We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laganas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
smartline Margarita Hotel
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Laganas
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Just got back from spending 5 days at the Margarita, was an amazing hotel! It is a great location far enough away from the strip so you don't get the noise but is only a 10 minute walk to the strip and the beach so still close enough that you don't feel too out of it!

There was a good choice of food with bar food available all day and buffets three times a day and drinks on tap! The reps put on entertainment throughout the day and put on some great evening entertainment which meant you didn't need to leave the resort unless you wanted to...

I can't recommend this hotel enough, was an incredible hotel, perfect location I honestly couldn't find fault if I tried! A special thanks to the reps worked so hard to make our stay as perfect as possible they always went the extra mile for everyone staying!

Thanks again for an amazing holiday = )

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    251
    94
    47
    26
See reviews for
266
373
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gorran, Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My friend and i turned 50 this year and decided to celebrate by going abroad.We stayed at the Margarita Hotel and had an absolutely brilliant time. The owner Margarita and her family and all the staff couldnt have been more helpful. The rooms were spotless and the choice of food was excellent.The adult pool was brilliant for some peace and quiet.The T C rep Georgia was really good considering she has only been there a few weeks,nothing was too much trouble for any of them.The entertainment team work so had and were very good.The Hotel was away from the main nightlife but close enough to walk to if you want to party at night, a ten minute walk away.Some people were inconsiderate when returning from partying, late at night and kept us awake.It is unfortunate that the corridors are tiled and so sound carries easily.I dont think the Hotel is really for young people that want to PARTY until the early hours.There were lots of young people who stayed there and the majority of them were quiet and well behaved.Bus service just around the corner to go and explore the Island..Neighbouring resorts easy to walk to.Turtle excursion a must.All in all we had a really lovely time

Room Tip: Rooms at front of Hotel were nice,dont know about the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gainsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Had an amazing 2 weeks at margarita hotel. All of the staff r so helpful & brilliant with children my to little ones are only 3 & 2 and they always had time for them. The hotel owner margarita & her husband tony were so lovely. The 3 entertainers were fabulous had so much time for everyone and always made an effort to please everyone. The hotel was always spotless & the food was brilliant. I thought we would have problems as my 2 year old has coeliacs disease but from the 1st day the chef would come out at every meal time to tell us what she could & couldnt eat & there was always a lot of choice for her. We will be revisiting next year without a doubt xx

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjprice27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menheniot, Liskeard United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was our first visit, but most certainly won't be our last. We loved everything about this small family run hotel, the room, the food, the pools and the lovely friendly people.
Met some great people,fab, hotel, fab food, fab TC rep Georgia, sad about the delay in getting home, but again Georgia and Maggie the TC reps looked after us.
Would def go again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I would like to thank all the staff at the Margarita for a wonderful holiday. The room was excellent and cleaned every day, the food was wonderful and the snack bar with Sylvia who made a great tuna roll always had a smile for the guests. The entertainment team excelled.
The only downside was the Thomas Cook rep who couldn't give a dam about the older clientele and just looked after the louts who wanted to go bar crawling. Thomas Cook should not send these people to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trainset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is the second time we have gone to the Margarita and we were so disapointed this time after such a nice stay last time and we would never go back as it was such a change from the good service last time.
Let me start by saying i booked through. T Cook and they are simply not as good and the hotel is joining them.
I have had a triple heart operation at the start of the year and as our first holiday away since op wrote to the hotel and the Agent to request the lovelly rooms behind or in the reception block for ease of access or use of the lift on arrival where had they put us up 4 flights of stairs in the family block total opposite of what i asked for.
The hotel blamed T.COOK and said welcome back but we had to go there on Speaking to the useless rep from T.COOK SHE WAS SIMPLY NOT INTERESTED.
We are both in our 60s and no help offered so we hauled our cases up to a cold damp room that never got any sun had to suffer doors banging etc with screeming kids and 18/30s lot most nights on approaching the rep said we may be able to move at a charge.
So again no understanding etc.
What has happened to the Margarita or is it a case of we cant help just suffer it was never like that even saw a Blind Man checking in to be put on the top floor its bloody madness.
They simply do not care as apparently they had a bad year last year.
Food first week was Cold and balnd even the coffee the fisrt week was luke warm as appparently they were practacing and training and useing up what the had from last season in the freezers as ther was a remarkable change the second week but still cold breakfast nice looking just not hot.
Laganas itself was not open as it was opening week some bars etc started to open but even after a fortnight still most closed what is a great shame as it was so disapointing more like a ghost town than a strip most entertainement bars not open.
This should have been stated when booking as last time we went was like a different world.
All in ALL we are through with the Margarita due to there lack of customer service and as far as T.Cook are concerned thats going to be a car crash and they are running it for 18/30s and not the family hotel it once was and the management have lost two returning customers as for the Staff they were really helpfull and nice and would do anything to help. pity the owners have gone the other way but thats Greece. Back to Long Haul for us as Blackpool would have been better. Laganos closed 1st to 15th May be warned

Room Tip: Stay away from FAMILY BLOCK OK FOR KIDS AND 18/30S Dont go beginning of May as most places Closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This was our first visit, but most certainly won't be our last. We loved everything about this small family run hotel, the room, the food, the pools and the lovely friendly staff members. It is so rural and quiet, (apart from one noisy farm dog,) and well away from the busy part of Lagana. Seeing turtles on our boat trip was the icing on the cake, literally!

Room Tip: There is a special family block, which means everywhere else is pretty good for couples or groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
0.5 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 74 in Laganas
1,582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 74 in Laganas
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
1.7 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Margarita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Margarita Hotel

Property: smartline Margarita Hotel
Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Laganas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Margarita Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Margarita is a charming All Inclusive hotel with a warm atmosphere and a beautiful garden. The hotel is an ideal choice for families. Guests stay in bright and modern rooms, and the hotel's restaurant serves home-grown fruit and vegetables as well as specialties from all around the world. The hotel has an inviting and relaxing pool area with three pools, including a kids pool and a relaxation pool for adults only, and if you want to enjoy the gazing sun by the sea, the beach is just a 10 minute stroll away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Margarita Hotel Laganas
Hotel Margarita Zante
Smartline Margarita Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing