We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, regularly serviced, not too noisy, basic.”
Review of Hotel Karras

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Karras
Ranked #51 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Laganas
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June 2013, there was 7 of us, all family, with ages ranging from 3 to 82! - We have absolutely no complaints whatsoever. The apartments are cleaned and serviced regularly and the pool bar is just fine, selling food from 9am-9pm, Although Laganas gets a bad reputation with youngsters, I and all of my party did not find this at all, Karras is just the right distance away to be as involved or not as you would like. This might be because we were very early in the season however.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miss_Laura_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 200 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed at Karras at the start of July 2012 on a lads holiday, couldn't have asked for a better hotel. Rooms were a lot better than we expected and the pool isn't half bad. The manager keeps everyone in order but he's got a bit of banter about him aswell... particularly fond of the girls but aren't they all. The pool is pretty good but drinks at the hotel are a bit expensive... if you walk 10 seconds from the bar there's a small shop that sells exactly the same drinks for a third of the price, as you can imagine the barman wasn't all too pleased when he saw us waddle past with bags full of beer and big grins across our faces however. I've read lots of horror stories about people getting their rooms broken into and all their belongings stolen but everything was fine for us and no-one else in the hotel had any problems. Had no issue with bringing girls back to the hotel either, apparently some people at other hotels got charged for it but the security guy at Karras just gives you a wink and goes on his way. The hotel is about 5-10 minutes walk from the strip with plenty of restaurants/bars along the way and the walk back is full of people whether you stumble home at 1am or 6am you don't need to worry about being mugged by a creepy Greek man. On that note, watch out for the little gypsy kids that run around at night, they're not there for your enjoyment, they're on a mission to rob you blind. Overall, all of us had a wicked holiday and i'd gladly stay at Karras again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JW92xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Karras was good, we were made to feel very welcome by the pool bar owner "Spiros" and his wife. He made us a few BBQ's, and gave us good recommendations for restaurants. Turtle island cruise was amazing and also our trip to smugglers cove. I wouldn't go back to Laganas though, too crazy! Party central, and not the place to go with your boyfriend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayleigh g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Im a 17 year old girl who went to zante in July 2012 with 3 other girls. If your going for a party holiday this place is highly recommended. We were quite fussy about if it was going to be clean and safe but 100% is. Rooms arent fancy but suitable to return and sleep in, staff always had spare key if your friends went home before you and you needed to get in your room, they were not bothered who came back just as long as you went into your room. Food really cheap round pool and the woman was amazinnnng and practically cooked everything. Get friendly with pool bar people there really nice and gave us free drinks occasionally. The pool area has music playing all day and night so your never bored but doesnt ever wake you up, beach is 5 minute walk if that and strip is 10/15 mins. Although you are a bit of a distance from the strip we got to know people in the bars on the way and were already drunk by the time you got to the strip and only spent about 5 euro!!! Also the walks home created the best laughs ever! Everyone that stayed here said they loved it really highly reccommend please ignore other reviews!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at hotel Karras 28th June to 5th July, when we arrived we walked into the main hotel only to be told we are going to be staying at their other accommodation down the road. We were led on about a 5 minute walk up the road and put in apartments that were nothing like we had booked. We were surrounded by families of Serbians and as we were a large group of boys got complained about every night for noise. On a number of occasions we were awoken by the owners banging at our door and forcing themselves inside in the morning, to tell us that we had received more complaints. On the whole any of the staff we came across were rude, the pool at the hotel was about the only thing good about it.

Zante as a place was quality and I would definitely go back but just not to Karras. There was a hotel down the road called Canadian Hotel which has a really nice bar, decent pool and the accommodation and people there were much much better.

Room Tip: Choose Canadian Hotel down the road - way nicer and cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed between 27th July and 3rd August 2012 and for us it was really the wrong time to come!! Don't get me wrong, the hotel was lovely and the staff were all really nice but the other guests staying at the time were awful! On arrival our rep told us this was a young hotel, we both don't fit into the 18-30 bracket and did expect some noise due to other trip advisor reviews!!! I can honestly say it was disgusting the way in which the other guests (by and large Italians and Serbians) treated the hotel and the staff! They shouted all day and night, chucked watermelons, sprayed the hallways with water and chucked their rubbish in the garden, hallways and out front! We did complain and the poor woman on reception looked so worn down, she had called the manager to sort it out as their were too many to deal with!! We were told that after July/early August the hotel and resort is a completely different place and is good for families and couples. 
Rooms are basic but fine, the bins were emptied everyday, rooms were cleaned and beds made. Towels changed twice a week and any requests were dealt with promptly. We did have to have air con for the last 4 days as it was 41 degrees but this was reasonably priced at €24. The pool is separate from the hotel but as long as you buy a drink from the pool bar you can use it. Spiros who owns the bar is really nice and very friendly and drinks arnt any more expensive than on the main strip. all in all hotel 100% good, time of year not so good! The town of laganas has plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. There are 3 shops within 100m of the hotel that sell water etc. walking to the main strip is 10 mins along the beach and 15 mins by road, however you get pestered a lot by restaurants and bars trying to get you to go in! It did get annoying by the end of the week but you can't blame them there's a lot of competition!
 We hired a car and drove around the island (2 rules-stay on the black and dont hit anything!!) and found some lovely places that were so different from laganas so we recommend doing that, we managed to go around the whole island for €20 of fuel in a Suzuki Jimny! Also do a boat trip to see the shipwreck, blue caves and the turtles well worth it! We also went to Kampi to watch a sunset which was lovely. If you stay at the Karras, it's worth going in the cocktail bar just up from there called Fantasy, the owners are lovely and ask for a shot called a B52!! We did not have to pay a €25 euro deposit on arrival which another reviewer had to (unsure if age makes a difference?) and we had no probs with mosquitos or other insects!
We have no complaints about the hotel or staff just the other guests at that time of year! All the local people that we met we so nice and very welcoming, would def go again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Doyley17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I went between the 2nd and 9th of July 2012 with a group of friends around the age of 18. It is definitely not for families - there are very loud people at all times of day and night - as many had booked together they shouted across the courtyard to their friends on other balconies. Virtually everyone was in the 18-30 bracket and went to Laganas for the partying. Definitely not for families.

Complaints were either dealt with very quickly and efficiently or not at all - our door handle was not fixed, and neither was a broken tile, however fridges, hairdryers and beds were dealt with quickly. A single room for 3 gives one person a sofa bed which is a lot harder the the other two but cuts the cost a fair bit, even if it does cramp the room. The wardrobe also struggled to fit 3 people's luggage in it.

The pool may be seen as part of the hotel deal when bought, however I was essentially forced to buying bottles of water by the poolside and was informed that the pool was 'private' and separate from the hotel - something which was not presented when I booked the holiday - indeed many of the promotional pictures show the pool clearly. In addition, the pool was packed some days so it was hard to get a sun bed at times. As such, we didn't spend much time there, and preferred the beach which was a short walk away (5 minutes sober, 10 minutes tipsy, 15 minutes drunk).

The staff were very helpful - you can exchange money, complain about your room, get wifi (1 euro = 1 hour, 6 euros = a day when I went), get a map, ask for advice etc. It was 24/7. The main strip with the clubs (Zeros, Plus, Rescue, Cherry Bay) is about 10-15 minutes walk. We walked back to the hotel on the beach every night - very sobering. Cleaners came in every few days but didn't change the sheets - some still had sand on them from when we went to the beach. It seemed like only the floors got a good mopping and the bin got emptied when they came in.

Be warned - you will get hassled EVERYWHERE. At points I just either put my phone up to my ear and spoke just to make them think I was on a call or plugged in my ipod.

Finally, there are hidden charges that were not present when we booked. We had to pay at 25 Euro deposit when we arrived and 20 Euro for the safe. AirCon is not really necessary on the 2nd and 3rd floors as long as you open the patio doors at night and spray a good amount of insect repellent everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
6.0 mi away
Karras Grande Resort
Karras Grande Resort
#31 of 51 in Tsilivi
144 reviews
5.8 mi away
Strofades Beach Hotel
Strofades Beach Hotel
#44 of 51 in Tsilivi
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 73 in Laganas
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#24 of 73 in Laganas
137 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gloria Maris Hotel
Gloria Maris Hotel
#4 of 4 in Porto Koukla
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karras

Address: Laganas 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Laganas
Price Range: $46 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Karras 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karras Hotel is located in a quiet part of the famous summer resort of Laganas located hardly 300 metres from the beach and 700 metres from resort's center.Karras operates on a self-catering basis with fully equipped kitchen facilities, 24-hour reception desk and is suitable for couples and families that seek comfortable holidays and an exciting experience overall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Karras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Karras Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing