We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding”
Review of Castelli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castelli Hotel
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Laganas
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“outstanding”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have booked again for our 3rd visit inJune 2013, what can I add to what already has been said , MARVELOUS ,WONDERFUL , RELAXING, and above all this you are made to feel at home, outstanding hotel run by people who really do care.

PHIL&JENNY

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlougari, Manager at Castelli Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dearest friends, Phil and Jenny, Thank you!
Every word in every single review you , our valuable guests add, is sincerely important to us, a credit to our team, and a huge reward to Castelli!

Thank you for choosing Castelli, and thank you for your time spent to upload this review, as well. “Outstanding hotel run by people who really do care …” says it all, we honestly could not thank you enough!

We are honoured, sincerely and deeply- we really wholeheartedly do care! We also believe that we are blessed with fantastic guests that make Castelli as special as it is, so we need to thank YOU for adding your positive vibes to our hotel!!

Looking forward to the pleasure of hosting you soon again!
We may only promise to always try and make your stays the most relaxed possible! Trying to attach all today’s sunshine from gorgeous Zakynthos,….thank you once again for your time, and your friendship!
See you in June!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    85
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
62
266
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2012

A fantastic hotel run by the kindest, sweetest family you could meet. This was our second visit.
We are treated like family not guests. They all remembered us from last year even the bar staff. Many tears and hugs ensued. We are going back again next year as my partner will not miss out on seeing her friends!!! Everything you could need is very close by from fantastic restaurants to shops. You can do as much or as little as you wish. Advice is readily available from Spiros, Anastasia and Maria from where to go and how to get there., The rooms are first class and kept immaculate. I cannot praise the hotel high enough.I have travelled extensively and very rarely return to the same place but this will be an annual pilgrimage for the location, weather, food but most of all the people who will look after you.

Room Tip: Try and get a 1st floor room at the front of the hotel. Wonderful balcony which gets the sun in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlougari, Manager at Castelli Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Jeff,
Thank you so much for choosing Castelli for your precious holidays, and taking the time off your busy schedule to add your experience on TA.
It is an honour for Castelli hotel to be the exception to your rule... : the only hotel you chose to return to! Thank you! This is our most sincere reward!!!
Your holiday is our first priority, and when we know you’ve enjoyed your stay, all the team at Castelli is overwhelmed, and feels successful, recognized- cannot thank you enough for your kind words!
We feel truly proud you‘re pointing out elements such as cleanliness, effective service, cozy atmosphere, friendliness, and location of our hotel, as we also feel these aspects honestly contribute to your colourful holiday memories!
We will be honoured to have you again at Castelli, and we promise to always look after you, trying to make your stay every year, better and better! Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed from the 10th of september for 2 weeks,after reading very good reviews, we would certainly recommened this hotel, all the staff worked tirelessly, keeping it very clean.the pool is quite small, but adaquate with enough sun lounges for all,there is a few small shops about 200 metres down the road or about 500 metres up the road. the area is very relaxed and quiet which is what we came here for. the only problem was no pavements outside of the hotel so you walk on the road,so parents have to be aware with small children, and there are no cash machines so had to walk in to laganas to change money about 1.5 km away, it,s not that far but far enough. hotel snack bar does really nice food,the barbeque is very filling. we went to the harbour to see the turtles which was fantastic, the turtles follow the fishermen in for a free feed and we gave them some euros in a bucket at the front of the boat for a picture opportunity. the bridge to the small island got washed away when we were there but 4 days later it was reopened after a storm.excellent holiday will definitly return to this beautiful island, and recommened the island tour and see the caves and olive oil plant. jay and caz

Room Tip: the rooms on the lowest level are cooler, but have not much of a view,we were on the 2nd floor and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayandCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlougari, Manager at Castelli Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Jay and Caz, first of all thank you for choosing Castelli for your holidays, and taking the time to share your Castelli experience with the TA community. Thank you for your kind words! Our guests are our first priority, so seeing that you enjoyed our service is indeed very important to all the Castelli team!!

We truly feel proud you enjoyed the hotel’s cleanliness, our food quality and also your visit to the harbor, and the smooth observation of the Caretta caretta sea turtles, this unique experience!! This innocent interaction with nature does add a special colour to the holiday!

We also thank you for mentioning the choice of rooms you were offered, as we do try to offer you an alternative, if and when possible, on arrival. All our guestrooms seem lovely to us, then again each guest has different preferences, thus we do try to offer you a choice, whenever possible; thank you!
We certainly hope we’ll have the pleasure of hosting you again! Our nice guests is what makes Castelli so special! Once again, THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from my second holiday at Castelli, had a great time again. All the staff headed by Spiros, Maria and Anastacia are warm and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. A really great hotel, just as claimed a true home from home. Plenty of good tavernas within walking distance, with many further afield offering lifts to and from, just ask Spiros to arrange. My favourites being Horizon and Ole Ole. The Hotel barbecue is a must, with lots of great food.
A gem of a hotel, in a quiet location, with lots of good walking areas, either along the beach or inland amongst the countryside. I hope to return again before too long.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlougari, Manager at Castelli Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear guests, first of all thank you for choosing Castelli for your holidays, and taking the time to upload your experience on Tripadvisor. We sincerely do indeed thank you for your kind words, it’s overwhelming for all our team, knowing that our valuable guests have thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us!
Each and every review is truly important to the Castelli team, and we do mean it!!!

Our valuable guests returning to Castelli, your home-from-home is our most sincere reward; thank you, we’re honestly honoured!
We feel most content that together wth the local cuisine, our service and the famous barbecue, you also point out our convenient location, as we also think this gives our guests a superb combination of Greek nature scenery, walks around the village or the long magnificent beach , visiting the caretta caretta or Laganas center, making your stay even more colourful, according to your mood!
Thank you once again for choosing Castelli! Looking forward to having you with us next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

On arrival at the hotel we were warmly welcomed by Spiros & family; offered a choice of rooms and settled on one overlooking the pool area and olive groves with distant views of sea and mountains. Immediately felt at home. Everywhere was clean and well maintained including the lovely pool and surrounds. The room size was adequate for the two of us but the powerful shower with lots of hot water was rather small with a plastic curtain; could do to be updated with new enclosure. Breakfast was fine; the usual continental fare but was served in a rather cramped area with too many tables for the space available. There are some excellent tavernas in the area; 10-25 mins walk on quiet lanes through the olive groves but if you want transport just ask Spiros and he will arrange, no problem. We liked Akropolis, El Greco, Scloubou and Ole Ole; the local fresh fish is delicious. The only decent beach in the area is Koukla, about one mile away; 30 mins gentle stroll on quiet lanes through the lovely olive groves and the taverna there is perfect for lunch; great views from the terrace. Keep well away from Laganas unless you like scruffy and ugly. We hired a car for 3 days; suggest you insist on full tank on delivery and return to avoid buyingt more fuel than you need. We found most scenic area on the Vassilikos peninsular with lovely beaches; do not miss Porto Zoro, east end of Kalamaki beach and Gerakas beach, all gently shelving soft sand and clear water. Many thanks to Spiros , family and staff for providing an excellent base for our holiday; we quite understand why the guests return year after year.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool area have distant mountain and sea views with morning sunshine. Some rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtraddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlougari, Manager at Castelli Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear guests, thank you for choosing Castelli for your precious holidays, and taking the time off your busy schedule to upload your comments on Tripadvisor.

It is truly important to our team knowing that our valuable guests have really enjoyed their stay with us! We feel proud you‘re pointing out elements such as cleanliness and well maintained areas of our hotel, as we pay enormous attention to these aspects! Thank you!!

Thank you for adding your suggestion regarding your room’s shower: all our guests’ suggestions throughout the years have assisted us make Castelli as special, as it is, and we sincerely take all comments seriously into consideration. May I add that in regards to this “shower” subject, we’ve put a lot of research in, nevertheless, in certain types of our guestrooms, the placement of shower cabins would make it less comfortable for some of our guests, or have other disadvantages; we are still searching for new samples, and we will keep looking; perhaps until the new season arrives another feasible idea might arrive, from our suppliers. Thank you for pointing this out..

We are thoroughly pleased you enjoyed our offer of two different rooms, to choose from, on arrival: we always try to offer this treat to our guests, if our availability allows it, so you may choose where to spend your holidays! Different guests prefer different things, as we say, so if you have a choice, then it’s only for the better…

And we are also truly happy you explored the general area, having Castell as “an excellent base for your holiday …” finding scenic spots and local traditional taverns to your liking!

Once again, thank you for choosing Castelli, and thank you for your kind words!
We really hope we’ll have the pleasure of hosting you at our hotel in the near future again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

On reading the other reviews I felt that this was an ideal place for us to holiday and it was even better that we could have imagined. We love Greece and intend to live there one day so I am learning Greek. The Lougaris family were wonderfully patient with my attempt at their language and helped me at every chance they could. I even bought some childrens books whilst in Zakynthos and we had a bedtime story read to us in the bar by Spiros which was wonderful!!! The BBQ is a must so is La Marinara directly opposite the hotel. If you go into Zakythos town try to find Dimitri's taverna for the entertainment along with fabulous food. As far as the rooms go we think it is personal choice as we were offered 2 different rooms and decided to go on the first floor at the front of the hotel and loved it as it was cool in the morning. Can't wait to see you all again. Efharisto Poli to the amazing Lougaris family

Room Tip: We liked the morning coolness at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlougari, Manager at Castelli Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear guests, first of all thank you for choosing Castelli for your holidays, and taking the time to upload your experience on Tripadvisor.
Thank you so much for your kind words, it’s overwhelming for all our team, knowing that our valuable guests have thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us, at your new home from home! Having stood up to your expectations means the world to us, thank you!

If you have any suggestions to improve our service, you’re more than welcome to email them to us at info@castellihotel.com . Our guests’ suggestions throughout the years have assisted us make Castelli , as special , as it is and we truly take your comments seriously into consideration.

Having such nice guests is what makes Castelli atmosphere unique… so we really hope we’ll have the pleasure of hosting you at our hotel many times in the future!

It makes us very proud you also practice Greek, and it is not only us that practice English! Perhaps you’d like to take a look at the Greek lessons, featuring at our hotel’s website? This would be the third winter we’d be having Greek lessons on our facebook page, as well… you’re more than welcome to join in, and hope by next year you’d be ready for some more new Greek phrases!!

Thank you once again for choosing Castelli! Efcharistoume! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Historions say that there are 7 wonders of the world,but i can tell them that there 8,number 8 being the Castelli Hotel agios sostis zakynthos greece.
Owned and managed by the true god and godesses of zakynthos,Spiros,Anastasia,Maria.
Their care and consideration to their guests is second to none.
Always ready to give advice where to visit,where to eat,anything at all to make their guests holiday as enjoyable as possible.
A credit to their dedication is proven by the number of guests like ourselves,who eturn to castelli time and time again.
We have just spent 4 weeks at the hotel in september,where the time went far to quickly due to the wonderful time we had helped by some other splendid guests we met and the care of Spiros,Anastasia and Maria.
Thank you so much.
They are assited by the high priestess of personality,the adorable Gabby,(my Bulgarian beauty) who makes a visit to the hotel bar a joy to behold.
Whether its for a drink before going out to dinner or having a nightcap before going to bed, her dedication to making the guests feel so welcome is first class,serving drinks and light snacks in the most polite way and always with that wonderful smile.
I miss you Gabby,please return in 2013.
Then we have the two wonderful ladies who run the pool bar serving hot and cold drinks and hot and cold food greek and english which makes it a treat to spend the time around the pool.
They also assist Spiros with his Saturday barbecue,a treat not to be missed.
Well done Soula and Fay.
Then we have the angel of the night,Barbara who ensures the hotel is secure and patrolled during the night so that guests can enjoy a safe nights sleep.
We must not forget the ladies in white, who ensure the guests rooms are kept clean to a high standard and towels and bed linen are changed at regular intervals.
They also assist spiros to provide a wonderful continental breakfast where you have a good choice of food to start off your day.
Then last but not at all least we have the quite man of the hotel,Nic,who tends to the olive trees and the hotel garden and animals which makes it a treat to go with Spiros on his weekly garden walk.
So there it is my 8th wonder of the world.
My wife and I are in the autumn of life,all we ask is a little longer so that we can return to this wonderful place again and again.
Good luck Castelli,see you again soon.
Janet +Eric

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eric p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlougari, Manager at Castelli Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dearest Janeric,
Thank you. Efcharistoume.

We honestly believe that you, our fantastic guests make Castelli as special as it is :-) so we need to thank YOU for adding your positive vibes to our hotel!!
Thank you for praising our team, the service we wholeheartedly provide and our dedication; we are overwhelmed, I really have no words how to thank you for your review, and for being such fine guests!

“The 8th wonder of the world” has been blessed, having guests like you!

You have seen us cry many times when you and the “gang” sing ”another one bites the dust” and some precious friends leave, till next time..
Well, reading your review, again tears of happiness arrive- Thank you!

Till next time, sending you all today’s sunshine from your home-from-home! We miss you too!! Thank you, from the bottom of our heart!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
0.9 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
1.2 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 74 in Laganas
1,580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#13 of 74 in Laganas
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
2.6 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#12 of 74 in Laganas
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelli Hotel

Property: Castelli Hotel
Address: Agios Sostis | Laganas, Zakynthos, Laganas 290 92, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
#4 Family Hotel in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With all its guestrooms refurbished for 2015, Castelli's renovation project (2015-'16) makes sure your holiday experience is even richer! An award winning hotel with beautiful green surroundings and modern amenities: Castelli Hotel is a traditional charming family hotel, pioneer in greening, offering personal service, a unique home-from-home atmosphere, and genuine sincere hospitality. Located at Agios Sostis, a tranquil area of Laganas bay where the endangered Caretta Caretta sea turtles lay their eggs, this exquisite location is an advantage on its own: close to the cosmopolitan center, yet away from it all! Our inviting pool area is exclusively enjoyed by our guests, with a snack bar using our farm's produce, serving delicious dishes and greek meze, and our new a la carte pool restaurant, serving Mediterranean cuisine with a twist, focusing on local produce and organic ingredients. (Halfboard basis available) Castelli is an ideal holiday destination for families and couples. This relaxing family run hotel is beautifully laid out & looked after into detail. Being a "green" hotel, dedicated to authentic Philoxenia, Castelli is honored by its valued repeat customers, and stands out in the crowd. The NEW Castelli has opened its doors to 2015 on May 1st! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelli Hotel Laganas
Castelli Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing