We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the friendliest and cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Yakinthos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laganas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Yakinthos
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, Middx
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“One of the friendliest and cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

This hotel is run by husband and wife, Peter and Coola, and their lovely daughters, Evie and Letta, and they address everyone by their christian names from the moment you arrive making you feel like one of the family.

We occupied twin room 25, first floor next to the bar area, this block is the newest. The rooms are large and spotlessly clean. All rooms overlook the pool area and have balconies. The shower room is very small but adequate and the kitchen area has a fridge, one electric hob and a kettle, however, most people eat out.

Denise cooks a very mean full english breakfast consisting of 2 eggs, bacon, sausage, beans and mushrooms, together with orange juice, tea/coffee, and two slices of toast with butter and jam/marmalade for 4 euros. She also makes the lunch if you want to stay round the pool area during the day, the greek salad if very good for 5 euros and large.

Angelo is the barman from 5.00 pm and is a riot. Watch out for the "medicine" shots!!! He also prepares and serves food in the evenings if you want to eat in house.

The swimming pool is a good size and again spotless, with mesh sun beds. The cleaning ladies clean the whole area every day before they hit the rooms.

There are several good restaurants in the immediate area, Paradise being one of them; turn left out of the hotel and its a couple of hundred yards down on the right. It is a good 20 minutes walk into the main strip of Laganas which is near enough, and far away enough, depending on whether you like the noise and hustle and bustle or not.

The only minor point for me, being a light sleeper, was the noise the youngsters made coming back in at 3/4/5 in the morning after leaving the clubs without considering that others were asleep. If you want a quite room avoid the rooms by the end staircases as the clip clop of the high heels on the tiled areas certainly resound very well. This only happended a couple of times and did not detract from the holiday. We are in our 60's (but not boring old farts) and enjoyed chatting with the youngsters.

We usually go fully inclusive 4/5*, but in this instance very much enjoyed the whole feel of the hotel and our holiday.

Don't be put off by any negative reports of illness etc, it would not be the result of food eaten at this hotel.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbaraOakham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    43
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
39
51
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

just returned from yakinthos apts on 23rd sept. I had a large,modern, 3 bedded studio . All doors and windows double glazed which kept the dog and road noise down.The room and larger than usual bathroom were spotless. It is quite a long way to the beach and the paths are not the best. The pool was great with walk in steps which enabled me to actually use. Book exchange at reception. Koula and her family are lovely people. Towels not very good but bed linen was fresh and clean. I think the maids wash the towels but I saw the laundry van taking the sheets. All on the flat so no problem for people with walking difficulties. A good choice for walkers as the surrounding areas are very peacefull. The nighlife down the strip is manic so the Yakinthos is well placed to have the best of both worlds.Bus stop across the road,every hour on the timetable but wear a hat ,you are in Greece. After looking around other properties there I think Yakinthos outshines in everything. I ate every night at the restaurant Plalataki across the road to the right.Excellent home cooked english and greek food . A lovely atmosphere and family. If returning to Laganas I would go back to Yakinthos.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler6555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

My husband & I stayed here for 2 weeks in Aug with 2 friends, We have stopped here previously 3 years ago and decided to return as the place is so clean with friendly staff.

The pool was spotless and we saw Peter checking the chemicals most days to ensure the pool was clean. Mamma Khula runs a tight ship and although Olympic recommend the apartments are cleaned only 3 times per week, Khula insists the rooms are cleaned every day. With the bathroom and kitchen bins changed and the rooms mopped out. So where these dirty rooms are I have no idea??
We stopped in a studio apartment this time where last time we had a 1 bedroom apartment. We were in room 1 which was overlooking the pool and was pleny big enough for us 2. We decided to pay for the air conditioning which was a godsend with the August heat especially at night!
The hotel holds a BBQ every Tues which we attended twice as it was so much fun. The price is only 10 euros and there is plenty of food!! I am vegetarian and Khula made me a fresh veggi Pizza which was excellent I also ate the salads and potatos from the BBQ. My husband ate from the BBQ and enjoyed all the food. The only bad comment is that the free wine is awful and tastes of sherry?? Although some other people found it nice! Not one person was ill during our 2 week stay other than from too much alcohol consumption from Lagans town !

We ate from the pool bar most days for breakfast or lunch and the prices are very cheap with a good variation and always freshly made.

Lagans strip is approx a mile from the apartments and 6 euros in a taxi or 20 min walk. This is fab during the day as it is so quiet around the pool with the sun directly on the pool all day. Other hotels nearer into town especially on the right only have sun for half a day!!

Overall we found the Apartments excellent and loved the family atmosphere of the place. Peter, Khula, Evi,Letta and of course Andreous the Barman!! They are all friendly and will make you welcome.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redruthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

All the people with the bad review's must off went to zante for all the wrong reasons. zante it self is quite lively. The hotel is just in the right place to get the best of both world's, able to chill at the hotel or go out 'taxi's only 6 euros or you can walk..
The staff are Lovely and could not have done enough, got the felling they generally wonted to help.. Dan

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danjesopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

me and 3 friends stayed here for one week and we all got ill a couple of days into the hol, we had severe stomach cramps, sickness and diaherrea and it totally ruined our holiday as we wanted to get out there and have a good time but cudnt as we were too ill. i know there are some good reviews on here but nearly everyone we spoke to staying here was also very ill too. i looked at holiday watchdog reviews and some of them said that alot of people were ill when they stayed here too, i noticed the pool was never cleaned and there were all bits of dead skin in it, so it cud of been the pool or the food, but please dont risk staying here

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pennysharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, Herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

I stayed at the Yakinthos for one week from 1st July 2010 after booking a late deal through teletext holidays. The hotel is situated about a mile from the main strip in Laganas. There is a taxi rank literally next door and a cab costs 6 euros to the strip or beach. Both are about a 20-25 minute walk.

The hotel is run by a family who are very friendly and will do anything they can do to help. The Pool-side bar is great and very reasonably priced. A pint of lager is 2 euros 50 and the cocktails are also 2.50. They sell bottled water cheaper than the supermarkets. The food is basic but nice - and cheap.

There is a supermarket next door which sells most things you will need.

The rooms are basic but clean enough. They are cleaned every day. The bathrooms are as you would expect in Greece, the shower is rubbish but did the job! Air conditioning is not free and costs 6 Euros a night and there is a minumin of three nights rental. We paid for three nights but the air-con was not great. It just about made sleep possible in the heat! I would highly recommend buying some good Mosquito repellent before you leave England. The stuff you can buy there does not work!

The barman Angelos is fantastic. He really looks after everyone keeps everyone laughing.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for groups of friends but maybe not for families.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy1983LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

Went here in May and were some of the first people to stay this year. We had a 1 bedroom apartment that sleeps 4 all with seperate beds. The room was really cool and also had air con. rooms were in great condition and still smelt of fresh paint! The complex is in great condition and has a nice bar with very cheap drinks (cocktails 2.5 EUR, Pint/bottle of Beer 2.5EUR). The food they do is good and cheap too, they give big portions. you ask for an omelette, you get a big serving with chips and salad for 3.5EUR. The hotel is about 1/2 mile from the main bars but it is on the same road so its easy to get to. you can walk it in 15min or just get a taxi for 6EUR. the taxi rank is right outside the hotel by the supermarket and there is always a couple at least waiting there. There are bars, restaurants and supermarkets along the road so its all easy to get to. There's a Quad bike shop outside hotel u can get one for 20EUR a day then you can go around the island. Its great to chill out round the pool in the day and then head out to the town about 11ish, this way u can get cheap drinks at the pool bar before leaving. The Olympic rep Lynsey is great and a right laugh. It is family run (Mum, Dad, Daughter) and they are very nice people and also the barman/security Tony is a great bloke. This is now my second home haha! We have just booked to go back on July 18th 2010 with 4 more people and cant wait. Nothing bad to say about this place. Check it out if you wanna go to Zante this year. only thing I would say is watch out for Mosquitoes! get some spray or sumink.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam_b_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laganas hotels
1.5 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#17 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hera Zakynthos Hotel
Hera Zakynthos Hotel
#27 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.4 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paradise Apartments
Paradise Apartments
#30 of 77 in Laganas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portego Hotel
Portego Hotel
#35 of 77 in Laganas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 77 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yakinthos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yakinthos

Property: Hotel Yakinthos
Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Laganas
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Yakinthos Apartments Hotel Laganas
Hotel Yakinthos Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing