We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owner only friendly if you spent a lot of money in his bar” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borsalino Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Borsalino Apartments
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Laganas
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Owner only friendly if you spent a lot of money in his bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were the only family (39, 35, 17, 13, 12) that stayed in a first floor 2 bedroom apartment at the Borsalino Apartments & we booked it on a late deal 5 days before departure. I would say that that the area around the swimming pool was nice but the room was quite dated & had to do a bit of DIY when the bed collapsed when it was moved & the knobs on the wardrobe doors were broken. Behind & under the bed there were dried noodles & all the drawers were dirty & we had the layer them with carrier bags to put anything in them. The cutlery was dirty & the bowls didnt actually looked like they were actually for dogs!

Eleanor seemed ok & friendly but Yiannis was rude, arrogant & seemed to always be on some kind of power trip. Constantly moaning and shouting at people for not showering properly, Yiannis was always looking for any opportunity to have a go at someone, unless you were in a group that spent a lot of money at his bar, as he certainly had his favourites. On the last day of our holiday, we had to be out of the appartment at 10am even though we only actually had spent 6 night in the room & weren't being picked up until 02:00 the following morning. We certainly weren't going to give him an extra 40 euros for staying in the room that we had thought we had already paid for.

Yiannis attitude is laughable as we were sitting in the bar area & he turned the lights out on the area that we were in and kept the lights on for another couple of lads at the other end of the bar.& told us that he was shutting at 9.30pm. I know it is only a small matter but we took 3 sets of darts to play on his dartboard, but he had removed it saying that it was no good & he couldn't replace it because you can't get them in Zante. Low & behold I found 2 being sold for 19 Euros in shops down the Laganas strip. If I'd have told him about them he would probably chased me around his precious pool, like the mankini man!

On the whole we enjoyed our time at the Borsalino apartments as we went out on trips to St Nicholas Beach, the water Park & got the bus to Zante town. We found lots of nice Tavernas & had some very tasty food.

Laganas in July / August really isn't family friendly but catered for young groups of lads / lasses, so I can't say that we will be rushing to go back any time soon!

Room Tip: Top room less likely to be broken into
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Fingeroffudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    16
    6
    2
    9
See reviews for
17
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

This holiday we stayed in the neighbouring apartments owned by his brother which where amazing and the exact same as these apartments, however through the day and night we used the Borsalino apartments pool and bar. These are amazing! the complex is owned by Yanni and elana who also operate the pool bar. they do a fantastic job with a spotless clean environment, great atomosphere for all twinned with fantastic food and drink.

Recommend this location to anyone and thank yanni and elana for making the holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed in no name apartments and the criticisms of the owner are somewhat fair. We (12 lads aged 20-22) had a couple run ins with an Italian group, including smashed windows. We even had to wake him up at 4am to tell him we came back to a smashed window. He was very understanding and seemed to appreciate the fact we woke him up to tell him as soon as possible. But as long as you stayed on his good side he was a reasonably pleasant guy, and his wife was friendly too.

Onto Borsalino though, the owners were incredibly friendly, Yiannis and his wife were excellent hosts, often providing us with free shots and fish bowls prior to a night out, they were willing to joke with us and have a general laugh too. Yiannis even gave all 12 of us a lift to the airport at 3:30am as the taxis were on strike. I'm led to believe the rooms are near identical to the no names so must say they are very sufficient for a group of friends looking to go out most nights and looking for a place to crash and pool/bar was a very nice place to recover at the next day. The food at the bar was very nice (Especially the Yiannis King Burger)

Overall all 12 of us have nothing but nice things to say about the Borsalino apartments and indeed the no names apartments. We are most definitely looking at returning next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max_Readng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

After the first few days I was amazed how nice the hotel, pool and bar was. Very reasonable considering we got such a late deal. Far enough away from the main strip, although a dimly lit walk from the main road was a bit intimidating at night.

Unfortunately the hotel owner was very short tempered. Our first major example of this was when a lad came to the pool in a mankini as a joke, and he totally flipped out. Pulling apart an umbrella and chasing him off the premises, all the time swearing and screaming at the top of his voice. The pool was in silence pretty much for the rest of the day. After that people were more wary around the pool, trying to keep in line with his obsession for showering before you get in.

The worst was to come, we were robbed on our 2nd to last night along with two other rooms. The safety deposit box was ripped off the wall and opened on site (but then mysteriously disappeared) so i wouldn't advise anybody to bother buying one! When the hotel owner heard people awake he came running out screaming, he screamed at me in particular for leaning on the pool table- eventhough many of us were crying so obviously something serious had happened. He then preceded to shout at us for leaving our doors unlocked which of course none of us had. He took a few people to the police station to give statements, but he translated them (so God knows what they actually said).

At the end of our stay we were asked for our safety deposit key back, which just confirmed our suspicions that it was some sort of inside job.

Very disappointed, this totally ruined our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TheGingerKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Firstly what a load of rubbish i have read below. I and 10 other girls went to Borsalino Apartments and stayed in the "no name" sector of this arrangement between the two sets of rooms. We booked independently and were aware that we might be in either apartments. Do not go if your a family, want a quiet early night, want any kind of luxury; you get what you pay for, which is not even toliet paper supplied.

Location: this is most likely the best part of the hotel. its only a 15 min walk from the strip however after a long night our or a trip to the beach can take up to 45 min. the hotel is set off the strip which means that its quiet so you can get a better nights sleep after a night out.

Apartments : I cannot comment on the state of Borsalino apartments however from other people saying i can say they are very similar. they are basic, you dont get toliet paper, you get one ring (which i can say is very hard to cook on) and a very basic kitchen. The safe and air-con are extra but a must as we went when there was a heat wave. the lady who greeted us was lovely; - the saving grace for the "no name apartments". you get what you pay for but when you toliet window falls in on your when you shut the door you know safety around the hotel is a factor. this was shown when 3 apartments in the "boraslino" complex were broken into and stolen £100s of pounds. the man running the hotel fobbed people off saying that the apartments were left open, something which would not happen in three seperate apartments. this was followed by him chasing a man with a umbrella stick because he was having a joke around the pool, swearing and punching the man. the manager was agressive and as an 18 year old girl i was quite scared of him. he contiunes to scream and shout about bottles of water which arent bought from his pool bar but when he charges double the price of the supermarket what do you expect? He also insists on showering before entering the pool which many were happy to do but when you are screamed at for not having what he saw as a sufficient shower you really do wonder what type of people have made a manager act like this around the guest. His behaviour in my opinion was appauling we went for a fun packed holiday just because the majority push the barriers doesnt mean he has to treat everyone in this vulgar way.

HOWEVER saying that we had a fantastic holiday, would i go back to Zante ? most likely not, who i recommend borsalino apartments NOOOOOOO!

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie15121992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

We first went to zante in 1987 and have stayed at a lot of apartments but we always return to the BORSALINO Apartments. We have become friends with the owner Yannis & Elana who go out of there way to make sure you have a great holiday. The rooms are basic but very clean and the pool is his pride and joy. The snack bar is excellent for value and the quality is of a very high standard. The apartments are in a quiet part of laganas and are ideal for family;s. So i would say give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmy3640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Just came back from laganas with 8 of us staying at the No name Apartments. I am writing this review about the borsalino apartments because everyone staying at the No name use the pool and the bar facilities of the borsalino.

After dropping our cases off at the room and being welcomed by the lovely owner of the No Name apartments, we get our swim gear ready and head over to the borsalino for our first day on the island. We immediately get a stern briefing of the rules by the woman behind the bar which to a point is fair enough but the way she told these rules was if she was talking to 8 5 year old children.

One rather strange rule that stood out was that you had to take a shower and remove all sun cream before entering the pool, i did read before traveling to zante that the hotel owner took great pride in his pool. After an hour or so around the pool one of our friends was sat on the outside of the pool with a drink and then all of a sudden a man which can only be described as a 5ft 1' new zealand maori comes charging out behind the bar, turns the hotel music off then continues to rant at our mate for having a drink next to the pool, then proceeds to tell everyone else around the pool about this rule. we saw this happen a few times over the holiday with other groups staying at the no name or borsalino.

Our group was a group of 8 lads all aged between 18-24 and so was 95% of the hotel guests so a little noise and rowdiness should be expected, if you are a family with children, this hotel is NOT for you.

After 10 days around the pool and numerous incidents of the short fat maori raging at different people for not having a shower before entering the pool and other ridiculous rules one of our friends decided to have a little joke between the group and come down to the pool in a mankini, there was no children around what so ever and no offense was caused to the rest of hotel guests, well, apart from this crackpot of a hotel owner who charged over swearing demanding our mate put his shorts back on, just as he was about to the hotel owner picks up a sunbrella pole and smacks our friend around the head with it followed by a few punches, everyone around the pool couldnt believe how this hotel owner reacted.

To sum this hotel up, if you are a group of young lads or girls wanting to have a good time around the pool then this hotel is certainly not for you, i would suggest a hotel that caters for such groups such as an 18-30 hotel. The hotel owner should not be in this job as he does not understand how to treat his guests. He spends more time trying to cause rows and conflicts.

one thing i cannot complain about is the hotel food, we had a large choice of meals to choose from which was all reasonably priced.
The hotel is situated about a 20 minute walk from the main area of bars and clubs which are all fantastic if you like that sort of thing.

So overall, A yes to No name apartments but a big NO to borsalino, i suggest you find a different pool to use if you dont want to be shouted out every 10 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank python23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.3 mi away
Portego Hotel
Portego Hotel
#35 of 77 in Laganas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agrilia Hotel
Agrilia Hotel
#8 of 77 in Laganas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Apartments
Paradise Apartments
#31 of 77 in Laganas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#26 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.9 mi away
Helen & Theo Studios
Helen & Theo Studios
#32 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#17 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borsalino Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borsalino Apartments

Property: Borsalino Apartments
Address: Laganas, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Laganas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Borsalino Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borsalino Apartments Hotel Laganas
Borsalino Apartments Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing