We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel in Santorini”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castro Hotel Kamari
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Castro Hotel is a great place if you are looking for a budget and clean place while visiting Santorini.
Their service is excellent with a lot of attention to details.
Breakfast is good and with items from their garden, the owners do everything to make you happy.
I even tried goat milk from their farm.
The hotel is very clean, close to a bus station making much easier to use the public transportation to visit the island.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colamq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 155 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst touring. The hotel and gardens are well cared for and there is a very nice pool. The staff are very friendly. Breakfast was included in the rate and was buffet style. It is a bit of a walk to the main area of beach and tavernas (about 10 mins) but not a problem to us as it means the hotel is in a quiet area. Handy for the bus stop for Fira although we had a car. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have just returned from Castro Hotel (4/6 - 11/6 - Room 28 - Seaview), where we stayed for 1 week. This is a family run hotel, only 10 mins walk from the beach front where all the taverna's & shops are located. The hotel is very clean and has a good sized pool (also v.clean). The breakfast was excellent, lots of home grown produce (ie. Yoghurt, Honey, Fig jam, Tomatoes, Cucumber & Eggs) The family are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Another plus is that the hotel is also only a 10 min walk to the open air cinema (Open June, July & Aug) well worth a visit!
This is such a reasonably priced Hotel run by such a lovely family, that I highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljackUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a week's holiday at the Castro Hotel, Kamari. This family run hotel is a great place to stay - about 10 mins walk from the beach front so it's nice and quiet. It's very clean and the pool area is excellent. The family are so friendly and helpful. A varied choice at breakfast including home made produce such as fig jam and yogurt. The owner of the hotel is a carpenter and has made everything wooden in the hotel (apart from dining tables and chairs) - this includes the lovely doors, wardrobes and comfortable beds. The price for this hotel is so very reasonable. I would certainly recommend the Castro Hotel without hesitation. :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Dear all I will write the comment in English so that people from other countries (not only italians) and not for second the owners of the Hotel, could read my review , remark.
Castro hotel is a beautiful place situated in Kamari not far really next to the airport and not far from the beach.
We arrived last 6th August in the morning and we left the 13th august.
We have found a familiar place tidy and clean.
Rooms are lovely and well keaped, breakfast is continental and you could find fruits, cakes, greek yougurth, bread with jams and honey or cheese and ham...really rich of everything!
The price of your stay is really competitive!!
They offer for your coming there, a bottle of sweet and scented handmade wine, produced by the man of the family.
You will feel at home..but with a spectacular frame of SANTORINI!!
My advice?going to Castro Hotel! :-))
Bye bye to everybody! Laura & Daniela From Piacenza(Italy)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Hotel Castro is away from the crowds and still within easy walking distance to the lot. Very clean, spacious new rooms. The hosts are wonderful and make you feel right at home. Excellent breakfast with produce right from the own garden. The welcome bottle of wine from the own vineyard is excellent and wants you bring back home a bottle. Very recommendable and we'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gschwager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I just returned from a three week trip to Turkey, Greece and Spain. I took a group of 43 persons and our 5 day stay at the Castro Hotel was definitely the highlight of our trip. This family run property is pristine and the family takes tremendous pride in making sure that their guests are well taken care of. From the impeccably clean rooms and hotel grounds to the home made breakfasts which the family makes from products from their own small farm. No detail is missed. In all my years of arranging small tour groups I have never run across a hotel run like this. If you are going to be visiting Santorini in the future, do yourself a favor and stay at the Castro. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HattrickBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0 mi away
Horizon Resort
Horizon Resort
#15 of 75 in Kamari
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acqua Vatos Hotel
Acqua Vatos Hotel
#28 of 75 in Kamari
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#20 of 75 in Kamari
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#36 of 75 in Kamari
394 reviews
0 mi away
Santa Elena Hotel
Santa Elena Hotel
#19 of 75 in Kamari
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#8 of 75 in Kamari
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castro Hotel Kamari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castro Hotel Kamari

Address: Kamari, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Price Range: $225 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castro Hotel Kamari 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes walk from the beautiful black beach of Kamari located Hotel Castro. It is a traditional, family-owned hotel, ideal for relaxation. Located on the east side of the island, the ideal place to see from the balcony of your room the magnificent sunrise from the sea. All rooms are clean and equipped with all modern amenities you may require, including air conditioning and free wireless internet. All rooms have private balconies with magnificent sea views, garden and pool. The outdoor swimming pool surrounded by tropical garden and swimming pool for children will give you beautiful moments of relaxation under the warm Mediterranean sun. In the evenings you can either create your own nights at the barbeque area of the hotel or take a stroll to the cosmopolitan beach of Kamari which is full of traditional restaurants, cafes, bars, shops and outdoor cinema. There is a car and motorbike rental service available at the hotel for guests who want to explore the magnificent island of Santorini further. A bus stop is located just 100 metres from the hotel, for guests who prefer to use public transport around the island. After a days exploration, the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel creates the perfect setting to revitalize and to spend unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Castro Hotel Kamari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castro Hotel Kamari Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing