We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, 5-star service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laganas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sarakina Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place, 5-star service”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Loved the Sarakina (June 2012 stay). Nikos the manager was superb as a host from the first second he came out to help us with our bags, and he stayed like this all week.

The rooms are clean and the hotel is in a nice, quiet location away from the rowdiness of Laganas.

The pool area was great. For us it was relaxing because the Euro Crisis meant bookings were down everywhere, so we had it almost as a private retreat. The meal/bar area around the pool was great, and the manager there very accommodating, making up a lunch for us that was not on the menu, and giving us apricots from his own garden as a freebie a couple of times.

The Sarakina evening meals are served in one of the most perfect restaurant settings imaginable. Greek dancing is laid on each evening, and a free transfer bus runs down into Laganas town. Nikos and his sons Harris & Costas & Costas senior (Nikos's father) make sure your every need is seen to all night long, and again complimentary fruits, wines, and even dessert was provided at various times through the week.

Overall there are few places I've been in 23 years or travelling that has provided such great service.

The rooms are of a normal Greek standard, with the only downside being a lack of air con, or some way of keeping the doors open at night and the occasional bugs out (some flyscreen may help). Pedestal fans are available for hire, and we did need to do this for the second half of the week. (ceiling fans would be good I think, and may be enough to keep you cool).

A safety deposit box is available, but will cost extra. Also be aware that the goodies in the fridge also need to be paid for!

While the location is great for being quiet and providing a nice slice of Greek countryside, just be aware that it is a 1km walk each way in/out of town, down very dark roads with no separate footpath & poor lighting, so not so practical at night. Taxi's will take you both ways, but at 6 Euro each way for a 3 minute ride, it adds up to be a bit pricey. Either be prepared to walk a bit, schedule your time around the free shuttle, or be prepared to shell out on taxis. One thing to avoid is the moped/quad bike hire from the town. The roads are deadly, and our rep advised that many accidents and injuries occur.

[Just a note on the Thomson tours on offer - don't bother! they are expensive and overcrowded. The 'Simply Zante' tour is one of the longest, most boring days you can imagine.]

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boff_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    21
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
41
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth Wa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed for 7 nights at the Sarakina Appartments.
We were greeted at the accommodation by the owner Nikos who has the BEST customer service skills I have ever come across (and I am a Concierge myself!).
We were shown immediately to our room which was in the same block at reception. I was surprised by the size of the room, it had everything that an self catering room should have plus a roomy balcony and was immaculately clean. There are safety deposit boxes in the rooms which are charged at 2 euro's per night. Unfortunately there is no airconditioning which I think is needed but you can hire a fan at 2 euros per night also.
Nikos and family own the taverna next door and it is well worth a dinner. There is Greek dancing and music, very entertaining.
The swimming pool at the hotel next door is in a lovely setting with a bar/cafe available which does breakfast and snacks (very good value).
NIkos has two sons, one works in the restaurant and also helps Nikos as a Porter, the other Son Costas drives the shuttle bus into Laganas, Nikos Father (Big Costas) is also seen at the restaurant...a really beautiful family, so welcoming and they can't do enough for you!
We had a wonderful stay at the Sarakina and I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this to anyone looking for a relaxing, peaceful holiday away from the main Laganas strip but close enough if you wanted to go shopping and to other restaurants etc.
Thank you Nikos and Family for a great stay...we hope to see you again one day.
Jill & Martin (Australia)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaligirlPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The review wont let me date back to 2010 so just to let you know it was August 2010.

We went at the beginning of august and were greeted by a young gentlemen who helped take our bags to our rooms which was such a lovely touch! and he didnt expect a tip either.

Our room was quite small but included a balcony which was a nice added plus.
The beds were hard il have to say and there was no air conditioning so we were forever finding ways to stay cool.

There is a free drop off from the hotel into town but the one night we done it, he forgot to pick us up we then had to walk back to the apartments at around 12am and there and some weirdos down those dark streets.

The restaurant that is next door was so lovely!! The waiters were so polite and would do anything for you. Also i didnt really know what cocktail to have so the waiter made one up for me as he knew what flavours I liked and was so nice! food was fantastic. Entertainment was the same every night so would recommend going other places.

The pool area was also lovely and spacious with plenty of loungers by pool. Do be warned if you do not like strays they do often wonder into this area wanting food.

As we were self catering we had to supply our own food and one of the supermarkets gave us off milk and had no realised this until I was sick the next day. Yes was partly my fault should of looked at date but no store should sell nearly a year old milk!! Oh and to be warned down the strip they non stop harass you to come in. So be aware of that.

One of the thompson representives was brilliant at his job! forever friendly! and last day came to our room to say goodbye and said thank you. Was so lovely.

Overall I wouldn't come back here as the experience was not great but the staff are all friendly and lovely towards you! Great if you want a really cheap holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachii L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

If you want somewhere quite but also near enough to bars and places to eat then this is a great location.
My partner and I wanted a fast , cheap getaway and this was ideal.
Tucked in the hills of Zante these family run apartments and restaurant were great value for money. The rooms were clean and basic.
We stayed in a family apartment which was massive for the price we paid as all of the normal rooms were booked up.
The family apartment had 2 bedrooms. One room with 1 double and single the other room with 2 single beds. So lucky me had the second room as the dressing room!
You can walk to the local shops and town in 20 mins in the evening there is a free shuttle bus to take you into town. Getting back is only 6 euro by cab.

There is no air con in this place but you can sleep with the balcony doors open to keep you cool. Its very safe and the pool area is very nice with a bar with food and nibbles.

In all a cheap and restful getaway from London.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROSYBEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Great spot, lovely views and huge rooms. There is a courtesy bus that takes you to and from the beach. The pool is lovely and the whole place is really clean.The Taverna had closed for the season but there were plenty of places still open to eat in Laganas and Kalamki. There is a small bar in reception at this time of year and if you are lucky enough Costa may even play the piano for you. Nicos was just the best host, he did a BBQ for us one day along with a bottle of Champers for our friends who were celebrating a wedding anniversary! He even got his mother to make soup for one of our party who wasn't very well...now that is service! Will definately go back but a little earlier in the season when the Taverna is still open. Fab holiday, fab place..thank you Nicos and family...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVale6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2011

first time in zante and absolutly luvd it didnt want to come home, sarakina apartments were luvly, clean and friendly only fing was no air con and the basic shower.... had 2 bed room veri spacious and bars and restaurants were fab want go back next year ;)))))))))

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We booked Sarakina Apartments as a last minute holiday through Thomson. £185 for a week self catering, 19th to 26th September 2011.
We were new to Zante/Zykanthos, and were`nt too worried about the Laganas resort being for the "young and lively" as the apartments were a good 20 minutes walk from the main strip.
Apartments were secluded, quiet, pool at next door hotel was perfect. Lack of staff at the reception during the day, but you can locate staff at the Taverna nect door which they also own. Didnt eat there, but believe it was ok.
We are a couple, but were placed in a 2 bedroom apartment, very spacious. TV in one room, but no English channels, but you dont go abroad to watch TV, right??
Hotel is a 2 star plus, so you get what you pay for. Bedlinen changed only once in the week, towels just the once too. Only gripe was that if you place towels in bath or on floor (meaning you want new clean ones) they just hang them back up!!
Shower was basic. Shower head wouldnt attach to wall, as the clip had broken, but everyone else there said their apartments were same, and its usual for Greece! So just had to hold shower head in one hand, while washing with the other!
Vews of the surrounding hills were lovely.
Would definately reccommend hiring a car. Dont get the transfers from airport (£25) as the hotel is only 2-3 miles from resort. 15 Euro approx. Hire a car at resort, and then visit Tsivili ( a bit more family friendly than Laganas).
If you visit the beach at Laganas, I would definately reccomend taking a right turn at the beach, walking along beach, until you come to a tiny island in the sea,accessable via a wooden walkway to the island where it costs 4 Euros to get on the island, but you get a free drink there included). The small island has a little cove which is like a mini Carribean cove. Idyllic. Go there!!!
Would definately return to Zante, and Sarakina Apartments. In fact, I shed a tear on the balcony at the thought of leaving the place. I`m a 40 year old fella!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nukleopatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laganas
0.9 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 73 in Laganas
455 reviews
1.4 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#2 of 73 in Laganas
1,660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portego Hotel
Portego Hotel
#46 of 73 in Laganas
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Katerina Palace Hotel
Katerina Palace Hotel
#5 of 26 in Argassi
656 reviews
0.6 mi away
Borsalino Apartments
Borsalino Apartments
#21 of 73 in Laganas
87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#13 of 73 in Laganas
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarakina Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarakina Apartments

Property: Sarakina Apartments
Address: Laganas, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Laganas
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sarakina Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Sarakina Apartments Hotel Laganas
Sarakina Apartments Zakynthos/Laganas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing