We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Hippocampus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hippocampus
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have just had 4 nights here last week 9th to 13th July. it was an excellent choice after reading the reviews from other guests who had previously stayed there and i wasn't dissapointed. we had 2 double rooms on the first floor. both air/con, the bathrooms were very modern. excellent water pressure. t.v in rooms which can get the BBC World news. not a bad size fridge in the rooms. bed linen was changed daily along with the towels,.good lighting also in the room and bathroom.the breakfast started at 8am to 10am. but most times it was ready for you to help yourself about 7.45am.. 2 selections of cereals, selection of herbal n' normal teas, jucies, lovely soft fresh natural yogurt, bowls of fresh fruit of sliced peaches, water melon,or mixed fresh fruit which was varied each day. jar of honey also to pour over the fresh yogurt.. hmmm..selection of freshly cut crusty brown n white bread,with different jams.. selection of cold sliced meats and cheese, boiled eggs with holders. it wasn't to much or to little!!.. it filled me up until late afternoon. ALL the staff were excellent towards us. nothing was to much bother for them to help us out. they can organise car or bike rentals for you which they kindly done for me and the rates were the same as if i went and looked around the shops myself. and the rental company even delivered the car at the hotel at 7,30pm so we could get going early the next day. we left it in the car park like i was told to, and to leave the keys under the seat for them to collect later the next evening at 7.30pm..got charged 38 euros, group A car, plus extra 9 euros (optional) for the full insurance. plus i put in 13 euros in the tank for fuel for our day travelling around santorini. the swimming pool and garden areas were very very clean.. shower was at poolside to SHOWER yourself !! before entering the pool so not to put your body fluids into the pool. i did not see many of the guests do this.. couple of the young guys playing on the pool last week kept clearing their noses while in the pool,, i did mention this to them about not being very hygenic,SO! PLEASE SHOWER BEFORE YOU ENTER THE POOL. and you wont come down with other peoples virus and germs. THANKS... My friend was staying at the Kamari Beach Hotel along the beach.. he was NOT happy with his room. it was smelly from the toilet area and the room wasn't that great. i showed him my room at the Hippocampus. and he said that my room was 100% better then his one.... book carefully!. believe me.. this is a lovely quiet hotel, 50meters from the beach, near the publc car park.. and it has a lovely taverna across the road on the corner which serves lovely 'Gyros' and other greek food.. with a nice cold Mythos beer to have. I would go back to the Hippocampus ASAP. Great Stay...

Room Tip: we got rooms on the first floor. one overlooked the back towards the beach but never seen much becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muttley0758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 268 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great and Really friendly Staff! Excellent Location next to the beach. Next to the Restaurants which can be found on the beach in Kamari, close by also the Supermarket and Bus Stop. As well the Car rental service and Lunch places.
Nice Pool area despite they didn't have kid's pool.

Definitely worth to check and Best Value for Money!

Room Tip: Family Studio for 4 people was Great and really value for money! Just recently renovated with nice b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in the hotel one week in July. The hotel was small and really clean. Our room was by the pool on the first floor. The staff is very kind and helpful. The "morning coffee" is more like small breakfast. Price vs. quality is perfect.

The shower water was warm and hot as I like. The location was perfect: the beach was near (100 m) and the hotel was in the middle of everything. Still, quiet and nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnimariaFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We arrived very early in the morning at Hippocampus only to be greeted quickly after ringing the doorbell once. All staff members were incredibly friendly and sweet. We got our hotel key and went to our rooms which were spacious, clean, and felt like a breath of fresh air. Breakfast was delicious; there were assorted cookies, marble cakes, hardboiled eggs, tomatoes, cucumbers, breads, cereal, juices, milk, yogurt, and more. The location is perfection, super close to mini-markets, the bus stop, and the beautiful seashore. It's a very cute, picturesque hotel with an amazing pool. Highly recommended.

We also booked an Oia sunset/hot springs/volcano boat tour (with delicious buffet dinner included) through the hotel and that was very well worth it. They pick you up right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Good location, great breakfast! Most rooms are renovated but also some older rooms facing the swimming pool which is nice. Cleanesr hotel room I have ever had.
Near hotel by the beach, excellent greek food gourmet restaurant * Nichteri * definitely worth trying!! absolutely delicious.
Oppposite hotel is a family restaurant were we had greek salad + 2 moussakas + 0,5 l local wine total bill was 17€. And it was easy to pick up e.g. pita bread filled with salad, chicken and french fries lunch pnly for 2,5€.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shems4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Very nice hotel with a perfect location in Kamari village and only twenty minutes from airport. Two minutes walk to beach and restaurants. New renovated rooms , very good beds and fantatic nice and modern bathrooms ! Flatscreen-TV , refrigerator and aircontition in all rooms. Soundproof windows and doors make the rooms very quiet when you will sleep. Nice pool-area with umbrellas and sunbeds. Transfer service to airport if you contact the hotel. But best of all ... " The staff " !! Most great people I ever meet ... Highly recommend this hotel ... If you will visit Santorini and Kamari ..

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fam_hagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay at the Hippocampus Hotel on September, 2011. Very clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and great location. The beach is only a short walk away and so are the many shops and restaurants. Everything is located within a short walking distance from the hotel, including mini-markets, beauty shops, gift shops, etc.

A bus stop is located near the hotel and it takes only 12 minutes to reach Thira, the capital of the island. We did not rent a car because there was no need for it.

A special "thank you" to the proprietors and their staff for making our 8-day vacation a happy and memorable experience. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were spacious, clean, and well-appointed. The mattresses and pillows are the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#19 of 75 in Kamari
431 reviews
0 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#8 of 75 in Kamari
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#16 of 75 in Kamari
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
390 reviews
2.3 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hippocampus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hippocampus

Address: Main Street, Kamari 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kamari
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: $79 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hippocampus 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Kamari, 50m away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Santorini lies our hotel. Rooms tastefully-decorated, fully-equipped (a/c, fridge, safebox, hair dryer), buffet breakfast, big pool, garden, private parking, internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hippocampus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hippocampus Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing