We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites
Ranked #76 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Value for money!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We booked this hotel 3 days before arriving, because there was a problem with our reservation at the Kamari beach hotel.

From the time we checked in, they made as feel welcome! Mimoza you were very friendly and helpful and helped us with all our concerns.
Agata, at the breakfast, was so helpful and never looked tired, although she must have been after the season. Was always ready for a laugh and chat.
Fotini, you are great, and told me so much about Greece and the people,
Grigoria, thank u for keeping me company when I was sitting in the lobby at night or when I came back in the early morning hours. Thank u for making all the calls to our airline and try to help us with the flight schedule changes.

This hotel is not on Kamari, but only about 5min walk, which is ok. The rooms and bathrooms are not great, but the pool and surroundings are beautiful. Breakfast is also wonderful.

I cant understand some of the bad reviews of this hotel, we came as guests and leave as family!!!
Thank you, will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaritzaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    86
    72
    53
    77
See reviews for
46
189
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of what we thought was a great Groupon deal. However, on arrival it was clear this was no 4 star hotel. The rooms were standard Greek holiday types and the bathrooms smaller than my shed. If on the toilet you'd have the shower curtains to contend with for example.
They say they supply towels for beach and pool. 2 days on the spin, no towels available, I queried this with reception to which the reply was we could use the towels from our room... the towels which were wet after our shower. This actually done us a favour as we decided not to bother with the hotel for the rest of our week and walked the 10 minutes into Kamari beach every day and had a better trip than expected.
This hotel isn't near anything apart from the airport and if you enjoy waking up every night thinking a plane is going to enter your room then this place is for you.
We also attempted to eat dinner here for the first night but ended up standing in the restaurant hoping to be seated for 10 minutes before giving up.
The breakfast in the morning was terrible and not sure who they are catering for. I had breakfast zero days here and my wife 3... and she always has breakfast but even she gave up with soggy bread (toast) and not much else on offer.
You can use the spa and steam room with no fuss so there is a plus!
The marketing team here have done wonders with their photos to make it look impressive, but believe me, I wouldn't stay here again.
We would have left this hotel if we could have got a refund but luckily we stayed the other side of the island week 2 which I've also reviewed. Volcano views

Room Tip: Book somewhere on the beach in Kamari, this is a hotel right next to the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mr_Livers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kamari hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The location is fantastic.The island is stunningly beautiful so make sure you go and explore.The rooms are dated and small and could do with an upgrade.However,this is what you expect from a hotel in Greece.If you are looking for 4star Uk style accommodation then you will have to pay more than this. The hotel has amazing staff who are more than willing to help and find solutions to any problems. For the price,the hotel is great,in a great location offering a good base from which to explore this stunning island! You get exactly what you pay for. Stop moaning and have a fabulous holiday!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank firsttraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have to give a very mixed review of this hotel based on what I expected and what we were given.

We booked a 'Superior Double' room through Groupon and looking at the room pictures on various websites we were expecting a bit of luxury based on the full prices of the rooms.

The initial room we were given basically a dark corridor with 3 single beds, with an outdoor table overlooking the carpark. The bathroom was outdated, had no shower head holder/curtain and broken fan hanging out of the wall. It's pretty obvious that this was not 'superior' to any other room in this supposedly 4 star hotel. After asking for the double bed that we were expecting, we were moved the next day into a room more like what was advertised.

The second bedroom with a sea view, double bed, shared large balcony and slightly modernised bathroom was very nice. I don't understand why we were given such a poor room to begin with. The advertised full price for our initial room was absurd, and I would not even pay the full price on the room we had, given that there are so many options in Kamari at a third of the price.

I'm going to break this down into the Good, Average and the Bad:

Good
The seaside location and pool area are superb
Private booking of the Jacuzzi was relaxing, plus the steam room and sauna were handy
Breakfast was quite nice, as was our included dinner

Average
Seaview rooms
Friendly staff, but a little slow and confused about various things that were included in our package

Bad:
Carpark rooms
You have to fight for beach towels every morning as it was confirmed by staff that there are not enough to go around
No restocking of the single mini-shampoo, soap or shower gel the entire week
Satellite TV must mean 4 fuzzy channels all in Greek
We could not connect to the Wi-fi anywhere in the hotel
Seems way overpriced compared to competitors
You can almost reach out and touch the arriving planes overhead

Overall - I stayed less than 100m down the road for the second part of my trip - I lost out on only the sea view and large pool area, but everything else was on par for much less than half of the Groupon price offered at Thalassa, hence I have no real reason to recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Be clear on what room type you have - and stay away from those at the back of the hotel near the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicky682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I always believed that the camera never lies, but in this instance the pictures used on the web site convey a totally different establishment to what you will see when you arrive. It is a tired old hotel that has not had any investment for years, it is in a good location just generaly run down. The staff in the main try very hard but are fighting a lost cause. On arrival we were put in a very shabby room overlooking the car park dispite complaining we were informed that nothing could be done until the next morning when the Manager would be available, next morning waited an hour to see the Manageress who said she would sort it out and could we come back in a couple of hours which we did and she did then arrange for us to move to a poolside room which we decided we would accept as it was better than what we were in, still old and tired and the shower was not very good. During our stay every time we went through or to reception without fail there was someone asking to be moved as they were in a room they had not booked, it was like listening to a looped tape. The hotel is in desperate need of investment in its Bedrooms, bathrooms and showers, the pool bar is very outdated and was very low on stock, the food that we had there was very good but the waiting time can be very long one, One lunch we waited 1hour and 20 minutes for our food. Overall we loved Santorini it is a beautiful island and will return, however the Thalassa Resort will not be on our list of potential Hotels

Room Tip: Dont use this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l4tja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hi! I am writing this review just to awarn you that this hotel is definetily not a 4 star hotel . I can't understand how they get that category.

The bedroom is not what it looks like on the website, not at all but the worst this is the bathroom. It is so tacky and small and ours was dirty. We had to complain to the manager that our wc was very dirty,it was disgracefull!!!!

The sound of the airplanes is too much. The hotel is very very close to the airport and the planes fly so close, it is actually a bit scary and the noise is extremely loud

The facilities are good though, the swimming pool and the restaurant is very good. Food very good and the best is the staff. The staff of the hotel are so frinedly and nice

I wouldn't recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatriz p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Very nice hotel, great staff. Good location in Kamari, next to the sea, hotel on the beach. Taking swim in big enough, clean swimming pool, eating dinner, having bar – everything on the beach or with undisrupted sea view (2-5 meters away). On the east side of island, so view to sunrise and sun all day. No sunsets, shadow on the pool ca. 1h before sunset on west side, so enough time to get to Fira or Oia to see sunset there (spectacular)
Very quiet location (except of huge planes 10 meters above roof, but it’s not disrupting), only sound of waves. But only 5 minutes walk to Kamari promenade (by street or by beach), it gives plenty of options to discover food, shops, night life – but spend lazy days in quiet place.
Great place to relax and good base to discover Santorini from.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tomasz123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.0 mi away
Sigalas Hotel
Sigalas Hotel
#30 of 77 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
86.1 mi away
Alesahne Beach Hotel
Alesahne Beach Hotel
#38 of 77 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#11 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#21 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites

Property: Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites
Address: Perivolos Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kamari
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Sea Side Hotel Kamari
Thalassa Sea Side Resort And Suites
Thalassa Sea Side Kamari
Thalassa Sea Side Resort & Suites Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing