We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with a perfect location !”
Review of Hotel Hippocampus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hippocampus
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good hotel with a perfect location !”
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Very good hotel with a perfect location. Resturants and beach just around the corner. Nice and clean rooms. Beautiful pool-area. But , best of all ! Maria and her fantastic family who always take care of you. Hope really I will se you again !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fam_hagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    59
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
106
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Hippocampus Hotel for nice nights. Its a family run business, each and every member were so friendly and helpful. The hotel is literally a two minute walk from the beach, shops and restaurants.

The rooms are spacious, bright and clean. The beds were super comfortable and the bathrooms were just as high a standard. The pool was big and quiet in the day, plenty of loungers for everyone. The hotel is really pretty and its clear that a lot of love has gone into it by its owners.

I would most certainly here again if I returned to Santorini.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessPoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Me and my wife had been looking for visiting Santorini for a long time and i think i managed to pick the most suitable hotel for us.
Very clean, quiet, relaxing with friendly atmosphere, we managed to chill by the (big) pool beside all those beautiful flowers and trees.
Also, the sea is so close that you walk to it, the people that run the Hippocampus are very cool and friendly and finally there was free wifi internet connection. :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mik1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2010

l stayed at this hotel with my daughter and grandaughter for my other daughters wedding on 16.05.10. We had a wonderful time the rooms had recently been refurbished bathrooms were good, looked like a spa. The pool is quite large and cleaned every day. Lots of shrubs and plants, plenty of sun loungers very relaxed atmosphere great for chilling out. l would certainly like to come back again. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. Breakfast was o.k. certainly plenty for me. No problems with mosquitos or any other insects. Some others in our party stayed in Perissa and were bitten quite badly. l would say this hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daddiesdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2010

May in Santorini!!!

The best period.We were excited with our reservation to Hippocampus!Renovated, good spot!
Our double room was very clean, nice decorated (wallpaintings),perfect big beds,modern bathrooms with hot water all the time!!!
The breakfast was really good, in the yard,friendly and helpfull staff.
Huge , clean pool with lots of trees and flowers surrounded lying there all day.... Only two min walk to the beach.Lots of restaurants and shops.
Kamari is the best place to stay,close to everything.Thank you Toula and Tasos.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

I stayed in this hotel at the beginning of may 2010. Hotel was really nice and clean, as I understood the hotel was just renovated and looked just beautiful. Hotel service was frendly and nice. The location was perfect beacause the sea was 100 m from the hotel, and supermarket over the corner. The promenade was next to the hotel and there were lot of restaurants and bars.

I recomend this hotel to everyone,
Larisa

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larisalepik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2010

After an absolutely lovely experience at Hippocampus last September, we have found renovated rooms, with everything new, nice modern bathrooms, comfortable bed! Many thankies to Maria, her mom and papa for everything!!! If you consider Santorini one of the most wonderful places, our friends makes of Hippocampus a perfect piece of this island.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucianvtlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.1 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#4 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#9 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#14 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 39 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#3 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hippocampus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hippocampus

Property: Hotel Hippocampus
Address: Main Street, Kamari 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#8 Family Hotel in Kamari
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hippocampus 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Kamari, 50m away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Santorini lies our hotel. Rooms tastefully-decorated, fully-equipped (a/c, fridge, safebox, hair dryer), buffet breakfast, big pool, garden, private parking, internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hippocampus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hippocampus Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing