every night got a bit cheesy after the 3rd night going. They hold an event on a Monday night called the full moon party, for what we paid for it we didn’t really see much benefit of it, we had to pay extra for drinks and we were stood on a beach.
People kept trying to sell us rum and raybands booze cruise, they were really desperate but we had heard it was shocking from a least 3 groups of people we met, its all sex games which we didnt want. 80% of my group were in relationships and the other 20% wouldn’t feel comfortable on that sort of party! Alice our leader had already booked VVIP Yacht Party tickets - and it was easily the best night of our holiday, music was amazing, atmosphere was amazing, the swim stop was really good fun, and we also got a watersports day out with the ticket - really, really recommend this event.
White party was located on a beautiful island and worth paying a visit on a Sunday night! The name is quite self explanatory, everyone wears white!!! Music was great, drinks were expensive and a bit of a fiddle ordering them as you have to buy a card from one station then go to the bar and order them. Apart from that we really enjoyed it; they had dancers and fireworks to end the party.
Waikiki again, as it’s at the bottom end of the strip it is best to go there around 1.30-3.30am as it starts to get busier around that time. Us girls had free entry but some of the lads we met out there had to pay 5euros to get in but then they had a free drink token so really it compensated. The music taste in Waikiki was awesome; they played the UK top 40 and all R&B songs, great atmosphere in there!
Zeros was also another place we really enjoyed being in, they have the front bar with some old school music being played which was a good laugh, but they also had the club behind it. Drinks weren’t badly priced, great atmosphere, clubs pretty big; lots of bar stations as well.
Overall, the first girls holiday was amazing and we are all hoping to come back for round 2!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

To be honest this hotel was not great, however it was what we needed for a price we could afford. 9 of us altogether stayed for a week 23rd to the 30th of June; it is a hotel purely for the younger, studenty population, definitely not a family hotel! It was very lively and great if all you want is a cheap hotel with a young crowd close(ish) to the main strip (the walk was around 20 minutes).

I booked B&B and the breakfast was awful, the milk was warm , there was little choice and we did not get a choice of fry up; that was only for all inclusive people.

The pool is great and the bar by the pool do really good fry ups (perfect for a hangover). The staff are relatively friendly, room sizes are okay for what we needed, but do not go to this hotel expecting it to be 4/5* it is definitely at most a 3*. But considering we were mostly out during the day and the night it rarely mattered!

Overall if all you are looking for is a hotel which is cheap, busy and lively that is relatively close to the main strip then this hotel fulfills that exactly, however eat elsewhere, the food is poor.

(Also next door is a good restaurant, the owner is really nice and chatty).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UniGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

A group of five of us stayed in this hotel in july 2014. It was our first holiday without parents so we were unsure of what to expect. The hotel is extremely clean, maids do a fantastic jobs in rooms and even managed to work around the mess we left each day. The pool is lovely and there are always plenty of sunbeds, although reception staff do not speak very good English they do their best to help you. Bar men are great and quick. The only 2 problems I could give about the hotel is that the pool can become unclean towards the end of the day due to large groups leaving plastic cups, cans and food plates around. And... I would certainly not recommend going all inclusive, as we were rolling in at early hours of the morning we always missed breakfast (which stopped early at 10.30am anyway) dinner and tea offered a wide variety of food but nothing that we had really heard on, they offered some strange food and we would usually just order pool side snacks such as toasties. You could also only get certain drinks on your all inclusive band, such as a limited choice of cocktails, no ice lollies and no crisps.
I would recommend going to the 4play bar just over the road, we pre drank there every single night, friendly staff, cheap drinks and a good friendly atmosphere. Around a 15 minute walk to the strip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessica l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I hope they don't delete this post as I know they write there own & delete other reviews,as much as I read the reviews they were obviously false! don't get me wrong this hotel is beautifull,just neglected,the photos on the website are not the same as ours,I will upload my photos & hope they help,the hotels staff are miserable apart from a few,they like to ignore a lot,e.g bad language,broken glass,arguements,litter,room problems,cleanliness of around the pool & toilets,We spent 10 nights at this hotel & luckily met some lovely people,they had the same views as us,opposite the hotel is captain morgans pub/restaurant,the owners are amazing & will fill you in about around the hotel & where to go,although as so friendly most nights were spent in here as we as a couple met others,the owner Karen is English,this will definatley help as staff play ignorant to the English!!!
We were all inclusive & I willsay the food was amazing! 10/10 for effort! The hotel is a 10min walk from the main strip,crazy golf is a must at the end of the road,the beach is a 10 min walk to,there are no visible signs to the beach so aslong as you turn right out of the hotel you will reach the beach,we walked there everyday by one as the music round the only pool was too loud & repetitive! again good for youngsters 18/30 perfect! if you walk to the beach you can cut through the havanna beach club,this is a eye opener & great people watcher bar/club on the beach,we stopped for a drink most days as great tunes & views!!! I would advise if a couple to walk left on the beach & walk to the lovely lady with sunbeds furthest away! she will look after your bags/beds while you swim ect,8 erous x2 beds with parasol,my partner went snorkling 200metres out & came face to face with a turtle!!!! what an experience!!! we had an amazing time away,but the hotel didn't meet our expectations,we hadn't ahad a holiday in 7 years so made the most of it!!! stunning beaches,walks,excursions,wish we had hired a quad bike,as got to see more of the island that way,well I think Ive covered most of it?? oh yeah one more thing to add!!!!!!!! 90% of the population are not greek in skiathos!!!hence rudeness!! There Albanian!!! the greeks are amazing if you get to find them!!! shame there being pushed out to the mainland.

Room Tip: The photos on the website of the rooms are not what you book Im afraid? They looked stunning online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skitzyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#13 of 73 in Laganas
477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Paradise Apartments & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Castelli Hotel
Castelli Hotel
#8 of 73 in Laganas
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#25 of 73 in Laganas
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Zante Plaza
Club Zante Plaza
#2 of 73 in Laganas
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Price Range: $71 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Laganas
Alexander Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing