We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing holiday !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aegean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aegean View Hotel
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What an amazing holiday !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was our first visit to Kamari and what an amazing visit! Firstly the Island of Santorini is amazing, scenic, romantic, mesmorising and moving. Having visited many Greek Islands and lived in Cyprus for some time we have spent many holidays seeking out the best Greek Island and Santorini is the one! However, it has to be said that our holiday/visit would not have been so amazing if we hadn't stayed at The Aegean View. We have stayed in many high quality hotels non of which have come close to this one, it is impeccable. The family who run the hotel were amazing in each and every way. The staff, including our now good friend George, were so helpful, welcoming and friendly, providing an excellent level of service. The Hotel is the cleanest Hotel we have ever stayed in and the food available was very traditional and better than some of the neighbouring restaurants. The family were so welcoming that they taught me how to cook their traditional food. We actually felt like part of the family. The family cooked our favourite Greek dish and we have to say it was the best we have ever tried and believe me we have tried many! The Hotel facilities are excellent and the rooms were fitted with excellent facilities. The Hotel is set back into a mountain which looks stunning during the evening. The beach is a 3 to 5 mins walk where you will find all the restaurants and bars on the beach. The views from this hotel are stunning no matter which room you are staying in. The bus stop is a 2 mins walk and will take you to Fira (the capital) within around 15/20 mins, which is a visit not to be missed. The Hotel is in a superb location. Tassos (the owner) cooks a mean BBQ each week which is a feast fit for a King with the best Souvlaki on the Island. The The Aegean View family and George made our holiday so special, we have met some wonderful Greek friends and are looking forward to many more years of visiting Aegean View! We would definitely grade this hotel as AT LEAST a 4 star.

We miss the Aegean View and Santorini !

Efharisto to the Aegean View
Mat and Toni (Leeds, West Yorks)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    44
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
69
105
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was my second visit to Kamari (the first time I stayed in a different hotel) and I have to say I absolutely loved our stay at the Aegean View Hotel.
The kind, generous and all round lovely people who run the hotel made our stay even more special. We spent mainly a great night chatting with George (the barman) and also saw a lot of Tassos (the owner) - both lovely people and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and comfortable.

The maid came to our room around 1-2pm every day and left our room spotlessly clean and with a wonderful fresh smell and feel. Even really nice little touches from the maid like folding my Fiancée's pyjamas and leaving them on her pillow made each return to our room really nice.

Our room had a fantastic sea view, it was spacious and well furnished. We had a studio room with 3 single beds. The wooden bed frames were a little creaky and the mattresses a little harder than home but still clean, comfortable enough and actually with it being so hot a single bed was perfect so you don't overheat in the night.
The bathroom is a good size with a smaller bath but with a shower that had good pressure both day and night. Hot water was always available - maybe a little cooler if you shower late in an evening but still comfortable. We did use the kitchen facilities on a few occasions, everything worked perfectly, everything was extremely clean and well looked after. Our maid even did our dishes for us which was very kind of her. The refrigerator was a great size, much better than we have had in other hotels, so we could store lots of water, butter, cheese etc. The air conditioning worked brilliantly and we did have a small TV in our room but we didn't really use it.

Our travel rep (whilst booking our holiday) and the brochure itself did advise that the hotel was a few minutes from the beach front. I would say its about a 5 minutes or 10/15 minutes if you are taking your time. The hotel is situated up a small hill (hence how you get the amazing views!) which we didn't find a problem at all. I walked up and down around 4-5 times a day to get bottles of water for our room and supplies from a well stocked supermarket which is a few minutes down the road. 6 bottles of water (9 litres) is 1.50 euros so buying water does not have to be expensive at all. We would cool them over night and then take to the pool during the day.

Kamari is lovely place to stay. The beach front is so chilled out and there is always a great atmosphere. The restaurants do have 1 or 2 people out front asking you to look at their menus but they are always polite and don't bother you to the point of being annoying. We ate a lot at the EANOS restaurant. Fantastic food and lovely people. I would also recommend a trip or two to the Groove Bar (on a side street off the beach front) - again a great place to visit for a drink and lovely people!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Aegean View Hotel and we will most definitely be returning in the future. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Kamari.


I must say, I am completely confused by other low rated reviews of this hotel. I have travelled to Greece alot and compared to the UK the Greek breakfast IS traditionally more basic, the rooms & decor ARE normally quite plain and simple... but then you are in Greece and not the UK so adapt and enjoy!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank H-BEAR16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks in July, we had room 534, it was a superior room with a jacuzzi. Lovely spacious room, double bed, living area, separate kitchenette and large bathroom. This hotel is so relaxed and in such a superb location as you get to see the whole of the beach side of the resort in Kamari, also if you manage to get up early enough then you will see the amazing sun rise, I actually watched the sunrise lying in bed! The hotel offers bed and breakfast, this was very nice, tea, coffee, juice, then choices of cereal, yoghurt, fruit, honey and egg, ham, cheese, tomato, bread, plus you can sit outside and it's a very pleasant way to start the day. The hotel is family run, the owner Dassos is lovely, can't do enough for you to make your stay relaxing, the pool bar mainly ran by George is great, George is a fab bartender, he always makes you feel welcome. The BBQ on a Saturday ran by the owners is well worth going, the food is lovely and the entertainment is great fun. We definitely recommend this hotel and we will certainly be returning. Thank you all for making our holiday great...

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Juzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Reading other reviews I can see why people did give positive comments, i.e the views are great, family run, personal touches, great location. However my experience was somewhat different. I'll start by saying that the owners are really friendly. Tassos I think his name was could not do enough, was constantly working through the day. When you arrive tassos drives down the bottom of the drive to pick up luggage. Rooms were spacious but very empty, was like stepping into a mid 90's time machine. Bath was tiny and shower heads you have to hold whilst you wash. Outside appearance's though we're very cute and chick. Pool is small but adequate enough for resort. They do a Greek night barbeque for everyone which is 20 euro's pp that does not include drinks which we originally told George the barman we would be going to then changed our minds. We thought it was a tad expensive as you could have nice traditional Greek meals for around 7-8 euro's in restaurants. We cancelled the barbecue on the same day and my wife overheard the bar man George bad mouthing customers to other customers regarding people that don't turn up to the bbq. Which I thought was very rude and unprofessional. The restaurants in kamari are superb, not 1 bad meal and very high quality. The volcano trip through the rep is 36 euros, kamari tours does the exact same trip for 30 euros. Rent a car through the rep was 120 per day, they put you into a false sense of security by saying you have to pay 400 Euro excess if you damage a car from one of the local rent a cars. Rent a car from a local buisness was only 40 euro per day and you can pay 5 euro extra to take of the excess which is well worth it. To go on the beach it's 3 euro each sun lounger. The sea was beautiful. Breakfast is probably the most basic I've ever had but tassos will cook you an omelette if you ask. Jacuzzi's are by room upgrade only and are extra 100 per week. sun rise was amazing from our room. (will add photos shortly) overall we had a well deserved holiday, shame about the rooms and staff that feel it's necessary to moan about customers to other customers.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danking85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Spent a week in June here and loved every minute of it ( apart from being pushed over a wall by CH of Farn - see previous review).Our party of 8,all male of varying physical and mental abilities,were accomodated in palatial rooms which were kept impeccably clean,with good showers and lovely views.The staff,Tassos & Giorgios in particular,couldn't have been more helpful. They even organised a taxi every night to collect one of our party who had physical difficulties (ie. he got legless every night) so that he got back safely from town.
Can't wait to go back (but maybe with different company)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank N0rthernB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallarate
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I spent 2 weeks in Santorini with my boyfriend and we stayed at Aegean view.
the staff is really nice, you can write them emails when you are going to book and they will send you all the information you need, they helped me also in booking a motorbike for example.
The hotel is 3 minutes from the beach with the motorbike and 10-15 minutes by walking.
The rooms are big and nice, even if they are not really new.
try to ask to have the room on the top of the structure, so you are not close to the swimming pool and to the noise (that is not a really big noise in any case)
The price is really good as well, compare to many others hotel and studio.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had one week in Santorini and were so please with everything about the Agean view, we will definitely return soon

The Leas

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinva4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.0 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#1 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crown Suites
Crown Suites
#9 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aegean Plaza Hotel
Aegean Plaza Hotel
#26 of 77 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#20 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean View Hotel

Property: Aegean View Hotel
Address: On the way to Ancient Thira, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kamari
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegean View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Aegean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aegean View
Aegean View Kamari
Aegean View Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing