We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely clean hotel”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed at Poseidon for 2 weeks in May. The hotel is very well maintained and very clean. All the staff are very pleasant and helpful. This is the fifth time that my partner has stayed here and he was not disappointed.

Room is a little small but clean and well equipped with plenty of wardrobes/cupboards and drawers (which some places never seem to have). We had a lovely pool view (plus mountains in the background) from our balcony.

Will definitely be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    212
    113
    41
    37
See reviews for
158
270
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a party of 8 in May for our father in laws birthday trip. We had picked the hotel as a few of us had stayed here before.
The initial room we had faced the road at the front of the hotel and was quite dark so we asked to change and got a mixture of pool and sea view rooms which was great (and the staff were lovely about it!). The rooms were a decent size (for Greece), basic but very clean and had plenty of storage. A few other reviews have said about the small bathrooms but again it was definitely not the smallest Greek bathroom I've had.
We had breakfast included which had a selection of hot and cold items but it was quite basic, however, breakfast is such good value out and about in laganas (and for decent quality food) that we did this most days. I do not blame the hotel for this as the UK package holiday companies pay the hotel so little (I did not realise how little!) that I would not expect top notch ingredients. I do very much like their poolside snack bar, great lunchtime food at very reasonable prices and in a nice setting. Try the Chicken Gyros and a Vanilla milkshake, beautiful!
The pool area itself is lovely, the pool nice and cold to refresh against the heat and a good number of sunbeds. I do think that the hotel are missing a trick by charging for the sunbeds on the grass/beach as if you go to any of the beach bars or restaurants, they were offering free sunbeds and wifi if you buy their drinks. We did this on a few occasions and so maybe the hotel should review this so they don't lose this money?
However, compared to the lovely clean sandy beach from last time I visited, the beach is now quite dirty with cig butts everywhere. We even saw a dog actually poo on the beach and the dogs owner got a spade and just buried it. I pity the poor parents whose child finds that in a few weeks....

We tried many of the restaurants along the beach whilst there, tasos's on the beach was great with garlic bread to die for and great prices. We also ventured onto the Laganas "strip" one night but it was pretty dead (1am) so maybe too early in the season?

Overall I would be very happy to go back to this hotel as they look after you so well but not so sure about Laganas itself.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dinglenoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

this was my first stay in this hotel,beds and towels made up and changed daily.room was small but adequate, only had breakfast once as I like to eat out,resturant was clean with plenty of choice of food but very busy as you would expect. nice garden leading to a pool with childrens section elevated slightly off main pool, the pool area is well kept with a poolside bar and a separate salad/snack bar ,on from the pool there is a grassed area with more sunbeds 4euros which leads onto the beach which has more sunbeds 6euros.overall a good hotel in a great location with bars and resturants close at hand and not to far from the main nightlife ,will definitely return to this hotel .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roywales2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at the Poseidon Beach in May and had a wonderful holiday. All the staff are superb and very friendly especially Georgia and Freda in the restaurant. The hotel is also exceptionally clean and the gardens are beautiful. Costas the owner, his wife and delightful little girl Katerina also add to the family and personal feel of the hotel, you certainly come as a stranger and leave as a friend. The prices in the poolside restaurant are very good and so is the food.
Georgio the manager is very personable and is very visible around the hotel in making sure everything is running smoothly. He is quite the philosopher with a great sense of humour.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a poolside or sea view. High floor preferably
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I went on my first 18-30 holiday when I was 21. This was my second. Just a pity there were 35 years between them. In all fairness, that is not a reflection of the hotel (which is a professionally run, well-managed establishment), more a reflection of the resort of Laganas.
The hotel lived up to its billing as a good standard 3-star. Rooms are on the small side (indeed, the bathroom was tiny) but it had a fridge, tv, balcony and furniture, and a side sea view. The staff are helpful and pleasant, and very hard working.
Breakfast is basic fare and very limited - but it should be remembered that a cooked breakfast is a new addition to the service offered by the hotel so time for improvement yet. A snack bar serves a wide range of lunches, and doubles up as a second restaurant at night. It is at night when the poolside looks at its best when sunloungers are moved aside and a range of lounge furniture is placed around the bar and restaurant. This has another advantage - sunloungers are not set out until 8am so no-one can claim them on their way back from a night of drunken revelry.
The pool is kept immaculately clean but limited room around the pool meant sunbeds were very close together and it felt a bit invasive.
The beach was poor compared to beaches we usually visit so I wouldn't recommend paying 6 euros for a set of loungers - although the view across Laganas bay is the best part of the resort. Basically, as far as Laganas is concerned, you could be anywhere. The resort itself lacked any charm whatsoever although the people were fabulous and welcoming. Bars and clubs are tawdry and downbeat. Strangely, the few newer ones were the least busy so why change, I suppose, but it doesn't make for a pleasant experience.
Adequate restaurants are plentiful, although you will find that there are 189 "best restaurants on the island" - every one you pass will try to lure you in with that claim and it becomes very tiresome. I can thoroughly recommend Bon Appetit (and not just for the Toon shirt hanging from the wall) for good food, atmosphere and really good staff, followed by the imaginatively-named Jimmy's Place.
All-in-all, a good hotel for those on a budget but there are nicer, more authentically Greek resorts to be had on the island.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

To start the hotel location was perfect for us. Far enough away from the bustling strip to avoid the noise of the laganas party nightlife. Right on the beach which is great with shops, bars and restaurants very nearby. The room was as expected from a 3* hotel. A nice view of the sea and turtle island made waking up more pleasureable. A new beach club, republic, is soon to open right next to the hotel which was outside our room, so i would be slightly concerned as to what impact this will have on future residents.
The breakfast was very repetitive, with pretty much the same cooked breakfast options everyday. Fat (bacon), overcooked and undercooked eggs and cold beans. By the end of a two week holiday you're craving something different.
Pool and restaurant staff were helpful and very friendly, however, the reception staff messed us around in certain situations.
Also don't bother with the air con. It doesn't work and its more harm than good trying to get your money back or to switch rooms.
Overall, the hotel was a good base to a lovely beach holiday but if you're looking for great quality rooms and breakfasts, look elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lewis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This 3* hotel is situated right on the beach. The rooms are basic but bedding and towels changed every 3 days. The only negative with our room was the beds - not very comfortable. The gardens are beautifully kept and lit up in the evenings. The hotel serves a hot buffet in the restaurant in the evenings for 10 euros and snacks are available in the poolside bar.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the garden and pool which was perfect. Some rooms at the front of the hotel fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ald45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.3 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#2 of 73 in Laganas
1,665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 73 in Laganas
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Zante Park Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poseidon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidon Beach Hotel

Property: Poseidon Beach Hotel
Address: Laganas 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poseidon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Poseidon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon Beach
Poseidon Beach Laganas
Poseidon Beach Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing