We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“janeric”
Review of Castelli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castelli Hotel
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Laganas
Certificate of Excellence
Hook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“janeric”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Historions say that there are 7 wonders of the world,but i can tell them that there 8,number 8 being the Castelli Hotel agios sostis zakynthos greece.
Owned and managed by the true god and godesses of zakynthos,Spiros,Anastasia,Maria.
Their care and consideration to their guests is second to none.
Always ready to give advice where to visit,where to eat,anything at all to make their guests holiday as enjoyable as possible.
A credit to their dedication is proven by the number of guests like ourselves,who eturn to castelli time and time again.
We have just spent 4 weeks at the hotel in september,where the time went far to quickly due to the wonderful time we had helped by some other splendid guests we met and the care of Spiros,Anastasia and Maria.
Thank you so much.
They are assited by the high priestess of personality,the adorable Gabby,(my Bulgarian beauty) who makes a visit to the hotel bar a joy to behold.
Whether its for a drink before going out to dinner or having a nightcap before going to bed, her dedication to making the guests feel so welcome is first class,serving drinks and light snacks in the most polite way and always with that wonderful smile.
I miss you Gabby,please return in 2013.
Then we have the two wonderful ladies who run the pool bar serving hot and cold drinks and hot and cold food greek and english which makes it a treat to spend the time around the pool.
They also assist Spiros with his Saturday barbecue,a treat not to be missed.
Well done Soula and Fay.
Then we have the angel of the night,Barbara who ensures the hotel is secure and patrolled during the night so that guests can enjoy a safe nights sleep.
We must not forget the ladies in white, who ensure the guests rooms are kept clean to a high standard and towels and bed linen are changed at regular intervals.
They also assist spiros to provide a wonderful continental breakfast where you have a good choice of food to start off your day.
Then last but not at all least we have the quite man of the hotel,Nic,who tends to the olive trees and the hotel garden and animals which makes it a treat to go with Spiros on his weekly garden walk.
So there it is my 8th wonder of the world.
My wife and I are in the autumn of life,all we ask is a little longer so that we can return to this wonderful place again and again.
Good luck Castelli,see you again soon.
Janet +Eric

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eric p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlougari, Manager at Castelli Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dearest Janeric,
Thank you. Efcharistoume.

We honestly believe that you, our fantastic guests make Castelli as special as it is :-) so we need to thank YOU for adding your positive vibes to our hotel!!
Thank you for praising our team, the service we wholeheartedly provide and our dedication; we are overwhelmed, I really have no words how to thank you for your review, and for being such fine guests!

“The 8th wonder of the world” has been blessed, having guests like you!

You have seen us cry many times when you and the “gang” sing ”another one bites the dust” and some precious friends leave, till next time..
Well, reading your review, again tears of happiness arrive- Thank you!

Till next time, sending you all today’s sunshine from your home-from-home! We miss you too!! Thank you, from the bottom of our heart!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    85
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
62
266
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

It is difficult to say any more than has been said about this hotel already. From the moment we arrived Spiros, Anastasia and Maria were outstanding in their dedication to making our stay as comfortable, peaceful and enjoyable as possible. Nothing at all was too much trouble and I must give a special mention to Maria for suggesting and organising a number of special treats for my wife's birthday, all of which were very reasonably priced. The presentation of the birthday cake at the Saturday barbecue by Spiros was a lovely touch. By the way, Spiros' barbecue is fabulous. Special mention also to Gabbie behind the bar (mad as a box of frogs but lovely with it) and Fotula and Soula who worked the pool bar.
Accommodation is simple but very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Although the bed was very low down we found it to be extremely comfortable, our sleep only being broken by the numerous cockerels and dogs that performed a chorus each morning from around 5.00 am onwards. To be honest we soon got used to it and managed to sleep through after the first couple of days. The bathroom was small but adequate with a good shower and hot water on demand.
Continental breakfast consisted of choice of local cereal (cornflakes or choc flakes), yogurt, peaches in syrup, lovely fresh bread (white and brown) which could be toasted on the machine, choice of jams, cheese, ham and either boiled egg or omelette, orange juice, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and Anastasia's home made cake.
The swimming pool is exclusive to hotel guests (some in the area are not) which ensures for the most part one can have a peaceful time by the pool and there is enough room in the pool to actually swim
The location of the hotel is slightly inland between Laganas and Agios Sostis within easy walking distance of beaches, lively or quiet and far enough away from "the strip" at Laganas. Although in September "the strip" is very quiet. There are a few excellent restaurants on Laganas beach but the more authentic ones are inland or at Agios Sostis and most will pick you up and bring you back to the hotel free of charge (The Sea Side on Laganas beach and "Ole, Ole" in Agios Sostis were our particular favourites for great food and excellent service).
What makes this hotel is the personal dedicated touch of Spiros and his family, as well as the excellent staff, and it is no wonder that many guests we met over the two weeks had been returning year after year. We will certainly be joining them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlougari, Manager at Castelli Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear guests, first of all thank you for choosing Castelli for your holidays, and taking the time to add your inspiring comments on Tripadvisor, too!

Thank you so much for your kind words: each word in every review or email we receive is sincerely valuable to our team! As this was a special birthday holiday for you, we are indeed proud to have contributed, into making it “that extra special”!!!
We are also extremely proud of your phrase …”the personal dedicated touch to making our stay as comfortable, peaceful and enjoyable as possible”… Thank you. That is our goal, and if we were a potential visitor, that is what we would be looking for, in our holidays.

“Trying to get in your shoes” is what we try to do, in all aspects of the hotel. That is why your review filled us with more enthusiasm, as together with our precious staff, you particularly mention enjoying our sleep quality (we are more than content that our bed was to your liking), our pool being used exclusively by our guests (which we think is very important too, so you feel cozy, undisturbed, at home) and our convenient location (close, yet far away)!

We are looking forward to having you again soon at our hotel, as this is our most genuine award! Thank you once again for being such great guests, and adding your amazing vibes to the Castelli atmosphere!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have enjoyed another lovely holiday at the Castelli - the standards were as high as usual. Spiros, Maria and Anastasia make everyone feel welcome and special and it was lovely to see them again. We didn't want to come home!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieMae93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlougari, Manager at Castelli Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dearest guests,
Every word in every single review you add on TA, is sincerely important to us, a credit to our team, and a huge reward to our hotel's family! Thank you for choosing Castelli, and thank you for your time spent to upload this review, as well.

“We didn’t want to come home…” says it all, we could not thank you enough!
We honestly believe that you, our fantastic guests make Castelli as special as it is :-) so we need to thank YOU for adding your positive vibes to our hotel!!

If you have any suggestions to improve our service, you’re more than welcome to email them to us at info@castellihotel.com . Our guests’ suggestions throughout the years have assisted us make Castelli , your-home-from-home , as it is and we truly take your comments seriously into consideration.

It is a true reward to our team, every time you return to Castelli again for your holidays, and we may only promise we’ll keep on trying to become better until your next stay!

Thank you once again for being such great guests! See you next time! Trying to attach lots of today’s Zakynthos’ sunshine on this message…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

After a whole lot of searching for the right place on Trip Advisor we finally chose Hotel Castelli. Let me tell you, it was the right choice and I would make it again in a heartbeat !
It was the first time we stayed here and the people we met were just fantastic.

Spiros, Anastasia and Maria were excellent hosts and were always quick to greet you with a smile and help you with the information you needed. Not to mention that our room was changed from one in a semi-basement to one on the first floor because of my annoying health issues. The first room was nice, very spacious and clean, but the air was quite damp. Eh, nothing that could not be fixed by opening the balcony doors i guess, but I really did not want to take a chance on our rare, precious days off. So thank you very much for that !

The rooms were very cosy, cleaned on a daily basis, new towels as well. The bathroom was a bit small for me, but I'm not the thinnest person in the world either.

The breakfast was OK, I can't say we had any complaints, on the contrary, we really liked the home made cake, it actually reminded us of home.

There is wireless internet in the lobby where you can sit on a couch or at the bar and enjoy a cup of coffee in our case.

On a side note, I'm really sorry that we missed the weekly BBQ, finding out about it when it was too late unfortunately. Maybe some other time.

The location of the hotel is great, surrounded by olive trees and away from the noise and traffic, close to the beach.

Now, one issue that we had was that the beach was rarely cleaned. We arrived right after a storm so the beach was full of seaweed. They had collected some of it in great piles by the shore. Now, that's fine and all but those piles sat in the sun for about 3-4 days rotting away and the smell and sight were just awful. Nevertheless the water is superb, clear and warm, simply a pleasure to swim in all day.

In all, a great holiday. Would gladly go there again if we had the chance, and I hope we will really soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VladGorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlougari, Manager at Castelli Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dearest guests,
Thank you for choosing Castelli for your precious holidays, and of course for taking the time to share your experience with the TA community, too. Thank you so much for your kind words. We’re all overwhelmed!!

We honestly believe that our fantastic guests make Castelli as special as it is :-) so we need to thank YOU for adding your positive vibes to our hotel!!

Your stay was right after very rainy windy and humid weather, I think everyone will remember this unexpected weather for a long period; this explains the “wet” feeling you perhaps experienced, we all did those days.. Luckily the sun came afterwards to give our guests lots of happy memories; We are glad the weather did not spoil your stay:-)

If you have any suggestions to improve our service, you’re more than welcome to email them to us at info@castellihotel.com . Our guests’ suggestions throughout the years have assisted us make Castelli as special, as it is, and we truly take your comments seriously into consideration.

We are indeed overwhelmed you're pointing out in your comments elements such as service, cleanliness, location and free Wi-Fi, as we, as customers, always pay immense attention to these when travelling; so, trying to get "in your shoes" we focus on elements like this, hoping it makes your stay most pleasant!

We really hope we’ll have the pleasure of hosting you at Castelli in the near future again, and promise we'll try and become better!
Thank you once again for choosing Castelli! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a well run family owned hotel and they all go out of their way to ensure you have a good stay.
"sleep quality" lost one point as typical with all Greek beds, a little too hard for the English!
The weather was poor for two days but no fault to the hotel but they did help you to make the most of it with ideas and a library, games plus snack bar.
The BBQ was delayed a couple of days as a result of the weather but it was well worth the wait!
Their local knowledge was great help for the holilday plus their recommendations where to eat, it was useful that there was one place just across the road during the bad weather on Friday & Saturday (14&15 sept).
"Gabbie" was an excellent bar host and the cocktails flowed !!!!
We would consider going back but hiring a car for a week and exploring more and using this hotel as a base.
The address for this hotel is misleading, it is NO WHERE near Laganas !!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magicarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlougari, Manager at Castelli Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to upload your review on Tripadvisor. You make us feel truly proud!! It is sincerely important to all our team that you had a great holiday experience! Gabbie personally thanks you for honoring her cocktails, and we all appreciate your comments- thank you!

During your stay in September 2012 we had such rainy and windy weather, I think everyone will remember this unexpected 2days' weather for a long period! We are glad it did not spoil your stay :-)

We regret our bed’s mattress did not suit your preferences; if you had only told us during your stay, we could have shown you some more rooms, according to availability, and then perhaps another bed could have made your sleep more comfortable (We do pay attention to elements like quality comfortable mattresses, yet anatomic, hoping it makes your stay most pleasant)! And within our sustainability practices, we choose a local manufacturer; as different guests have different preferences, not all our mattresses are identical, to try and suit your needs). I wish you could have told us during your stay! Thank you for your understanding, and please do remember to share with us anything that might make your stay even more comfortable of your next visit, and we’ll try the best to accommodate it!

If you have any suggestions to improve our service, you’re more than welcome to email them to us at info@castellihotel.com .

We do thank you for pointing out our incorrect location on one of the widely used maps; although we are using a similar one on our own website, showing the correct location, we have also contacted a few times this provider asking to correct our location; thank you for this comment, as we also consider it very important. Hopefully it will be solved soon; we’ll follow up soon again.

Thank you once again for choosing Castelli for your holidays! We really hope we’ll have the pleasure of hosting you at our hotel in the near future again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Another fabulous time at our "home" in Zakynthos - lovely to see Maria, Spiros and Anastasia again - it was worth the horrendous journey via Athens due to bad weather to see their happy faces and get hugs and kisses on arrival! Nothing was too much trouble as usual, and they have the knack of making every guest feel so special - how they remember everyone's room number is amazing! What I love about Castelli is the relaxed friendly atmosphere and the bbq is to die for! We thought we had missed it but Spiros made sure we didn't by doing a Monday one! Car hire was arranged without fuss and we saw lots of the lovely island once again - I never tire of Zakynthos and love the Castelli Hotel and the wonderful hosts - thank you all so much for a short but very sweet stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlougari, Manager at Castelli Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dearest guests,
Thank you for choosing to return to Castelli for your precious holidays, and of course for taking the time to share your experience with the TA community, too.
Thank you so much for your kind words. We’re all overwhelmed!!
We honestly believe that our fantastic guests make Castelli as special as it is :-) so we need to thank YOU for adding your positive vibes to our hotel!!

If you have any suggestions to improve our service, you’re more than welcome to email them to us at info@castellihotel.com . Our guests’ suggestions throughout the years have assisted us make Castelli as special, as it is, and we truly take your comments seriously into consideration.

It is a true reward to our team, every time you choose to visit Castelli again for your holidays, and we may promise to try and become better as well!
Thank you once again for being such great guests! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Am I lucky or what. I have just returned from my second holiday this yeat at the Castelli. The first time I went with my sister this time with my husband as he wanted to check out what I had told him was true. Well he agrees 100%. The Castelli is the best & friendliest hotel we have ever stayed in. Rooms are spotless . The staff work hard to keep the hotel first class. Spiros Anastacia & Maria are always on hand to give out information or a friendly chat. Returning guests meet up in the bar each evening before or after their meals for a laugh & a joke. Plenty of great restaurants near to the hotel or just a 10 minute walk. Not forgetting Spiros's BBQ where he tries to overload everyone's plate so you can hardly walk away from the table . Talk about 2nd's you get 3rds, 4ths. & more if you can eat it. Cannot wait to return again next year to meet up with old & new friends. I fully recommend the Castelli the friendliest hotel in Zante. Stay there if you want a fun relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissyh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlougari, Manager at Castelli Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dearest guests,
Thank you for choosing Castelli for your precious holidays, and of course for taking the time to share your Castelli experience with the TA community, too.
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is sincerely important to all the team!

We strongly and honestly believe that our fantastic guests make Castelli as special as it is :-)
Cannot thank you enough; we’re honoured when our old or newer friends come back to Castelli for their holidays, and as you accurately wrote, "...meet up with the friends they’ve also made during previous stays…."

We just hope to have many opportunities of making more holidays the same memorable for you, and we may promise to try and become better as well!

Thank you once again for choosing Castelli, and being such great guests!
See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
0.9 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
1.2 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 74 in Laganas
1,580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 74 in Laganas
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
2.6 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#12 of 74 in Laganas
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelli Hotel

Property: Castelli Hotel
Address: Agios Sostis | Laganas, Zakynthos, Laganas 290 92, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
#4 Family Hotel in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With all its guestrooms refurbished for 2015, Castelli's renovation project (2015-'16) makes sure your holiday experience is even richer! An award winning hotel with beautiful green surroundings and modern amenities: Castelli Hotel is a traditional charming family hotel, pioneer in greening, offering personal service, a unique home-from-home atmosphere, and genuine sincere hospitality. Located at Agios Sostis, a tranquil area of Laganas bay where the endangered Caretta Caretta sea turtles lay their eggs, this exquisite location is an advantage on its own: close to the cosmopolitan center, yet away from it all! Our inviting pool area is exclusively enjoyed by our guests, with a snack bar using our farm's produce, serving delicious dishes and greek meze, and our new a la carte pool restaurant, serving Mediterranean cuisine with a twist, focusing on local produce and organic ingredients. (Halfboard basis available) Castelli is an ideal holiday destination for families and couples. This relaxing family run hotel is beautifully laid out & looked after into detail. Being a "green" hotel, dedicated to authentic Philoxenia, Castelli is honored by its valued repeat customers, and stands out in the crowd. The NEW Castelli has opened its doors to 2015 on May 1st! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelli Hotel Laganas
Castelli Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing