We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay at this hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laganas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
smartline Margarita Hotel
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Laganas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable stay at this hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here during half term and were really surprised by how good the hotel was having read previous reviews. Our room was clean and spacious, with a door separating the two bedrooms. The hotel staff were courteous and friendly and the Thomas Cook rep Aron was great fun and always enthusiastic and got us all involved in activities. We met other families and had a great time at this hotel. The food was really good, plenty of it and it was available pretty much all day long. The staff were happy to serve drinks and there were no restrictions on the amount you could have. We loved it and would recommend it as a quiet hotel suitable for families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanson-Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    251
    94
    47
    26
See reviews for
266
373
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel & it was amazing!! We 1st went 7 years ago for our honeymoon but this time took our 14 year old son. We were a little concerned after reading other reviews about load youngsters being drunk but it was nothing like that at all. This hotel does not stand for any nonsense. We spent most of our days in the adult pool area with other families. We were allowed as our son & the others weren't causing any excessive noise. The food was absolutely amazing, the staff were wonderful & our larger double room was much better than expected. All in all it was one of the best holidays we have had & made some lovely new friends. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just come back from a long weekend with my husband and 3 friends for a surprise 40th birthday. The hotel was very clean, the staff very friendly, Margarita was a star, always willing to help, nice bottle of wine on the table for a birthday surprise even though it was all inclusive. The bees where a pain but put your cups in the bin and keep your table clean and you will be fine.

The food was always hot and fresh and varied night to night. A lot of greek food which was great, but if you fancy a snack in the afternoon go to the pool and you can get freshly made sandwiches, burgers, chips etc.

I would recommend the boat trip around the island but book it on the street outside the hotel as it was alot cheaper. Make sure you take your own booze and sickness tablets as you may need them.

Overall a great holiday was had by all and I would consider returning with the family next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VSOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived at the hotel to be greeted by Margarita herself a lovely lady very helpful. We were on a couple yet were given a twin room so separate beds it was!. I found the food nice but very repetitive it is very cheap to eat out and lots of options available. The food in the hotel was missing some spice seemed very bland. Drinks were lovely great choice. The snack bar's food was lovely and had a great variety available. Didn't like that only under 12's got free ice cream didn't seem fair. The hotel all in all was ok the entertainment staff especially Aaron did not want to be there as a mother I do not appreciate them taking the mick out of the children on the complex. Aaron did nothing but talk about his girlfriend and swear. I don't believe the staff should smoke around the childrens pool. We visited the strip, there were lots of greek people on quads/bikes that didn't seem to take any notice of others. The strip is ok at night as long as your in a group and keep an eye on your money. There are lots of beggers/people trying to sell rubbish and whilst relaxing on the beach we were bothered ALL the time. Jen highly recommended a trip to St.Dennis Day made out it was a trip of a lifetime. It was shocking a waste of money. I think the reps need to visit the excursions they are selling before lying about them!!!.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shell_shoez27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELFORD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Was recommended by friends and lived up to our expectations .We spent most of the time in the adult pool area where you could hear a pin drop it was that quite .Food was very good with roasts most nights and breakfast excellent.Staff anf shop owners in the town are very friendly .we would definatley recommend and hope to return next year.
We went for 4 days in august wife and i .in our early 40s

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stu_n111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from 2 weeks at Margarita and was very relieved to see other families at this hotel. After reading other reviews that this hotel was for 18-30s only, taking my 3 children all under 7 I was very concerned, however I needn't be as it was full of families with a few young groups who were all no trouble.

The hotel is spotlessly clean with maid service 6 days a week and fresh towels every day, we were lucky and had the new rooms which were very spacious and modern. Air con is 6 euros a night and a must! Hair dryers available on request.

The food is all lovely and fresh but a bit plain - little spice would of been nice but there is plenty of variety. Around the pool you get hotdogs, burgers, toasties, cheese, ham, egg salad cobs - all very nice. Ice cream is for under 12s only. This hotel is good with drinks and you can get as many as you can carry.

The wasps and black bees are a nuisance, we told our children to drink water as the wasps follow you round with fizzy drinks.

The entertainment lads Aaron and Antonella work hard and do a good job, they keep kids entertained and also adults. Aquarobics, water polo, killer darts, football, volley ball and then entertainment on night - these lads work non stop and always have time to chat to you and kids.

Jen the Thomas Cook rep is brilliant, she is helpful, very knowledgeable of the island and a really nice girl, a credit to Thomas Cook - we booked the trip to Zante town with Jen which I would recommend.

I have no complaints with this hotel itself my only complaint is the resort Laganas - it is not suitable for families at all, just walking to the beach was a nightmare with all the quads being driven recklessly! The strip we only went down once in the day and its dirty, full of rubbish, just bar after bar, nightclubs, strip joint, fast food kebab shops! Not any Greek cuisine to be found round here! I am aware that Laganas is lively and more for young people but we regularly take our children to Ibiza, I thought Laganas may have the same share where it's suitable for 18-30s but also for families - this is not the case. However we did find a lovely Greek / Mexican/ steak house called The Country Grill House (do a left at Taj Mahal and then first right it's the first restaurant on right) lovely people, lovely food, good price, play area, Greek dancing, free bread, salads, garlic bread, ouzo, ice creams etc highly recommend it.

I wouldn't come to Margarita again purely because of the resort - shame as its a nice hotel but Laganas is no place for families.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The experience at Margarita hotel can only be described as AMAZING! The hotel has excellent facilities, the activities organized are very entertaining and the staff is polite, friendly and extremely helpful, always willing to help and provide services of superb quality.
Also, the food at the buffet was exceptional, very fresh and of great quantity and quality, combining local and international dishes.
In all, Margarita hotel is a MUST that will ensure your vacation in Zakynthos is top notch, that I would highily recommend without a second thought, and one I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lukia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
0.5 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 74 in Laganas
1,580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#13 of 74 in Laganas
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Galaxy Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
1.7 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Margarita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Margarita Hotel

Property: smartline Margarita Hotel
Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Laganas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laganas
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Margarita Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Margarita is a charming All Inclusive hotel with a warm atmosphere and a beautiful garden. The hotel is an ideal choice for families. Guests stay in bright and modern rooms, and the hotel's restaurant serves home-grown fruit and vegetables as well as specialties from all around the world. The hotel has an inviting and relaxing pool area with three pools, including a kids pool and a relaxation pool for adults only, and if you want to enjoy the gazing sun by the sea, the beach is just a 10 minute stroll away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Margarita Hotel Laganas
Hotel Margarita Zante
Smartline Margarita Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing