We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Born in the wrong country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites
Ranked #74 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Born in the wrong country”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just returned from a week all inclusive at this hotel, what a shame I was born in the u.k as the only guests that were welcome in this hotel were Russian. The food was catered only for them as they will eat anything,there were only 6 people from the u.k staying there,Thomas Cook should take this hotel out of the british market and give it over to the Russians. The animation
team only spoke Russian. Having paid for all inclusive we ate out every night which made an expensive holiday even more expensive. The bar area consisted of 3 tables and 6 chairs,and the terrace needs money spent on it everything looks very tired.Save your well earned money and book another hotel on this lovely island.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cerri444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    89
    73
    55
    77
See reviews for
49
193
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This Hotel has the genuine old feel of Greece (so, not everything's perfect ! LOL).
The position is terrific and don't worry about the planes overhead; this is an entertainment.
Outstanding, wonderful staff and management; couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay.
Thoroughly recommend this hotel for value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which had a balcony with an excellent wrap-around view and was spacious. The Bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Well where do I start? As per last review from Debbie the hotel does not deserve any recognition as an adult friendly, or even any British family hotel. My and my husband arrived at 10pm on our honeymoon to be escorted to our room through a communal social area of 'kids with no manners'...our room was up a dark n unwelcoming stairwell into a dreary room with a sea view through the tiniest of windows (no lovely balcony as advised on booking) and certainly not the standard of room we were expecting!........in fact far from it. Our arrival food was a plate comprising of a slice of stale bread a tomato and a boiled egg......which in the morning came to light of appearing a reasonable meal. The restaurant (how it liked to be called) did not present any food of even the lowest standard of British food, any hot food was cold but to be honest most food at both breakfast and dinner looked in edible. Predominantly this hotel was for the Russians and should by no means be in any UK travel agents approval. Moving on.....on being moved to the most deluxe room of the hotel after the first night, we found that: 1) the sheets to our bed barely covered the mattress 2) if you stayed in the shower for more than 2 minutes it did not drain and you flooded the room 3) only two of the three plug sockets worked 4) you had to break your neck in looking out of said balcony at almost 90 degrees to see the sea. At this point it became evident that in terms of the hotel the only bonus it had was the airport being on the doorstep and the low flying planes being something to focus on away from the 'hotel'......no not 'hotel' more like a hostel to stay in. In a nutshell please please if u are British and have booked this hotel, change your booking to one of the other amazing locations within Kamari!

Room Tip: Room elsewhere - don't let it ruin your holiday like it could of ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kamari hotels

Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just returned from a week of feeling neglected staying at this hotel, the guests are predominantly Russian and therefore the hotel caters for them, the handful of british guests resorted to eating out rather than eat the repetitive, poor quality food served at dinner. The word "restaurant" should not be used to described the canteen masquerading as such. This hotel is described as adult friendly in the brochure but there are no facilities for adults apart from a tin hut near the beach also masquerading as a bar. We were half board when all the Russian guests were All Inc so were treated as 2nd class citizens, we were told not to drink the tap water but were told off for filling our water bottle from the dispenser as half board guests have to pay .50cents for a small plastic cup of water. !!!! Also there is a kids club for all the ?Russian children so again not exactly adult friendly. No sea view as promised, table and chairs on a shared landing supposed to be private balcony or verandah. Air conditioning vent pouring water on said landing so paddling out of the door. smelly drains. just a few of the issues we had. stay here at your peril !!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else in Kamari !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

l have just returned from a 1 week stay with a couple of friends at Thalassa all inclusive. Hotel very clean, staff excellent and always friendly and helpful. As an aircraft enthusiast the position gave some fantastic photos of aircraft landing ( only a handful a day ) as the flight path is right over the hotel. The reception staff were informative, helpful and available at all hours. The pool was clean and well maintained. The two problems we would highlight were the maintenance of the rooms - poor to non existent. Our room telephone failed to function for our stay and the floor drain cover in the wet room style bathroom was broken and remained so. Out friends were unable to get the air-conditioning unit in their room to work. The major complaint which was taken up with the Management was the food. Although plentiful, it was always cold or just warm and the lunch and dinner were minor variations of each other, in which chicken wings and fish fillets with a different sauce featured large. There was always a pasta dish, again with a different sauce and pork cubes/meat balls. The temperature was at best just warm and unless you arrived at the start of the meal times it just got cooler. After the management were contacted, and a large group of French and Russian tourists arrived, things did improve. Heaters were provided for some of the serving trays, but the plates remained cold so cooling the food. There was also a noticeable improvement in the variety of the meals. This was an enjoyable holiday, spoilt somewhat by the food. There are plenty of local restaurants within 300 - 400 meters walk and prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: Try for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PW115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just back this morning from a two week stay at Thalassa hotel Kamari, Before going to the hotel we had read some very negative reviews and had mixed feelings about our holiday choice. We were more than pleasantly surprised when we saw the hotel, the pool area overlooking the beach was by far the most beautiful in Kamari.The sunbeds were plentiful with clean beach towels at the ready every day. An extra added bonus is the beach area just a step down from the hotels beach bar, stunning view to say the least!! Yes the hotel is one of the older ones but had been freshly painted and was spotlessly clean. Cannot understand why some people think the age of the hotel is a negative! The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh white towels aplenty. There were planes flying overhead at times admittedly but did not cause any problems for anyone and the hotel is on the flight path to the airport. What should we expect? The staff were exceptional and would do any thing to ensure the guests were happy, Olga on reception was both friendly and efficient, Yannis the chef cooked us seafood to die for, a special thanks should go to Agatha, Illias, Apostolis, Nasos and little Yasmine who is a joy with her beaming smile. The hotel manager Nita was available throughout and made a point of getting to know the guests which was a lovely personal touch. To give a balanced honest review I must say that there were a few issues in the first week with the food but when brought to the attention of the staff they did everything they could to rectify the problems. Go and try there yourselves you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor, they have huge balconies with great views overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The fact that the hotel is basically at the end of the airport runway was not the important issue with this hotel. After a it we all tuned the sounds out and we found we were not woken by the noise....earplugs help. The major issue is that this hotel is quite old and in need of repair. Paint will not do the job. The staff was wonderful and we felt sorry for them at times because we really did have to notify them about the running toilets and no hot water, etc. Our room was very large, but we did refuse the first rooms they assigned us because of the smell. The rooms in the main building we were given were better, although there is no soundproofing from the hallways. The breakfast was just average. We ate one dinner at the hotel and it was quite good. At both lunch and dinner they offer only a 3 course set menu, so they lose a lot of customers who might only want a light meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4travelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.0 mi away
Sigalas Hotel
Sigalas Hotel
#27 of 75 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#9 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#19 of 75 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.0 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#30 of 75 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santorini Crystal Blue Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites

Property: Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites
Address: Perivolos Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kamari
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Sea Side Resort And Suites
Thalassa Sea Side Hotel Kamari
Thalassa Sea Side Kamari
Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing