We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pushy pr”

The Secret of Taste
Ranked #80 of 86 Restaurants in Laganas
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Zákinthos, Zakinthos, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“pushy pr”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

the pr people here were really pushy, they wont take no for an answer we did eat here once but it was not great food, everything had that warmed up feel about it, we hav not heard a good review from here, sorry

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    2
    4
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“NEVER EAT HERE. Cross the road and avoid eye contact.”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Was promised the best food, great price, free ice cream and "no like, no pay." Steak was not steak and was over cooked, fish fingers were crucified, cheese burgers were vege burgers, food was cold and service was slow. I complained so he offered spag bol which we didn't want. I said no thanks told him food was no good, offered 10 euros out of courtesy for the drinks (4 cokes which were included in the meal deal) and he got aggressive, shut us in the restaurant threatening to call the police. We managed to "escape" out a side door but left shaken.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank dominican03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

These people will rip you off.There's two of them on the door high fiving everyone that walks by. That's there "thing" .They will harass you to get you in and offer you cheap prices (40% 50% depending on how desperate they are on the day). They will even give you "free" alcohol to entice you (which made us violently ill the next day) Once you ask for your bill the price is nowhere near what they originally said. As for the food. Id rather eat my shoes. STAY AWAY!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OPO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worst meal we've ever had!!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We were on holiday with 2 grandchildren and visited Laganas one evening to shop and have a meal. The guy that enticed us into this restaurant was what you would call 'aggressively friendly'. He literally bars your way on the pavement outside, high 5's the kids, shakes your hand etc. He's obviously good at what he does because he promised us the best food in Laganas and in we went.

We were shown to a table under one of the speakers and the music was really loud. We didn't want to make a fuss about moving so just asked politely if it could be turned town just a tad as it was directly over our heads and were told of course it could - it wasn't. We ordered our drinks and my Fanta lemon turned out to be a diluted orange, oh well we said, the waiters are so busy its no big deal. Oh my goodness!!! when the food arrived it was really disgusting. Of the 4 meals we ordered, not one of them was eaten and we are not food snobs or fussy eaters. I ordered a chicken gyro and it was gruesome, I've never had chicken that was fatty and gristly!!! You could sole your shoe with my husband's steak and one of the children who had sausage and chips said the sausages were 'yukky'. It was the most disappointing meal we have ever had - ever!!! We decided to put it down to experience as we knew we would never go back there so we just paid up and left but strangely, when our plates were cleared away, the waiter didn't bat an eyelid at the amount of food left on each plate - he was obviously used to it.

I know some reviewers have said the food was great and its how lucky you are on the night but surely this shouldn't be the case with any restaurant. The food should be good every night without fail. When we spoke to people at our hotel afterwards, some of them said we could have told you to avoid that place at all costs. Funny enough, the guy who had been so friendly to us on the way in completely blanked us on the way out even though he looked straight at us. The following evening we found The Olive Tree in Kalamaki which was wonderful and that was where we ate from then on as we knew the food was good and we didn't want to risk wasting all that money on another bad meal.

The Secret of Taste are obviously keeping the secret of taste a secret!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“poor service food and value”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My son and his friend are currently holidaying in Zante and advised me they had been to this restaurant for a meal last night. The food was so bad they left most of it and requested the bill only to be presented with a dessert they did not want and had not ordered. When they attempted to negotiate a bill reduction in lieue of the poor quality and amount of uneaten food they were made to feel awkward and difficult by the staff and felt unable to leave until they had paid the bill in full. They will not be visiting again and have fed back to the rep and other guests at the hotel.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Teamstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Secret of Taste also viewed

Laganas, Zakynthos
Laganas, Zakynthos
 

Been to The Secret of Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing