We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atalos Apartments & Suites
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a small family run hotel, basic super clean accommodation . Husband and wife team. Jannis provided transfers from airport and to port, he took us to a beautiful winery to watch the sunset, nothing was too much trouble. Sheets and towels changed every day. Breakfast was simple bread cereal juice etc, and lovely to sit by the pool area each morning. It's a 5minute walk to the beach and there's a car hire shop beside the hotel. We cannot express how much we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere here it was like staying with family and if we ever visit santorini again we will definitely stay at Atalos Villas. We were given a gift on departure. The pool area was lovely and relaxing. Only great things to say about our stay, we recommend this hotel for anyone wanting inexpensive clean convenient accommodation

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stepho64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    121
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
139
364
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Myself and my wife came to santorini for a friends wedding and chose Atalos villas by reading reviews.I dont book a holiday unless the majority of reviews are positive,and i am pleased to say that the reviews were understated because we found it even better than expected.Giannis and his wife Irina were always on hand to take care of any problems you might have.The hotel was in a quiet area but close enough to kamaris main shopping and eating areas [5 min walk].The villas were clean and tidy,with the rooms cleaned and bed linen changed each day.The a/c was free and with the summer heat very welcome.I can thoroughly recommend the Atalos for families and couples.

Room Tip: if you like a lot of space choose a family room which are about twice the size of the basic rooms bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked here for a friends wedding. There were quite a few of us (47) all staying in different parts of Kamari. My friends and I picked Atalos villas. Have to say weren't disappointed. I had quite a lot of correspondence with the owner/manager. As booked apartment and flights separately. A very polite helpful man. His family run the apartments and they were all a pleasure. helpful and willing. When I first got in touch to enquire I was told I didn't need to pay until arrival or departure! This of course initially made me nervous as to whether I would have a room waiting for me on arrival. I did :)
We emailed as requested the night before with flight details and we were met at the airport (no waiting) and taken straight to the apartments. We were given a courtesy fresh orange juice, along with a map and directions of the nearest supermarket and where the beach was ( 2 mins walk away) if that. Then we were taken to our rooms. I shared with my 2 friends. It was basic but super clean and fresh. We had all we needed and more. A little hob, (never used) found the food and restaurants in Kamari to be fresh delicious and not over priced. We had a kettle utensils washing up liquid toilet rolls. Hair-dryer and air con and a safe. What more do you need :)) Fresh towels every other day and bedding. Cleaned apartment every day. Great bathroom. Shower was powerful enough and water always hot, Bathroom door didn't lock but closed efficiently enough. Iron and board were provided at request. Pool and poolside were lovely clean and continental breakfast was always fresh and ample. We did find an Irish bar round the corner which did a very tasty full English when only a full English with do. The price we payed included the transfer to and from the airport. And any excursions were also available to book with the manager to. (highly recommend the volcano hot springs and sunset) great adventure, Donkey rides not for faint hearted but great fun!
As I said we had lots of friends stay in different hotels/apartments in Kamari. Some higher star ranked and pricier some along the beach, For what we wanted we picked the right place. Would I stay and Atalos villas and apartments again? absolutely! Kamari is Beautiful place not yet spoilt. Friendly people. Delicious food. And lots of fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likeitspotless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were guests from August 2nd - 9th. We were picked up at the airport by the management, despite arriving at 2 a.m! We stayed in room nr 1 which is in the ground floor near the main entrance. The room, consisting of a master bedroom, entrance with bed for one, kitchen (with small kitchenette and refrigerator) and bathroom, was spacious and impeccably clean. From the veranda, there is an ocean view despite the hotel being 800 metres from the beachfront. The staff were very friendly, happy to offer any advice and assisted us with car rental at a decent price. The swimmingpool is a good alternative to the rocky black stone beach of Kamari. The breakfast cost 5 euro pr. person, but could perhaps be a little bit more varied. The room's kitchenware was perhaps a little too basic for making a decent dinner. All in all, we feel that Atalos was very good value for money with a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere with a good mix of families and couples. We have no reservations recommending it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RasmusDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Excellent experience, the owners picked us up at the bus station in Thira, showed us around in Kamari before bringing us to the hotel. We stayed 2 nights in a studio, recently renovated, beautiful, spacious room by the pool, bathroom in very good condition, but what we will remember is the warmth and the hospitality of Jannis, who even drove us to the airport at 5.30 am! Thanks and all the best!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emanuele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Have just returned from 11 nights at Atalos Villas which is ideally situated close to the beach,restaurants and bars.This a a good base for exploring the island with easy access to local transport.
The rooms are very clean with daily change of linen and towels.There are some thoughtful touches in the room provided by the hotel ie a small supply of tea and coffee.
The service provided by all the staff is first rate.
The hotel owner,Giannis & his family go out of their way to ensure every single guest has a marvellous stay,providing seamless transport from the airport,information on excusions and even taking us to Santorini Winery at his own cost.
A thoroughly enjoyable relaxing stay at Atalos Villas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just got back from 2 weeks at Atalos Villas and we had a fab time. My husband and I travelled with our 2 children aged 3 and 8 months, and other family members (we were there for a family wedding).

The hotel is perfectly situated at the airport end of Kamari, in a quiet location but 5 mins walk from the beach and sea front restaurants etc.

The pool area was very nice, always sunbeds available and it was usually very quiet despite being high season - probably due to he beach being so close.

The first 3 days of our trip were during the power cut so not the best start, but Giannis did his best to help us all out, including finding a rare bottle of fresh milk which he offered to us for the baby. He also kitted us out with candles and lighters.

He also drove us (and lots of other guests) to the stunning Santos Winery to watch the annual fireworks display on the volcano. I think he had to make several round trips to get everyone there and back and he wouldn't accept any payment from us.

I have to be honest and say we were disappointed with our room when we arrived. However Giannis moved us as soon as he could (3 days in), and my disappointment was largely due to me having misunderstood the description of the room I had booked.

I had booked a "2 room apartment" which I wrongly assumed would consist of a bedroom and a living area/kitchenette with a sofabed. This was important to us because we wanted a separate room for us to relax in after the children had gone to sleep. The room we were allocated had all 4 of us sleeping in the same room (a double, single and travel cot). The second room was tiny with a kitchenette (sink and fridge) in one corner, an integral shower room and a very small wooden table, It was more like a hall/porch and there was nowhere we could sit comfortably. As I said, Giannis did move us to another apartment which had 2 large rooms - one bedroom for the children and another room with a double bed, kitchenette and sofa. It was perfect and much more what I had expected for the price. We also had a balcony and a terrace area we shared with the apartment next door (conveniently belonging to my husband's parents) where we ate our breakfast and lunch.

We didn't have the hotel breakfast as we preferred to make our own.

Apart from the room issue, my only other negative is that the pool bar was often unmanned/ closed and there were many times that we wanted a drink while we were around the pool or when we returned from dinner, but couldn't find anyone to serve us one!

General points about Kamari/Santorini:

Don't rely on taxis. There are only 30 odd on the whole island and we and other members of our wedding group found ourselves stranded at times because there were no taxis available. We braved the bus once to go to Fira, it was absolutely packed. We squeezed on but no-one offered us a seat for the baby and as the bus pulled away after we boarded, my husband was vicariously balanced on the bottom step hanging out the door while holding our 8 month old daughter!

We also braved the water taxi to go to Perissa to the waterpark. Again, not ideal for the family, we had to wait 40 minutes for it to come, then to get on the boat we had to wade out to thigh high water (very difficult to stand up on the stones) and climb up. Getting the kids and the pushchair on was quite a feat and again, the waiting would-be passengers rushed to get on in front of us, meaning we only just squeezed on and had to sit in direct sunlight with the baby as all the shaded seats had been taken.

The waterpark was really small - I have stayed in Spanish hotels with bigger swimming pool areas. But it was quiet, good value and the kids loved the splash pool and mini slides. Food was ok too.

There are lots of restaurants in Kamari and we went to about 14 of them during our stay. The food was pretty similar at each one, very nice with main courses ranging from €10-€20 in general. Drinks in restaurants and bars were really expensive (albeit much stronger than UK measures). Spirit + mixer was about €7 and cocktails more like €9-10. It was cheaper than other parts of the island we visited though.

There are lots of supermarkets although we only found 1 which sold nappies and none that sold any kind of baby formula - so travel prepared.

We would probably not have chosen Santorini for our holiday if it weren't for the wedding as it is not known for being a very child-friendly destination. But we had a great time. The locals really love children and the regular low flying planes overhead provided no end of entertainment for our 3 year old transport-mad son!

If we ever go back we would probably stay at Atalos again, although I would be sure to clarify exactly what type of apartment I had booked beforehand. My husband's aunt and uncle have already enquired about returning next year.

Room Tip: Clarify with the owner exactly what you have booked as I think that rooms with the same price/descri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
2.0 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.7 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#4 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
2.6 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#3 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atalos Apartments & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atalos Apartments & Suites

Property: Atalos Apartments & Suites
Address: Kamari 84700 , Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kamari
#7 Family Hotel in Kamari
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atalos Apartments & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atalos Apartments & Suites is located just 200 meters from Kamari beach and has 23 Apartments, Suites and Studios with a pool, snack bar and Jacuzzi. Free transfer from and to the Airport are available on request. Atalos Apartments & Suites is a family owned hotel run by Yiannis, Charalambia and Christopher. Is family business where everyone can find the Greek hospitality. Atalos Apartments & Suites is the ideal choice for family holidays offering different suites and two rooms apartments, all fully furnished in the traditional Island style and equipped to offer you every comfort during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atalos Apartments & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atalos Villas Hotel Kamari
Atalos Hotel Kamari
Atalos Apartments & Suites Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing