We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still my favorite Hotel in Kamari”
Review of Hotel Hippocampus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hippocampus
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still my favorite Hotel in Kamari”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Still my favorite Hotel in Kamari. And now with new reception , new breakfast area and also a new and nice bar. But best of all !! The same old staff who always take care of you in best world class way. Get you feeling like being home , even if you are far away !!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fam_hagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    59
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
105
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Can not recommend this hotel enough .The family run hotel is excellent and spotlessly clean only 1 min from the beach and many restaurants . Every member of staff in this hotel can't do enough for you and make you feel very welcome the minute you arrive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grove F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

It's not in front of the beach like most of the hotels in Kamari but it won't take you more then 2 min to get there. Staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast included and the room was big and very nice. We stayed 5 nights. Nothing to complain about it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paulo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and small hotel next to ocean. Everything you need is near. Just remember ear plugs because of Airport and thin walls :) We spend one week here but noise was littlebit disturbing after 23:00. There is small pharmacy near where you can find ear plugs if needed. Breakfast is ok.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarkko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We are currently in kamari and can't recommend this hotel enough .The family run hotel is excellent and spotlessly clean only 1 min from the beach and many restaurants .
Every member of staff in this hotel can't do enough for you and make you feel very welcome the minute you arrive we are already planning our next trip here .

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My boyfriend and i spent a few days at Hippocampus hotel in Kamari and had a great time! It is just a two minute walk from the beach, set back in its own beautiful gardens with a lovely swimming pool. The rooms are clean and have everything you need, but our balcony view wasn't that great. We didn't spend a lot of time on there so this wasn't too much of an issue. The breakfast was a good selection and the lady that ran the hotel was lovely and helpful.

We came to Kamari as we wanted to chill on a beach and the location of this hotel was perfect for that. There's a great selection of restaurants and bars to choose from along the beach too. All in all, it was a lovely stay and we'd recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyChocChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for 15 nights in August with my husband and son. Room a little cramped as we had to put in an extra single bed but spotlessly clean and air con (free) worked a treat! The included breakfast was plentiful and the staff went out of their way to accomodate and iron out any wrinkles. Would recommend as a base for exploring Santorini. Kamari beach is a 2 minute walk away along with plenty of shops and restaurants. Would definitely recommend eating in Fira - the sunsets are amazing and we didn't have a bad meal even with a fussy 9 year old. We will be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.1 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#3 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#9 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#13 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 39 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hippocampus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hippocampus

Property: Hotel Hippocampus
Address: Main Street, Kamari 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#8 Family Hotel in Kamari
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hippocampus 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Kamari, 50m away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Santorini lies our hotel. Rooms tastefully-decorated, fully-equipped (a/c, fridge, safebox, hair dryer), buffet breakfast, big pool, garden, private parking, internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hippocampus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hippocampus Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing