We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay there!!!!”
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #58 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't stay there!!!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from our holiday to laganas. Booked it as a last minute holiday and was recommended this hotel by travel agent, as price was good for all inclusive! Well if I would have known how bad this hotel is, I would have offered to pay more of any amount of money to stay somewhere decent! Please people don't stay there even if you get it really cheap!!
Basically I could do copy-paste from previous review as I agree with everything in there.
On arrival reception staff were rude but I put it on tiredness as we arrived at night. I was more bothered about groups of people sitting in the lounge, drinking ad shouting. That was 5am!

We are not fussy people, but our room was very basic to say at least. Very old and tired, tv didn't work, no air-con, beds were rock hard, so were pillows. We both ended up not getting much sleep for first two nights, due to people shouting in the corridors at night, music in room next door, music banging downstairs by the bar, mosquitos in the room and too hot rooms due no air-con.
Food was nothing special, very limited buffet choice. Lunch and dinner were ok, but breakfast was very poor. No drinks available, only water or tea and coffee. Night time red or white wine. Bar staff was unbeleivably rude, when asking any questions, were given a paper with all inclusive rules and no answer at all. And not to mention that drinks were cheap and did not taste right.
And as we thought it can't get any worse, 250 Slovenian students arrived! What happened next felt like in the zoo. Screaming, shouting, drunken people everywhere. When asked from reception about what is happening and it's unfair towards other guests, I got answer that it's hard for them too!!
So after another sleepless night we decided to check out of this hotel and found ourselves lovely hotel by the beach in our own expense! Reception staff didn't even apologise or offer us any other options!
It might sound now like we are old and moaning couple, but no we are only young aswell, just we're looking for nice relaxing break with good atmosphere, and you definately won't find that from Alexander's!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    77
    109
    85
    133
See reviews for
45
74
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We travelled at the last minute and were impressed at the staff friendliness and the quality of food and drink in our all inclusive deal.
The rooms were cleaned daily, the dining area spotless and the poolside area wonderful

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacher2966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived on 16th September 2013 (still here sadly) on a last minute type of booking for 10 days of rest and relaxation on the lovely island. We had previously stayed in Tsilvili and it was great, really great. Go there if you come to the island, terrific place. We were trying out a new area Laganas on this trip. Big mistake! Unless you like tacky bars and lots of youngsters shouting and listening to "banging tunes mate" Which is ok but not for me anymore.

The hotel Alexander sporting 4 stars no less is possibly the second worst hotel I have stayed in. The room is barely up to 2 star standards with a lumpy bed. The sower was faulty with a filthy shower curtain and the bathroom is dated. Upon arrival the staff were rude and unwelcoming to say the least. The hotel boasts a sauna and gym but when staff were asked the gym could not be found and the sauna cupboard would have required a days notice to fire up (their words). The bar staff are awful, rude and unhelpful. there favourite word is "No" when asked for most things. getting a glass of white wine is a hit and miss affair so don't ask for anything exotic like a Bailys or dare I say it Tia Maria, I am sure you will agree quite popular in most holiday resorts.

The food is passable if limited in its variety, served buffet style.

Then just as I thought it could not get worse 150 young German clubbers turned up for a clubbing event. Oh Joy! Suddenly the hotel was filled with Banging Tunes and screaming clubbers. This went on all night and included the use of air horns, random banging on doors, more air horns, a lot of shouting and running up and down corridors. This continued literally all night. I asked the hotel manager in the morning if she had slept well and she smiled and said yes. I proceeded to tell her I was being sarcastic but it was lost in translation. I must learn greek. She shrugged her shoulders and walked away. At no point was any apology or solution offered.

To conclude dear reader I have two more joyful days of the clubbers and this really awful hotel left at this point so my advice to you is PLEASE DONT CHOOSE THIS TERRIBLE HOTEL, go anywhere but here and avoid Laganas unless you have just passed your A Levels or wanted to be reminded of your recent prison term in a young offenders institution.

Come to Greece its great but just not this area or Hotel Alexander the Very Poor. If I find the fella with the air horn tonight I will show him where it will fit perfectly and not bother anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank notonetocomplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laganas hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

stayed here in July for a week and the day we got there the staff were that rude the room was that disgusting we actually cried and debated a flight home. I would NOT recommend this to ANYBODY, the room smelt damp the 'wardrobe' was dirty and smelly so you couldn't hang anything in there without it smelling damp..the staff were on another level RUDE doesn't even sum them up, so arrogant!! Don't pay extra for a pool view room because you won't get that you will get a view of a back street with trees and rubbish and when you ask why you haven't got a pool view room they say it isn't on their 'notes', the aircon is €40 and doesnt work and everytime you tell them they just palm you off with a new remote that still doesnt work! .. if your looking for sleep through the night alexander hotel is not the hotel for you there is screaming, shouting, music and people banging on your door until at least 7am!! Do not go all inclusive to this hotel as the food is vile. Overall The only good thing about here is the location and the bar staff! If your 18-25 I would definitely recommend zante the bars and strip are great!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hol0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just got back from a week here in August. Have never stayed in such an awful hotel. The man checking us in was the most ignorant man I have ever met, wasn't very welcoming. All the staff we met weren't very helpful and ignorant. Got to our room and the cleaner was still cleaning it! Room was disgusting. Dirty. The bathroom had a drain just in front of the toilet that smelt awful. Shower didnt work. Sheets and towels were only cleaned once in the week we were there. Wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel but it certainly wasn't a 2 star!!!! The hotel was full of 18 year olds who screamed and shouted all night, then the security screamed and shouted at them to go to bed. We had breakfast one morning and it was that disgusting we didnt bother for the rest of the week even thou we had paid for it.
DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!!
Atlantis hotel is the place to stay in laganas!!

Room Tip: Don't bother booking here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loves_to_travel102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just got back from a week at this hotel (if u can even call it that) was absolutly disgusting. Came here with a friend for a relaxing stay and i am so disapointed!! There was a ants nest in our bathroom wall.. absolutly vile. The bed sheets dont get changed!! The food was disgusting. Im not exactly fussy and have stayed in many hotels before that have been 3 stars but this is awful!! The room smells damp, have even overheard people saying they are changing hotels as it is that bad!! By far the worst hotel i have stayed at... The only good thing i can say is that the location is great. What was meant to be a relaxing holiday turnt into a wild one.. Anything to get out of there be intoxicated enough to not notice the state of the rooms. I booked through thompson if they say its good dont believe it!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindsey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I travelled with 4 other ladies who ranged in ages we stayed for a week the second week in June this year now please dont be put off by zante island itself as greece is beautiful... however the alexander was a disaster from start to finish from the moment we arrived we knew already that the hotel was not going to be what we had expected! if you are18 and want a full on party hotel and you dont mind litter, bad food, bad drinks, unclean pool, unhelpful staff infact absolutely shocking staff, dirty rooms/bathroom, no sleep, vomit in places you wouldnt expect to find, stepping over drunk bodies to get to the pool as they have passed out and generally enjoy spending your holiday surrounded by drunk groups of lads/girls who have no respect for anyone else and literally treat the hotel like a stop off when too drunk then this hotel is exactly what your looking for!!! Now i'm only 28 myself but the hotel was the worst place I have ever paid to stay at and we were all inclusive and were exceptionally dissapointed by what was offered having paid nealy £400 each to stop there for a week. This hotel is suitable for the much younger generation as the location to the strip is minuits away so i can see the benifit of stopping here, but please if your not on your first holiday and your older than 18 this is a warning that you will indeed be very dissapointed when you arrive, stay outside of laganas and get a taxi ride in which are very very cheap staying a little bit away from laganas strip is the advice that i would give. Its a shame the hotel is soooooooo badly run and kept as it is, as its perfect for location and has the potential to be very good but whoever owns this hotel makes thier money from renting rooms to the younger generation who dont care about where they stay!!!!

Room Tip: dont stay here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bnlsy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 73 in Laganas
456 reviews
8.3 mi away
Zante Village
Zante Village
#13 of 13 in Alykes
247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Zante Blue Beach Hotel
Zante Blue Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Agios Sostis
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ikaros Hotel
Ikaros Hotel
#49 of 73 in Laganas
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Property: Alexander Hotel
Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Laganas
Alexander Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing