We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kontonis Studios & Apartments
Ranked #52 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Laganas
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Following an excellent flight (and travelling with Olympic holidays)- our transfer took at the most 15 minutes.Our room although very basic was clean.Bedding,linen and towels were also of a good standard.We travelled 13th-20th June 2013 and paid approx £210 each. Now tell me where in the UK can you go-get glorious weather- in fact too hot for us both for this sort of money.We were both older than the usual visitors to this resort as it is well known as a "ravers resort"On the main "drag" there are many bars/nightclubs which stay open into the wee small hours and if this is what you are looking for then this resort would be ideal.It is understandable that the owner keeps a sharp eye on his property given the antics some guests get up to when they have been out celebrating.He did not trouble us at all and taking into consideration the very cheap price we paid we were satisfied with the accommodation and the holiday in general

Room Tip: there is no pool at these apartments however the use of one across the road is available All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    4
    5
    8
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Hello!
I travelled with two friends, all 21, in June 2012, payed £290 pp with Olympic holidays.
We arrived at the hotel (the last drop off) after about 20 minutes on the coach and were shown straight to our room after the typical passport confiscation.
The room its self way very dated and the furniture resembled something that would house termites.
We were on the first floor so there wasnt much need for aircon (which isnt available anyway), the rooms cool down by late afternoon if you keep the shutters closed.
there was a fridge in the kitchen area which was in perfect condition, and a plug in two ring hob, which was old and filthy. There were very little plates/cups/cutlery available, maybe 2 of each, but the maid (the managers 'Woman') comes in daily and washes them up for you if you dont get the chance! She also changes your sheets every 2 days.
The beds are like sawn off bunk beds and the matresses are stained and very old! The third bed is basically a camp bed.
The bathroom is more of a wetroom, shower head with no fixture which is typical of Greece. Making it slightly difficult for us girls to wash our hair (we just ended up washing each other!) And the bubbles come out of the plug in the centre of the wetroom floor so if you are using the shower, make sure you put a towel down so that you don't slip and die. The hotel states that there is hot water available 5-9pm but in the week that i stayed, i had one hot shower. (i found it easier to wash my hair in cold water when we arrived back from nights out at daft am, being intoxicated makes it a bit more bareable and kind of takes the edge off the hangover!)
We, as well as other friends staying here had a real problem with ants. We expected there to be bugs, but an army of them took over our room, mostly coming out from under the rotten wardrobe, they even stole one of my eyelashes from my bedside table (so upset). So if you do choose to stay here, make sure you dont leave any food in your room... especially fizzy drinks (cans) they will be there in a flash, and i can say from experience having a gobful of drowned ants is not pleasant!
the Manager of this hotel is an absolute mental. I don't understad when he sleeps as he is constantly patrolling day and night! If you dare shop at another supermarket than the one beneath the apartments then prepare yourself fot a good screaming at. One day from the pool (which is behind the hotel owned someone else) we witnessed him barging into someones room and threatening them (god knows what it was over, they probably bought an ice pop from down the road). He is also very against guests mingling, during predrinks at a room a few down from ours (we were not causing commotion, casual game of beer pong) he came in and told us to go to our own room, but if you just make jokes with him and be polite he backs off a bit. One the first day he let himself into our room quite a few times to 'see how we were' but we just found it creepy as he does just walk in, once when i was in just my keks!
His 'Woman'/maid will knock on your door and ask if you want to attent the BBQ (can't remember how much it was) but it didnt appeal to us, probably horse anyway!
Overall the hotel is ok if you just want somewhere to crash, but make sure you are on best behaviour, wouldn't reccommend for families as a lot of young people stay here.
Zante overall was amazing, I am returning this year but to a different hotel with Thomas cook.
This hotel is about 20 minutes from the main strip but there are plenty bars and restaruants on the way (I suggest a game of bulldog with the PR's). If you take the strip route to the beach it can take over half an hour but there is a shortcut facing the Canadian hotel, which takes you past some lovely bars and restaurants that we didn't discover till the last day (sad face).
My advice would be to pay an extra 30-50 quid for a nicer hotel closer to the action. Sorry about the essay, hope it helps! Toodles x

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a nice hotel closer to the action, the manager is a mental case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Hannah11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laganas hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This isn't a review of Zante - the place itself was wicked, the location of the hotel was good and the pool was nice.

The owner on the other hand was a bit nutty! He was constantly patrolling the hotel (which was tiny anyway) and at night when we got back he used to follow us with a lazer pen to make sure we weren't bringing anyone back!

Once when my room mate and I were napping in late afternoon in our room (bearing in mind we weren't wearing a lot due to the heat) I woke up to find that Takis the manager and an electrician had let themselves into our room without knocking to look at our broken fridge!! Highly inappropriate if you ask me!

On arrival they didn't have a key for our door so we had to leave it unlocked and the balcony doors were really easy to open which made it a bit uneasy to leave valuables in.

However, we enjoyed ourselves and if you don't take yourself too seriously (or your holiday) then this is worth a stay.

Room Tip: Lock your valuables away - there's no safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Went on a lads holiday with 14 Bournemouth boys, first impressions were good everyone seemed very friendly and made us feel welcome however a few hours later we had brought some food and drinks from a nearby shop and had a drink at a nearby bar once we returned to the hotel the manager peter or tacky as some people called him got really angry and threatended us saying we cant drink anywhere else but his hotel or he wont let us back in to sleep. after this we had a drink in his bar everyday just to keep him happy however it wasnt a very nice bar. this still wasnt enough to keep him happy as he kept coming into our rooms at all hours of the day and night. he would shout at us for using too many lights in our rooms and constantly be following us! one night we came in after a night out he even threatened to shoot us and made 2 of our mates sleep out on a sunbed in a nearby pool however the night after there was a massive fight with other people staying in the hotel and the room got smashed up and these people were allowed to stay put in the hotel! on the last day he kicked us out a ten in the morning when our flight wasnt until 4 am the next morning leaving us no where to shower or leave our stuff unless we paid him 40 quid each (all we wanted was 1 shower and somewhere to put our cases) we asked the hotel next door because we would rather pay them and he went over and threatened the hotels family if he let us put our cases there and shower! basically this is horrific hotel where the manager acts like hes running a concentration camp rather than a hotel, he will invade your privacy, look threw your stuff and get very angry with you if dont buy everything from his disgusting and over priced shop! terrible hotel but amazing place! ps this is coming from 14 bournemouth lads we where not expecting much!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Some of these current reviews are unbelievably picky. My family and I stayed here this summer and I would have thought it was a completely different hotel reading these reviews! It has clearly undertaken a huge refurbishment and was very pleasant. The staff were extremely helpful, very approachable and always around. There was a great, lively atmosphere around the hotel and it felt very secure. The only issue I would comment on would be the lack of entertainment during the day, other than this, we had a great holiday and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone of any age!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed in Zante for a week and just got back and can honestly say that i was dreading the holiday after reading all the bad reviews but Takis the owner was a lovely man... He clearly told me and my friend when we got there that his rules apply that he doesnt want people bringing others back to his rooms and so at the end of the day you should respect that.... The staff were all lovely...came over to give us advice, cleaned our rooms and were friendly. At the end of the day some english people are just idiots when they go abroad and think that they can treat the locals bad by trashing his rooms, been complete idiots and if i was him i would be angry aswell. Had a great holiday, met some lovely people and the Kontonis apartments were good... if you pay cheap you cant expect 5 star luxery can you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leoni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just came back from a great holiday, spoilt only by the physical and verbal bullying by the Hotel owner Takis....
14 of us stayed there and this man went out of his way to try and spolit our holiday, what i can confirm is that any bad comments you have read are all true and in fact our experience were a lot more severe... below are some of the many thing he did and sadly got away with...
On the first day a member of out party was sitting in the lobby, we were waiting to go for our breakfast and to our supprise Takis came up behind him and slapped him hard round the head! when he was asked why he did it he said" he no breakfast now and started pushing him towards the swimming pool.
on the second night we were asleep and he unlocked our door and just came into our room, when I sat up and asked what he was doing there he said" Dont worry i will go, you dont need to get up"
We went over to a shop to buy some drinks to put in our fridge as we were self catering and on our return he grabbed them out of the bag and emptied them into the bin shouting that" we wasnt allowed to shop elsewhere!
Whilst we were at the one of the allocated swimming pool's we started playing pool and he came running over shouting and grabbing the pool cue's out of our hands waving it in our faces again shouting that" we were only allowed to play pool in his bar"
Things went missing out of our rooms, 1 mobile phone, 70 euro's and my flip flops... I questioned him about this as he was the only one with key's and that i was thinking of calling the police after half hour my flip flops appeared in my room on my bed.
He told us that we were not allowed in each other's rooms, one night we were having a few drinks (that we had bought from his shop)before we went out and he came in and pulled the stereo system out of the wall and told us that if we had to go back to the rooms we paid for.. When I asked what the problem was he grabbed my neck and head butted me!!!!
I wanted to call the police but as I don't speak greek and was worried what he may say in his defence i decided against it as we didn't fancy a night in cells...Zante was amazing!!! and we had a great holiday apart from where we stayed.
We are in the process of raising an official complaint!!!
Please avoid at all cost!!!!

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
7.5 mi away
Savvas Hotel
Savvas Hotel
#63 of 77 in Laganas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Akropolis Studios
Akropolis Studios
#44 of 77 in Laganas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
7.4 mi away
Portego Hotel
Portego Hotel
#35 of 77 in Laganas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Georgia Apartments
Georgia Apartments
#1 of 2 in Kypseli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Pantis Studios - Apartments
1.2 mi away
Galatea
Galatea
#1 of 1 in Makris Gialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kontonis Studios & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kontonis Studios & Apartments

Property: Kontonis Studios & Apartments
Address: Drosia, Laganas 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Laganas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kontonis Studios & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kontonis Studios And Apartments
Kontonis Studios & Apartments Hotel Laganas
Kontonis Studios & Apartments Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing