We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible hotel”
Review of Olympia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laganas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olympia Hotel
Ranked #42 of 74 Hotels in Laganas
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

There were 13 of us who stayed in this hotel club 18-30's so they say! There is no way this can be called an 18-30s hotel, firstly we arrived at 7am we checked in an was told we had an urgent meeting in one of our rooms. We were all tired out from travelling and as soon as we arrived at the hotel we were pestered by the reps who were terrible, they had us sat in a room for 30 minutes trying to sell us things which we wernt interested in (buy on the strip much cheaper). Secondly we were given a rota about all the events which were ment to happen in the hotel but never happened. There were no music played by the pool and certainly no entertainment to say it was 18-30. The pool area was nice and lots of sun loungers were available. The cleaners were terrible we never had our room cleaned all week prior to asking and we also had things stolen! The reps were constantly bugging us for money for all events which we wasnt interested in as its cheaper on the strip and when we told them no they got really aggresive which we wasnt happy about although she apologised but that wasnt the point. The staff were very friendly and was very helpful but under no cercumstances this hotel should not be an 18-30's.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Summa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    53
    34
    18
    25
See reviews for
3
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

we have now returned for our 4th visit and can only say thank you again for making our holiday fantastic. rooms are kept clean every day you feel very safe here safety deposit boxes are down at reception so no problems you dont need to take drink to your room as you can get a drink at the bar when you like. the best prices for full breakfast at 3.50 euro most places are 5 euros. fab pool kept clean they just ask you to think about other people when you have fun at the pool not everyone wants to get soaked or hit with a ball. cant wait to go back next year. would not stay any where else

Room Tip: no fitness room but no need as it is a bit of a walk to central strip but not long enough to put yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazza1buchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Two friends and I stayed here in the first week of September and we couldn't fault the hotel at all. Being a Club 18-30 hotel, we were expecting it to be loud and people shouting, but majority of people were quiet... Either that or we just missed the people who were loud! We didn't bother with aircon, for September it wasn't too warm, even with three of us sharing a room!

The room itself was spacious, and the shower was brilliant. Always plenty of warm water and it even had a shower curtain which is quite rare in Greece! The maid came in almost everyday to tidy up and sweep the floor, but your bedding only gets done once a week - our towels were changed twice. Don't listen to the reviews about being charged for make-up on the sheets etc, as we had gotten make-up on them several times and nothing was ever mentioned. (Unless you completely covered them!) They say no drink in the rooms, but that's just to deter you from having parties. If you bring drink in, all they ask is that you take your bottles away and put them in a bin further down the road.

We were charged 40 euro to book another room for an additional night, as our flight wasn't until 6am the next morning. They made sure our new room was ready early in the morning, so we could swap over and continue our sleeping! The staff were really friendly, and even remembered our room number so when we came home really late (or mid-morning sometimes!) they had our keys waiting before we even reached the front desk.

The food at the hotel is a little bit pricey, but it does the trick if you're hungover! If you can drag yourself down the strip a bit, there's plenty of good food and drink offers (15 euros for 2 courses, 4 drinks and a fishbowl between us!) The hotel drinks are reasonably priced, but ask what their best deal is, and I found he knocked off the price a bit just so we stayed longer!

The hotel itself it situated about a 10 minute walk away from the clubs and about 15 minutes away from the beach, which isn't too far at all! Our reps Joe and Adam were great fun, so I advise doing some of the club 18-30 events just to meet new people!

Laganas itself isn't much - there's not much beach and the little beach itself is covered in sun loungers with pushy restaurant owners trying to get you to go into their bar to have a drink for a free lounger - I guess it's worth it if you're only getting water or something, but we spent most of our time in the sea!

It's worth booking the watersports, with the man who runs a little stall just before you reach the beach. You get a free bus to "Banana Beach", where it's absolutely beautiful! Definitely worth a day out, but watch as the restaurant there is a little pricey!

Zante was one of my best holidays ever, and the Olympia hotel couldn't have offered a better service if it tried! The staff were friendly and the hotel itself is really clean. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Me and 13 other girls(all 18) stayed at the Olympia for two weeks, 9th-23rd of July. It's about a 10 minute walk from the main strip, which is a good thing because you dont hear all the music when you get back after a night out. The staff are friendly, the food is good but pricey so we just ate out most nights. You ARE allowed alcohol in the rooms..we were worried about this but they don't seem to mind you walking past reception with two huge bottles of wine in your bag. The local shop does a local village wine which is very cheap and good for pre-drinking.
The pool is very clean and cool. There were plenty of sunbeds, and the weather was amazing! A little too hot sometimes.
The rooms are standard, but that's all you want really. The maid cleans the room about 3-4 times a week, but doesn't change sheets or towels, so she just basically took rubbish out and made the beds. You are allowed to play music in your room but if it's too loud the man at reception will politely tell you to turn it down abit. It's €20 to bring someone back to the hotel..so you have to ask yourself...is it worth it?
The only bad thing I would say about hotel Olympia is that it's €50 a week for aircon per room, even though they do advertise 'with aircon'. We only flew at 7am the Monday morning and we got kicked out of our room 12pm on the Sunday..a good 16 hours before the taxi picked us up.. They refused to let us pay to keep our rooms, instead we got given two of the oldest rooms just to put our suitcases in...7 people in one twin room with no aircon and 40 degree heat! The worst night of my life!
Anyway, they can charge you a lot if you break the air con remote so try not to throw it about..and I was worried because I got makeup all over the sheets, but they don't seem to mind!
Definitely go here if you're visiting Zante!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Me and 6 other girls stayed here on our first ever girls holiday. We originally booked the savvas but after reading awful reviews we decided to change to the Olympia and what a great choice. This hotel is definatly one of the best on the strip. It is further up the strip so away from all the noise but it's only a 15 minute walk to all the nightlife. The hotel staff are so friendly and approachable. The rep Adam was also very nice and helped us with everything we wanted. The rooms were very clean and the maid came in our rooms every other day to tidy and change the sheets and towels. Music is allowed to be played by the pool but the hotel do play music. The bar is brilliant and serves great food! If you do want lads back in your room though they do charge €20 but obvs get the lad to pay! Haha :) they say no alcohol in the rooms but just sneak it in, in a beach bag and nothing ever got mentioned to us and we left bottles lying around! This hotel was very good value for money and was more than what we expected! Very happy and would definatly return!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatalieLM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I arrived back on friday from a week at the Olympia Hotel in Laganas. I went to Zante with 3 other girls all aged 28 & we were very concerned as Hotel Olympia is an 18-30s Hotel & we are a bit old for this. We were, however, pleasantly surprised. The hotel is nice & the staff are so lovely if you bother to get to know them, which we did. We were imagining there to be raucous games by the pool all day everyday, however, there was none of this. The pool is fairly large with plenty of sunbeds and we never ever had to fight for a bed as there was literally no one ever by the pool. We were not sure if this is because the younger ones festered in bed hung over all day or if people were at the beach but I'd say the busiest around the pool during our week was prob 30-40% of the sunbeds in use. Some days we were the only ones around the pool & on one day my friend went down to the pool at 10am, ate breakfast alone and then had the whole pool area to herself for an hour!. We had expected to meet other groups of people but everyone seemed to keep themselves to themselves - maybe because we were older!
The pool is lovely and clean, the snack bar food is delicious and very cheap - we ate breakfast for 3.50 euros each day & I recommend the club sandwich also. Snack bar staff were friendly & efficient. The hotel bar is 24hours and was literally dead the entire time we were there, you can also order toasties or pizzas from the bar all night. Nicos runs the bar at night and he is a really nice guy but poor thing was sat there alone most nights! Costa on reception was also lovely and although he looked like a villain was a cool guy with a fab sense of humour. We had read many reviews about the hotel charging guests for make up on towels & pillows which they do do so beware. We did not encounter any charges but it is 20 euros per stained item.
The rooms are pretty basic, all seem to have a balcony, 2 of us had a pool view in the front of the hotel with a large balcony & 2 of us had a room opposite at the back of the hotel with a much smaller balcony which overlooked some grass area and an odd house with lots of noisy roosters outside & 2 dogs- very random! We laughed about this with the staff as it was like 2 different hotels, apparently the land & animals behind do not belong to the hotel.
The rules state that you are not allowed alcohol in the rooms but you just need to sneak it in in a beach bag & that is fine, we never encountered problems with this. There is a fridge & a kettle in the room. The showers do not hang on the wall which is a bit of a pain.The maids come every day but only changed the beds every few days which was fine for us. We paid £50 euros per room for air con for the week & between 4 of us hired one safety deposit box for 20 euros - the safes are in the hotel reception & monitored by CCTV which is really good. The last day we paid 15 euros each to keep one room which we were allowed to keep right until our coach came - well worth it.
The hotel was noisy at night, guests playing music etc but we expected this with it being 18-30s and this really was the only indicator that it was an 18-30s hotel.
The hotel is about a 5 min walk from the first bars and about 15-20 min walk to the end of the strip but there are bars all along the way, at the end of the strip is the beach. We usually got a taxi home which was 6 euros, once we hopped in a horse & cart for 10 euros!
The only negative to our holiday was the rubbish 18-30s rep called Adam, he was absolutely useless, unfriendly & unprofessional.When we arrived at 5am he came into our room & tried to sell us the 18-30s trips, we were tired & didn't really plan on doing trips anyway, Adam got really arsey with us & left the room saying he had other people to see (strange that as we were the only 4 who arrived that night lol) The next day Adam was in the pool (where he spent most of his time) he called us over asking us if we'd thought any more about the trips - we advised him we weren't really into them & would rather do our own thing - that was the last we heard of Adam - although he was there everyday he did not even smile or say hello to us after that! So rude I've never met a rep like him & the majority of guests said the same. I think there would have been more of an atmosphere around the pool if Adam did his job properly - he seemed to latch on to a couple of young girls & just frolicked with them.The hotel staff told us that he is supposed to do a pool party every week but he just never bothers! On our last night a very drunk girl actually fell into our room as the door was ajar - she was followed by Adam, the girl drunkenly apologised and Adam told her there was no need to apologise & dragged her out of our room - we were pretty disgusted by this & thought he was out of order & rude. Hopefully he'll receive his marching orders soon but even he didn't ruin our hol. We had a fab time and the hotel was great!

Room Tip: Recommend to request a pool view as the balconies at the front are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sarlee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

i dont even write reviews but i think this hotel deserves one . me and my 5 friends stayed here this year - we were originally booked for the mariana hotel which is just around the corner but the reviews were terrible and we are so glad we changed.

the hotel its self is made for young and livley and we met some amazing ppl. maids clean the room everyday and change the sheets once a week. we got abs no charges even though we got henna and paint all over the sheets and accidently broke the chair. hotel staff are amazing very friendly and the pool bar food and drink is great and reasonably priced. its right at the top of the strip so great starting point for all the good deals on the way down to the clubs 2 drinks for 5 shots for 5 euros in CENTRAL !!! drinks are stong and music is brilliant.

the pool is massive and spotless. Reps excurisons paint party, school disco, trinity etc are great but you can get them for half the price down the road so dont jump right into booking them on the first day but tbh our holiday wouldnt have been the same without them.

late check out lets you keep your room right up untill the transfer bus has arrived outside your hotel which is a godsend if like us your flight isnt untill 5 ini the morning.

alchol in the room is basicall allowed ( as long as you dont fist pump you bottle of vodka when bringing it into the hotel ) we brought back 2 bottles of vod from the shop and they took 1 from us and let us keep the other but gave us back the other bottle the next day so the are very reasonable.

DEFFOS RECOMEND THIS HOTEL AND WOULD GO BACK IN A SECOND - I MISS OUR ZANTE FAMILY !!!!!!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor has the biggest roomms and balconies best nightl clubs = zeros, rescue and cherry bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kayrn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.3 mi away
Paradise Apartments
Paradise Apartments
#31 of 74 in Laganas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mon Repos Apartments
Mon Repos Apartments
#19 of 74 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portego Hotel
Portego Hotel
#35 of 74 in Laganas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savvas Hotel
Savvas Hotel
#59 of 74 in Laganas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 74 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Hotel

Property: Olympia Hotel
Address: Laganas 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 74 Hotels in Laganas
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Laganas
Olympia Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing