We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls holiday!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #67 of 77 Hotels in Laganas
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Girls holiday!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed at The Alexander Hotel in Zante last August as a group of 4 girls. We booked this as our first girls holiday away and knew what to expect from this 'lively' hotel.
After reading other people's reviews of the hotel we were a bit worried at some of the comments, but it wasn't as bad as people were making out. The hotel is full of young groups of girls and boys - NOT A FAMILY VENUE.
ROOM - SATISFACTORY - Our room was an average size and we payed for air-con and a safe which is a must. The rooms had two single beds, shower, small hob and balcony outside with tables and chairs. We went self-catering and never had any problems bringing food and drinks back into the hotel. It was cleaned every day by the cleaners, who even did our washing up for us! we often left phones and money lying around and nothing was taken just put neatly on the side/away in our draws. Don't expect to get any sleep though, the noise is 24/7 and you are constantly around drunk/naked/loud people.
LOCATION - BRILLIANT!
- I really liked the location of the hotel, it was just off the main strip and to get to the strip you had to walk down a street full of bars and resteraunts. It was MUCH cheaper to drink here, getting great deals on fishbowls, shots ETC. I would reccomend 4play, a bar right opposite the hotel, offering sometihng like 10 or 15 euros for AS MUCH as you can drink till 7 in the morning. Pretty good! and you could leave and return again! They also let me behind the bar serving people's drinks - the staff were great!
This smaller bar strip was also a better place to meet people before heading into town. On your way home from a night out, the front entrance of the hotel closes and to get in you have to walk down a back ally to get there (wouldn't do this on your own if you are a girl).
POOL - The pool area was really nice, LOADS of sunbeds, there was never an issue of having to get up at 9 in the morning to secure one. Music played round the pool all day and a pool-side bar with food which was reasonably priced. There was another pool round the other side of the hotel, which we never actually made it too but that looked nice as well.
EXTRAS - Security at the hotel was okay too, 'James 007' the security guard was always nice to us, walking us back to our rooms at night to make sure we were okay. He did however wear a bulletproof vest and carry a baton around with him, apparently the italian guests were 'crazy motherf**kers'. The shop in the hotel was fine, but would recommend going just across the road as everything is so cheap.
I would rate the hotel around 6/10, it's basic and what you can expect. However I wouldn't book again with Thomas Cook as we payed £450 for a week self-catering and the hotel really wasn't worth this amount of money. I'd look around to get a better deal. We did see nicer hotels which our friends were staying in, but then again we also met a boy who's hotel had no running water or shower. LOL
ZANTEEEE - We really enjoyed our trip to Zante, the place isn't too big or too small and there was enough to do for the whole week. Lots of people went on the booze cruise, but after 5nights of drinking we couldn't face drinking throughout the day so didn't go on it. There isn't much point booking any of the trips with the reps because you can just go on the trip with them for free instead of paying 25 euro for a tshirt.
The beach in Zante is nice as well, hire out a pedalo for about 8euros for a laugh. Was nice to swim further out in the sea and get a tan. Sun loungers on the beach were also cheap but be prepared for people CONSTANTLY trying to sell you things - fresh fruit, bracelets, dougnuts, shoes, watches - you name it!
Eating out is also cheap, you can get deals like 4 drinks each and 2 courses for 10 euros. As you walk further along the deals get cheaper and cheap as well. There was a great cafe which did fry-ups for breakfast for about 3 euros. I would reccomend the one resteraunt on the corner of the small strip and main strip, can't remember what it was called but the food was lush! you will see it straight away as everything is in white, all the tables/chairs etc and it generally looks alot nicer than the others.
TOWN - There's lots of different clubs etc depending on what music your into. I actually preferred the bars as the staff were much friendlier and you met more people but clubs like rescue (who let you dance on the podiums and bar) and cherry bay are good. Rumours is a cocktail bar off the strip, wasn't ever hugely busy but was the ONLY place I tasted real, strong alcohol as pretty much everything is watered down everywhere else.
Pink Panthers kareoke bar was also a laugh.
WATCH OUT for albanian men who do just pick you up in the street and try and walk off with you. This is scary and does happen so just watch out for your friends as they don't take no for an answer. My friend swore at a man after he tried dragging her down the street and he then tried to run us over with his moped. HA. Also the 'cute' kids who are only around 4 years old but are made to stand on the street at 5 in the morning and try and steal from you!
Overall was a great holiday, would go back again but not next year as I want to try somewhere different. A holiday is what you make it, don't expect 5* treatment as it isn't. But it is a laugh and you do meet some great people :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveholidaysCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    71
    101
    74
    124
See reviews for
44
70
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I didn't even want to give this hotel 1 out of 5 because it was that bad. I would recommend staying away from this hotel as it was a dump. The pool managed to give what ever you were wearing and your skin a green tinge, this was due to the pool not being cleaned regularly enough which meant a build up of algae. The room was not great, there were 3 of us staying there and we had bunk beds, not easy to get into after a few beers. The sheets were stained, the air-conditioning leaked onto the TV which was positioned directly underneath the unit and the shower head had no holder which made it very hard to wash. We were only given 1 key for the room, this meant if we lost each other on a night out and the person first back didn’t have the key they had to ask reception to let us in the room, the security guard would do this for us but then would ask for money for his service which was a joke (he would sometimes be aggressive when doing it) Please ignore all the reviews saying this hotel is great because these people wouldn't know quality if it smacked them in the face.

Room Tip: dont stay here if you want a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack190725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laganas hotels

Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

9th July - 19th three girls staying in the hotel. Upon arrival we thought it was nice and clean, good location (couldn't fault that) Short walk from the beach, pre strip and the main strip.

Arrived at around lunch time went straight to the pool. Within an hour my white and blue bikini had turned GREEN and blue from the pool water. Thank god I didn't put my hair under water. Would not have ended too well.

Nights out were AMAZING. Pre drinks in the hotel room (even though it says you're not aloud to do this many people did). Around 5AM when people return home they decide its the best time to stand in corridors having conversations, banging on doors etc. Not the greatest when the hotel walls were as thin as paper!

Had to ask reception for new towels after 6 days of them not being changed. After a good fight we managed to get the only three clean towels in the hotel. Sheets were eventually changed after day 8 I think it was.

Like most other hotels we got charged for the Air Con and the Safe. Which is fair enough. But being charged for the use of the FRIDGE?

100% would recommend this hotel if you are going on a full out Zante holiday and don't mind a bit of towel repeating, no sleep, green pool and annoying neighbours.

At the end of the day the holiday was amazing. The people we met, the staff in the clubs/bars and restaurants were all really nice and friendly. And girls, there are some HOT guys out there!! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

46 of us stayed at this hotel from the 8th July - 15th July. We booked through Thomas Cook. Unfortunately, the hotel couldn't put us altogether which was quite disappointing & our request of rooms facing the pool weren't all made. There were certain issues which occurred where rooms were given with people living in them... So quite a few people had to change their rooms several times. All rooms looked different, my friends room looked modern, they had a stove and a fridge but for what I payed, it wasn't worth it. Our door didn't shut properly, we could hear everything that was going on... and it was extremely loud from 1pm till 3am. Drunk people knocking on doors, music blasting and screaming.. from men.
Our shower didn't even have a shower curtain; it was just the base. We also had an ant problem. Fridge was locked. Sheets and towel had stains on them and they were the 'clean' ones.
Air Con is a necessity! Costing 45 Euros.. but we got charged 49. Why. I don't know.

One room key per room and they refuse to issue another... So you will have to stick with your room mates! If there is an issue, you can always ask security/reception to help you out but they do get annoyed. ALSO! The security guard owns a restaurant next door... due to economic difficulties he will blackmail you to come to his restaurant which is quite frightening.
Only one of the pools were opened and it really isn't the cleanest. Quite a few people caught something and it wasn't a pretty sight.

The walk to Havana Beach is only 5 mins which is extremely convenient and to avoid people harassing you about 10 Euro deals or drink deals, you can walk along the beach which is more quiet. The walk to the strip is about 15 mins both routes. Before the strip you will walk along a road which are just restaurants. I suggest you check out "Bon Appetite" & The Greek restaurant on the corner of the strip. Also check out "Cool Peppers". They're most worth it.
Plenty of supermarkets. Also check out the Bakery! Big Pain Au Chocolat for 1.50 euro... you will be stuffed.

Check out Kamikaze for strong 1 Euro Sambuca or Tequila shots! Cocktails & Dreams have really cool drinks and personally my favourite club was Zeros. Pre-drinks at 11pm, party from 1am till 6am. There isn't much to do during the day so just sleep or go to the beach.
The people selling fruit salad are hilarious. You will definitely see them. A lot of vendors on the beach but just pretend to sleep or look busy and they won't harass you.. The amount of times I had to say 'No Thank You.'

WARNING! Watch out for the gypsy children.. They will shove glowsticks into your hands and you will be shocked to see them walking about 3am. Some are as young as 6...

There is also quite a lot of traffic but they are travelling less than 5mph on the strip but still watch out. Especially if you are chasing after a drunk friend.
There are loads of fast food restaurants around the strip that are pretty much open 24/7

Bar Crawl is 5 Euros but not worth it. They take you to the most random bars... the only joy was free shots. Booze Cruise is fun but pricey for what it's worth. 41 Euros.

Either way, it's extremely fun and just enjoy the craziness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaCBA93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

28th june - 5th july, 8 girls- the hotel is pretty basicc, but it depends whether you're fussy or not, pool was packed, and our 'poolside view' was an empty pool with some weeds. Maids are well good, and i love them, receptionist is a moody woman, and bar staff are proper creeps but they give free shots, security guard is funny and just seems to follow you around when you come back.
You dont get fresh towels, which is a pain, so complain and they'll hopefully get you some.
Best bars are rumours, g-spot, rescue and zero's, and cherry bay :)
Definately get air con, but try and up it to 20c as we all got ill and couldent talk after 3 days hahaha.
Best places to eat are chevvys (i think) and a place called bon appetit was really nice as well, dont go to 'a taste of secret' or something like that i cant remember, its --, waited 2 hours for food and it was greasy fatty, the manager was a poo and assaulted my friend.
PR's are annoying too, just pretend you're going somewhere.
Book watersports in advance, and the waterpark is ok (was horrific waking at half 9 though after 2 hours sleep)
other than that, you will have an amazing timeeeeee I WANT TO GO BACKKK

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

29june-6july, 3 Lads, good memories.. advise meeting people there will make your stay so much better, trek to the strip 15 mins! one pool was closed!, food wasnt great at all! defo get air con and a safe, go on as many excursions as you can! advise going strip club.. cherry bay.. school disco... uv paint party.. and getting quad bike.. wont be going back to zante in a rush, will try something new, magaluf in sept! woooo

Room Tip: forget the pool side view go for nice rooms (103, 106) were nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks weeks loved every minute hotel was excellent clean tidy staff were friendly and helpfully food and drinks were good prices would defiantly recommend this hotel good location short walk to main strip but plenty of bars to visit on the way cafe bar mad bar and bocca very nice would defiantly go back to Alexander again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rls_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.3 mi away
Majestic Spa Hotel
Majestic Spa Hotel
#65 of 77 in Laganas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pallas Hotel
Pallas Hotel
#10 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Ikaros Hotel
Ikaros Hotel
#57 of 77 in Laganas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Apartments
Paradise Apartments
#30 of 77 in Laganas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Property: Alexander Hotel
Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 77 Hotels in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Laganas
Alexander Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing