We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Holiday”
Review of Sunshine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunshine Hotel
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Laganas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

In late August 2013 I went on a girls' holiday to Zante with three others. We weren't expecting much as we only paid £280 for two weeks including flights, but we were pleasantly surprised. The best feature of the hotel was the staff; every single member of staff was exceptionally friendly and treated us brilliantly. The rooms themselves were not great, but that was expected for the price we paid. We had two twin bedrooms with a very small en-suite and our kitchen facilities were no more extensive than a portable hob with one ring, and a kettle. However, this was not an issue as all of the restaurants in Laganas are so cheap. An example of a standard meal at a restaurant in Laganas would be thirteen euros for a starter and main course along with a free bar all night. The bar at the hotel offered a limited but varied menu, including standard continental or full English breakfasts, along with basic lunch options, too. The pool was always very clean and it is spacious enough for all of the hotel's guests. The hotel reception is open all night so you can come and go as you please. It is no longer than a three minute walk to the strip and a two minute walk to the beach which has restaurants and cocktail bars the whole way across. The only disadvantage of the location would be that you can hear the music and people from the strip when you come home to go to bed until about 6 in the morning unless you close your door, but it was often too hot to keep the glass doors closed. We were initially worried about the air-con situation but found that it wasn't necessary to pay for it as we just kept our balcony open. We never had to pay entry to a club and all drinks were unbelievably cheap but often they were not real alcohol which was something we had to look out for. We went low-season which meant the strip was not too chaotic and we didn't encounter any danger at all, which I think was due to the time of year. Overall, Zante was the best holiday I've had, not only for enjoyment but also for value for money. Sunshine studios is unquestionably somewhere I would go back to, and I would definitely recommend it if anyone is looking to go on an enjoyable clubbing holiday. I'd like to thank all of the staff for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monica a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 181 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Sunshine studios was the perfect place for us!
We were on a girls holiday and absolutely loved staying here.

The rooms were basic but very clean. The staff were friendly and our rooms were cleaned everyday.
The pool wasn't as big as i would have liked - we went at peak time in july so there weren't many sunbeds free or pool space but to be honest the beach was only round the corner so we spent most of our time there!
We came to zante to party on the strip and loved the fact that it was on a side road off the end of the strip!! It wasn't noisy though which was also a bonus - we still had a peaceful nights sleep!
Can't praise this hotel enough will definitely be returning :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

spent 2 lovely weeks at the sunshine in september, its our 4th time here. weve been goin to laganas for over twenty years and this is one of the best studios weve found. everyone is so helpful and friendly its like meeting old friends when we return. Christine cant do enough for you and makes every effort to make your stay a pleasant one. The rooms are cleaned every day except sunday so the rooms are immaculate! Angela behind the pool bar is such a lovely girl and always serves you with a smile :) Rita serves you at night and is also lovely and pleasant. It has a lovely pool which is always clean and looked after daily. Wel defo be going back next year for May and sept hopefully :) cant wait!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindylou117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I am very pleased that we chose to stay at the sunshine studios laganas greece. we met the lovely Christina the owner who was very helpful. We was on the top floor room which had a beautiful view. The room YES basic but very clean,the rooms were cleaned everyday except sun. Pool & bar area was amazing massive pool which was cleaned daily. We had heard that this resort had a bad reputation but when we went for these two weeks we saw no trouble at all. We met all the staff who were just amazing people RITA, CHRIS ( CHRISTINA THE OWNER), and off course not forgetting the bar girl who started me smoking again( LOL) hehe( ANGELA) the bar girl who cleaned cooked and served beer the( TOP BAR GIRL )....:-} amazing swimming pool ... amazing cleaning service .. amazing food.... amazing beer... amazing beach... amazing staff....amazing holiday P.S angela not smoked since I got back security people took me lighter of me so wasn't happy..... miss you all MICHELLE & PAUL XXXX:-)

Room Tip: top floor away from kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The room was very basic, self catering. 2 Beds, shower kitchen sink, portable hob and fridge. Air-con was at extra cost. The staff were freindly to us, as I say show them respect and you will recieve the same. Well it was as I expected catered for a 17 year old who'd be happy to sleep on the floor in their own vomit. We never cooked in that room as my standards may be have been little higher than some so a walk down away from the beach and strip we found some really nice restaurants, and they want to feed you... lots! However... we paid £183.00 per person for this holiday for 7 nights. Bargain!! So that made me forget about the negatives of the room as it was 35oC the beach was under a minute walk, the strip was round the corner. We hired a quad every other day for 20euro's and rode off the resort to discover other beaches and restaurants and found some really nice onces. There is 1 restaurant everybody must visit in the mountains, think it was called the light house... but the view there is amazing! There is a massive greek flag (1 of the world biggest) so if you ask for directions there the restaurant is located there. think its just outside the town of Keri. I have been many places around the world now and If your looking for a holiday for the first time this would be perfect. As this was just a last minute getaway and a party town of Laganos it was as I expected... Ideal for the clubber, it was like a strip full of oceana night clubs with a varity of music that catered for all! Overall it was a nice holiday as I had fun laughing at the drunk kids everywhere!

Room Tip: We got lucky and were facing the pool on the middle floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

i must say after reading some negative reviews about this hotel [mainly from youngsters that dont like rules] it was amazing.
The staff here are so friendly especially RITA/CHRIS AND ANGELA [bar staff ]
the rooms are dated but clean and cleaned daily and we had no issue with noise .
the position of the hotel is supurb two minutes from the beach and five minutes from lively bars if you want that.
would deffinatly return and we will same week next year
chris and tracey.....

Room Tip: ask for a third floor room as any young groups get put at low level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coto22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great Hotel just round the corner from the strip, but far enough away to be quiet in the evenings. Staff were helpful and friendly with an excellent pool to relax by during the day. I would stay there again if I was to go back to Zante.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.3 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#25 of 73 in Laganas
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#12 of 73 in Laganas
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hera Zakynthos Hotel
Hera Zakynthos Hotel
#21 of 73 in Laganas
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ionis Art Hotel
Ionis Art Hotel
#6 of 73 in Laganas
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tzante Hotel
Tzante Hotel
#7 of 73 in Laganas
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel

Address: Laganas 29092, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Laganas
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Studios Hotel Laganas
Sunshine Hotel Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing