We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave”
Review of Epavlis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Epavlis Hotel
Ranked #36 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

What more can I say but ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!!!. My family and myself really didn;t want to come away. The hotel was in a beautiful location, it was up a steep hill but a gentle stroll and it was fine. The views from the hotel when you got there were the best to be seen you would not appreciate the view from a hotel further down. We were made to feel right at home as soon as we arrived. All of the staff and the owners were great and very friendly, they were always on hand and willing to help if there was a problem. The hotel itself was impeccable every day the floors were cleaned, towels and sheets changed. We had the breakfast there every day and were very happy with the selection on offer. This is the first hotel EVER We have been to and found NOTHING to moan about. Kamari itself was beautiful and the sea crystal clear along the beach front there were plenty of restaurants and we had a good meal at everyone we tried (especially the fresh past restaurant can't remeber the name but at night time the chef makes the pasta at the front entrance). We did travel by boat to Perrisa one day the beach is kinder to your feet but the sea is not as nice (the boat that takes you here goes every 40 mins and is 4 euros per person each way) it is a beautiful ride and worth the money. We also went to the North of the Island on a Thomas Cook trip, this was brillaint as we ended in Oia (pronounced ear) for the sunset which is magnificent. We certainly look forward to going back and telling lots of friends about it. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jrose9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 394 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

Highly recommended. Helpful and pleasant personell - if things went wrong they always went out of their way to fix it as best they could.

Shame it's at the top of a hill, jobbigt to walk home from town in +35 heat!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
Thank saintsalive97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed in Epavlis from 17th till 24th June on our honeymoon...
The hotel was amazing, incredibly clean, we had the most romantic view from our balcony... We payed for half-board but we only had breakfast in the hotel, dinner was in restaurant Atmosphere (amazing!)... Breakfast was very good, plentiful buffet and we had nothing to reproach...
Breakfast area on the terrace was romantic, with an amazing view of the sea. Our traveling agent forgot to mention that we were newlyweds but nevertheless we had a gorgeous room with bed with baldachin, amazing view of the sea... The week that we had there was everything we wanted out of our honeymoon and we will certainly come back... :)))

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zejanym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

On the plus side.....
Staff accommodating, on the whole ask for it and if they can help they will eg extra pillows
Pool area small but perfect with free wifi to hop onto
Rooms compact and lovely, housekeeping immaculate.
Views if you ask for a sea view are great. Yes there's a carpark but can't you always find something you don't like in a view?
B&b buffet, adequate and if you dont mind experimenting with local cuisine, fab greek treats!
Set in the town of kamari a lovely greek town still showing signs of it's Greek identity.
Wander out and try Bacchus a traditional Greek taverna. Loved it. Worth a mention.......
The beach is black volcanic shingle, in the heat still feels like the volcano is active. Take some beach shoes
The hotel is on a steep hill plus we had another 90 steps to get to our room. Apparently there is a lift
Due to the mountain immediately to the rear of the hotel, the sun is lost early evening. Wrong side of the island if you're hoping for a sunset.
Overall- lovely

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trixabelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a week at the end of June and really enjoyed our stay.

We had booked a Seaview room which wasn't ready for us on arrival, but we were offered one of the rooms with a jacuzzi pool instead for the first night. Our seaview room was ready for us early the next morning and was absolutely lovely. Nice bright room, reasonable size with plenty storage and hangers. The safe is included in the price and each room has a fridge.
Our room was on the top floor and our view was spectacular!

Breakfast was fine for us, plenty of choice. Obviously better the earlier you get there, it could get a bit busy at times.

Personally, I thought the hotel's location was great. It's set at the end of the beach, at the mountain between Kamari and Perissa. I much preferred this end of Kamari and thought the beach was nicer at this end. It is uphill, but that makes for a nice, peaceful location.

All in all, a lovely, clean, well finished hotel, pleasant staff and we would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jackiepaul61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

My Girlfriend and I stayed here for two weeks between 7th June and 21st June 2011. I can hardly fault our stay and would say overall our time there was excellent!

Our hotel was the last drop off on the Thomas Cook coach and from what we could see from the coach it definitely looked the best.

The rooms were absolutely spotless. The first two nights we stayed in a standard room, which contained a double bed and a single against the far wall. The room had a very nicely sized bathroom which was also extremely clean. For the remainder of our stay we were in a Deluxe room, which had a better view on our balcony and also a private jacuzzi on our balcony area outside the front door. Again, this was all spotless and cleaned daily with sheets and towels replaced every other day.

As for the staff, I'd say that they were all very friendly and helpful. Kathrin, who is on the front desk during the day is very nice and friendly and will gladly help you with any enquiry. The evening staff (either a woman or man) appeared less friendly at the start, but they are still polite and friendly underneath. When we were asked by the woman if we would change rooms to a slightly worse room due to a problem with another client, I was worried she would be moody with us after we refused, but she was still friendly from that point.

The breakfast was very satisfactory and to our needs. There were cereals, juices, breads, spreads and a variety of fruits and hot breakfast items.

As for the internet, it is accessible via WiFi, but we could only get a signal in the reception area where two desktop computers were available free of charge. The pool WiFi wasn't always on, but at the end of the day, we were on holiday so it didn't bother us.

The hotel is indeed up a slight hill and may not be for everyone, but seemed fine for us (24yrs old). The beach front and line of Tavernas is literally about a 5 minute walk maximum.

Overall I would say our stay was very enjoyable and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Kamari.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GarryW1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My mum and I stayed at the hotel for a week 7th-14th june booked with Thomas Cook. Fantastic rooms, very clean, maid service and clean towels everyday. breakfast is buffet style with lots of choice and nice area outside overlooking the sea where you can eat. all staff were very friendly and helpful and could not find fault. only down side for me was the pool area. it is quite small and beds are very cramped and a bit squashed. bit of a walk up the hill about 10 mins to the beach but you get used to it after a couple of days and i wouldnt let it put me off staying here again. nice little gym and spa area but we didnt use the facilities. great hotel would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#18 of 75 in Kamari
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#3 of 75 in Kamari
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#26 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#7 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellonias Villas
Bellonias Villas
#2 of 75 in Kamari
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epavlis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epavlis Hotel

Address: Kamari 84 500, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kamari
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: $90 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Epavlis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a prime location overlooking Kamari bay, this luxurious hotel offers 2 pools including a heated one, and rooms with beautiful views of the bay.All the rooms are fully equipped and include an LCD TV with satellite channels, a fridge and air conditioning. Some rooms also include hot tub bathtubs and DVD players.The Epavlis has its own spa area which features a mini gym, heated pool, as well as hammam and sauna facilities. It is just 150 meters from the beach.The friendly front desk of the Epavlis Hotel operates on a 24-hour basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Epavlis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epavlis Hotel Kamari
Epavlis Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing