We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel with a beautiful view !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Epavlis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Epavlis Hotel
Ranked #33 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with a beautiful view !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Nice hotel with a beautiful view ! The hotel are only four years old so everythins is very fresh. Exciting architecture ! Rooms are clean and silence. Beds maybe a little bit "hard" but i have travel a lot in Grecce and , almost the beds are "harder" then this. The breakfast was mediocre. Not good but not "bad". Epavlis location is "on the rock side" about five minutes walk from the "beach". not so central. Then the beach in Kamari not is the "best" we visit , we prefer the pool in the hotel. The pool was clean with a fantastic view against the sea. Minus was the "hard" wind comming from the "rockside" ! Nice if its very hot but ..... ! The only problem we have with the hotel was a "messy" booking. When I will get by booking confirmd , the saff told me that the rooms we booked not are available. We will be upgrade to rooms with seaview and also pay for this ?? Of caurse I dont accept this and after a short discussion we got two rooms with seaview without paying any more ! Huummm !! Otherwise the staff was very friendly and helpful. The day we leave we could keep the rooms until 14:00 and after that we are welcome to eat our "own" sandwich in the bar-area. The staff also arrange the transport to the airport. Five people by minibus for 20 Euro. Recommend this hotel if you travel with your partner or with teenagers. If you have small children I dont think this is a good choise. To far away from the beach and no children pool in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fam_hagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    111
    27
    15
    15
See reviews for
55
219
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

I have to start by saying I have no idea what all of these good reviews are about. I just recently stayed at the Epavlis Hotel for 2 nights and needless to say I would never return. From beginning to end, this hotel is anything but accommodating or helpful.

Firstly, the hotel offers no shuttle service to the hotel, and okay, normally this isn't a big deal, but the fact that the hotel is on top of a big hill, without a paved path, with absolutely no street lighting, makes it a big deal. When we did get there finally, the lady at the front desk, the hotel owner, was seriously moody. No greeting, no welcome, nothing. I find it hard to believe from reading the other reviews about this hotel saying the service is friendly, that they are talking about the same staff. Not to mention, the other girl working the front desk was practically useless, she hardly spoke good English and every time we spoke to her she continually said I have to ask my boss.

On the outside, the hotel looks nice and the photos from the website are very deceiving. This hotel has a very uncomfortable feeling with dated bed and bath decor. In addition, the beds were as hard as a rocks. Also, the bathroom isn't exactly functional with a leaking bathtub that leaves the floor almost flooded. This combined with a foul sewage stench makes your stay even more unpleasant.

Epavlis says they offer free internet access as well as wifi by the pool however this service didn't even work for half the time we were there. When asking the useless front desk girl about it she suggested we try again later, so we did and then she told us to walk into town and use the internet cafe.

The breakfast that this hotel offers is not even edible with the exception of the boiled eggs. All of the "hot" breakfast was cold and all food served was low quality and out of a can.

The day we checked out we were told that we could leave our bags in safe keeping and pick them up later when our fairy departed. However, I hardly call putting our own bags in the lobby near the back entrance where guests would walk past safe and secure. When we questioned the safety of our belongings she said don't worry they'll be fine and if you don't like it then you can take them with you. How is this four star service? I've stayed in hostels better than this place.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone and advise you if you want to have a relaxing enjoyable stay, steer clear from this hotel as it might ruin your Santorini experience.

I would advise for first timers to Santorini to stay in the Fira area and if Kamari Beach area is the place you want to stay, there are other hotels that are better located (beach front) and nicer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cutiekatie146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepepp
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

After making an online reservation at the Epavlis hotel web page, the first of august, and receiving the booking confirmation the same day, the hotel communicates us by email, 6 days later, that they do not really have the room available, and they suggest us to upgrade to a better room paying the difference or to look for somewhere else. I really think that this behaviour is almost a fraud. Never in my live a 4 stars hotel has cancelled a reservation this way. Having other type of rooms available, the hotel should have upgraded us, apologizing for the changes, and always respecting their compromise with us. They did not even phoned us to communicate the cancellation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pepepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

We have been to Greece 7 times before and this is the best hotel we ever have been to in the Mediterranean. The service was far beyond what we have experienced before, the cleaning very well done and even the location is very good; a bit outskirts of the town so it is not very much noise, but close enough to town (approx 3 minutes to the beach "strip" / waterfront) to be out in the nightlife and dining places.
This hotel also is a architectural piece of art; a lot of detailed figures, paintings etc make each walk like a "study tour". You will also find the placement of most of rooms and stairs asymmetric so your walks inside the hotel-area will not be boring.

There is also a very nice view, looking out over the sea...
We will highly recoomend this hotel to every couple for a romantic stay!
Probably not the best place when having small kids though ;-)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Badly_Comb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

Me and my girlfriend just came back from a week at Epavlis, and when we left she told me" nexy May we havt to go back to this place and the same hotell" this just about summs it all up!

It lies a cupple of hunderd meters from the sentrer of town, so it is quiet and most of the rooms have a lovely sea view.

It is not a plase for a famlys with a lot of kids, but more a hotell for couples.

It is spotlessly clean, booth outside and inside.

I HIGLY recomend this to other couples!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bajas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marino
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

We were a group of five girls, some young and some a little older that young, and we had a very pleasant stay at the Epavlis in July. The hotel is in a fabulous position about a three minute walk from the beach and promenade where there are many restaurants, bars and shops, and the view from the room was absolutely breathtaking. The hotel is spotless and shines, the rooms are a nice size and the pool area is quiet and from which you have a lovely view of the sea.
We fell in love with Santorini and are planning a repeat visit this summer, and I hope to find accomodations at the Epavlis.
While it's true that the owners are not very outgoing or overly friendly, they provide an immaculate hotel and a decent breakfast. However we managed to have a little conversation with the owners wife., so don't be put off, let's try to keep in mind that it is a family owned hotel and I'm sure that they have a heavy workload. And any way it makes no difference to my vacation if i don't become friendly with the owners.
I highly recommend this hotel and am looking foward to a repeat stay!!

  • Liked — Large room with a beautiful view
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinkie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2008

there is certainly some mixed reviews on the epavlis.what i can say from my stay was the hotel was in a nice location ..it is at the end of the beach or start depending what way your looking at it..just back off the main strip so enjoys a quiet/peaceful area.hotel itself was spotless clean,room was lovely and sea view fantastic...the breakfast was a bit lacking but good enough for a package holiday as you would expect..pool area was very nice.on the small side but then again there is only 40 odd rooms...i would agree with other reviews about the family who own it but not to the extent that they were rude...just a little impersonal but had no problems when asked for certain things...what made up for this was their main pool bar staff ...Dobhi..... who was great craic and very pleasant.seemed to do alot of jobs around the hotel but always had a smile...all in all a very clean nice hotel in a quiet location but still only a stone trow from the beach and main strip

  • Liked — location,,,cleanliness,,,
  • Disliked — breakfast average...hotel staff not overll friendly
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank baz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.4 mi away
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#20 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crown Suites
Crown Suites
#9 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#11 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#19 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epavlis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epavlis Hotel

Property: Epavlis Hotel
Address: Kamari 84 500, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kamari
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Epavlis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a prime location overlooking Kamari bay, this luxurious hotel offers 2 pools including a heated one, and rooms with beautiful views of the bay.All the rooms are fully equipped and include an LCD TV with satellite channels, a fridge and air conditioning. Some rooms also include hot tub bathtubs and DVD players.The Epavlis has its own spa area which features a mini gym, heated pool, as well as hammam and sauna facilities. It is just 150 meters from the beach.The friendly front desk of the Epavlis Hotel operates on a 24-hour basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Epavlis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epavlis Hotel Kamari
Epavlis Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing