We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel near to the beach and restaurants.”
Review of Acqua Vatos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acqua Vatos Hotel
Ranked #23 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel near to the beach and restaurants.”
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights for the first part of our honeymoon in Santorini. When we arrived George met us at the gate and carried ur bags to the room for us! We had only been able to book a double room and not a suite as we had initially wanted to do as we were only staying 3 nights. George explained that the master suite was available for 2 nights and we would then have to move into a double room for the last night. George said that he would move our belongings for us so that we didn't need to!! The master suite was lovely and spacious with a lounge area, bedroom, bathroom and 2 balconies, one overlooking the gardens and one with a slight pool view. The second bedroom was smaller and had a balcony overlooking the gardens. The suite also had a proper shower and bath which prevented the bathroom flooding. The second bathroom was more typically greek and yes, the bathroom did flood!!! George gave us the suite at a lower price also which was good!
The hotel is lovely, as is the big pool and comfortable sunbeds, also the comfy couches and chairs which you can relax and have a beer on! The beer you can buy at the hotel is relatively cheap at around 3 euros for a large bottle, compared to some of the other bars in the area.
At night, it is so romantic as the candles lighting the entrance to the hotel and also in the reception area are lit. Whilst we were there, people were taking photos of the outside of the hotel as it is so pretty with a lovely big pink flowered tree!
Breakfast is continental with fresh pastries, which I am not a big fan of, but which my husband loved! There is indoor area for eating and also a lovely terrace too where you can eat your breakfast.
George and Kate were really helpful on where to go to eat and we even got 10% discount at a restaurant as we said that George had recommended it to us as he eats there too!
When we were moving onto our second destination George booked us a taxi with other guests from the hotel who were going to the same place which made the journey cost less. This was good as the taxi's are expensive in Santorini. George even spoke to nour onward hotel, in greek and explained that we would be there soon and took our bags to the taxi when it arrived.
The hotel is about 5 minutes from the beach and restaurants opposite a gyros shop which is lovely and only 2.50 euros!!!!
The hotel is lovely and very relaxing. If we were to return to Kamari again, then we would not stay anywhere else apart from the Acqua Vatos hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IbizababeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    123
    47
    12
    11
See reviews for
84
456
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

We booked 8 nights in the so called Master suite 108 euros (nearly twice the price of standard room) Faults 1 bathroom is very poor shower floods the floor There was a bath but no plug when we requested one george said "there was a water shortage and it cost 5 euros to fill the bath " mmmmmmm some master suite !!!!!!! 2 The air conditioning didnt work 3 We were given toiletries first day then nothing mmmmmmm. 4 Breakfast no chance of anything hot (cept for coffee) Same every day not much choice.

5 Didnt seem to be any bar serrvice at all during the day . 6 We hired a car 3rd day when arriving back back a car blocking entrance to parking area .Told the car park was reserved for staff and guests were expected 2 public car park down the road .

Good points 1 Given a beer when we arrived nice touch 2 pool area fine pool clean 3 George was helpfull when we decided to leave early (problem not connected with the hotel ) and got us a room at his sis ters hotel (Above Blue) alina was very helpful and the hotel was different class as were the other 2 hotels we stayed (in Perissa 9 muses and Tamarix del mar back in KAMARI (a little more expensive)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grahamggm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, George Tsolakakis - Manager at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2009
Firstly we would like to say it is a pleasure to have the chance to respond to the issues raised by our guests and hope for future visitors the information we provide will be of help. We will do our best to give a response to all points raised.

The first point mentioned was the cost of the master suite in relation to a standard double and the contrast between the 2 rooms in price. The standard double is a room of 16 square meters and has a private bathroom just with shower and 1 balcony. The master suite has the same sized bedroom but with the addition of a second living room space of 18 square meters, 2 balconies a bathroom with bath and shower over the bath, and a small dressing area. The cost as rightly mentioned is less than double the cost of the standard room but with more than double the space and extra facilities.

The second point was that the shower in the bathroom flooded the floor. Had this been said about any of our other rooms we would have readily agreed that this would be an accurate state of affairs. As we are a 3 star hotel our bathrooms are basic and functional and since we feel that the comfort of the bedroom itself is more of a priority to 99% of our guests the renovations that have been undertaken since our acquisition of the hotel 3 and a half years ago have been focused there. However, the shower in this room is over a bath and with a shower curtain so the ONLY way this room could be flooded is if the user didn’t use the shower curtain. Or if they did use it, left it hanging out of the bath thus directing the water onto the floor themselves! The comment with regards to the water situation on the island is accurate. We are an island with NO natural water supply and we do the best to be as environmentally friendly as possible in the hotel. Including, using solar panels for hot water and recycling the little rain water we get on the island. We ask that our guests respect the nature of the island they find themselves on and the corresponding facilities. On the subject of the environment that brings me nicely to the next comment re the air conditioning. The facility in the room is working well and the guests using the room prior to and after the departure of this customer had no problems using it. The only reason for it not working is if the air conditioning unit was on and the windows were open at the same time in the room. Again, to respect the environment and not to aid the contribution of global warming we have circuit breakers in the doors and windows so that our visitors cannot send the heat or cool air from the unit straight out the window! Had any mention of this problem been made we would have gladly gone to the room and shown the guests where the problem lay however, we were not made aware of this.

The point listed as 3 was regarding refills of the toiletries in the room. These are refreshed when the cleaners see that the bottles are empty, not just added to the room everyday as many guests prefer to use their own products. No empty bottles were seen in the room so it was presumed that the guests still had them!

With regards to lack of choice at breakfast I would like to mention the description of our breakfast on our web site is ‘an enriched continental breakfast’ it is not an English cooked breakfast. To give you an idea of what was on offer every morning in our hotel we have:-
4 different types of cereal, 7 different types of fresh meat and cheese, olives, Greek yogurt, honey, 3 different jams, 2 types of fresh bread, 4 different types of pies ( 2 sweet, 2 savory) all baked fresh in the hotel and served hot, 6 different types of fresh fruit served on a platter, hard boiled eggs, 3 different fruit juices, milk, freshly peculated coffee, 5 different types of tea and in addition to which we also serve homemade ham and cheese omelet bake twice a week! We are sorry that this was not an adequate enough choice!

Point 5 was re the bar service this facility is available all day every day. However we do not try to push the guests into spending money in the hotel, we prefer to keep everything very relaxed and go with the assumption that should they require anything, they will ask for it. Information regarding the bar facilities are clearly placed in all the guests rooms in our information books.

The last point was our ‘car park’. The hotel does not, and has never had a car park. We have a garden, which is mostly paved to allow access for our deliveries of stock to the hotel and when necessary is used by the manager to put his car. This area is very small and were 2 cars to be placed there we would not be able to receive any deliveries so to offer a private parking facility for our guests is completely unrealistic and is not and has never been something we have offered within the hotel facilities. It has not, up until now, been a problem however since next to the hotel is a large, free, public car park which is what our guests generally use.

We are very happy that a pleasant stay was had in our new development at above blue suites. However, this and the other hotels mentioned are of a different class. We are 3* family run hotel and all other hotels mentioned were either A class hotels and/or 5* suites. So, really it is not possible to compare accommodation and we would like to add that labeling the 50% extra cost difference between us and Tamarix “a little bit more expensive” is a little bit misleading to visitors trying to compare property price and style.

We hope this has resolved any queries and or questions raised and would be more than happy to provide any further information required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2009

My other half and I stayed here for a week and we could've stayed longer.
The position of the AV is great, just off the beach, on a side road which wasn't too noisy or busy. I need total peace to sleep and had no trouble at all, which was a first for me!
The pool area is lovely and private (unlike those on the beach road) and much larger than some others we saw which were more like splash pools. The pool furniture was good with some shady areas which were welcome even in May.
Breakfast was a relaxed buffet which could be taken outside on the shady patio. Bliss!
There was plenty to choose from: cereals, pastries, breads, ham, cheese, eggs plus juices, tea, coffee. Enough to set you up for the day. Breakfast was 8-11 which allowed plenty of lie-ins and meant that there was no rush with everyone there at once. Very civilised!
All the staff were helpful, discreet and friendly.
Our room was a nice size and cosily furnished. If I have any criticism at all. I would say that the bathroom was a little tired and, yes, the water from the shower went all over the floor, but it wasn't a problem.
The air con was necessary some nights and worked well. And it was free!
You could help yourself to coffee and tea at any time for no charge and I made full use of it, I must say. It was nice to come "home" after a meal out and just sit on the lovely outside seating area with a coffee. I looked forward to that!
Yes, it's not 5* but it's good value for money and a real "home from home".
We really didn't want to leave. I'd like to think that, should we return to Santorini, we would certainly try to stay at the AV.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkgolferBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

The Aqua Vatos is a wonderful place to stay, all around you are suurounded by a stylish decorated exterior and interior. George who owns the hotel with his wife Alina met us when we checked in along with the receptionist Kate who used to be one of the Tompson reps for the area. George and Kate always make you feel welcome and are always prepared to help, from Tavernas to car hire they have all the answers but most importantly they were always happy to help and make you feel welocme. Breakfast was of a continental fashion and with the fresh baked cakes gave the day a nice start, the only little criticism would be that a toaster would have been nice, but other than that all was perfect. We will definately return and have already reccomended the Aqua Vatos to friends and family.
Thank you George and Kate for a memorable stay.
Paul & Carolyn

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eclipse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

This hotel is privately run with 38 or so rooms. As other reviewers have said the owners are nice, approachable and friendly. That’s a good thing but occasionally they can be a little too attentive. It’s good sometimes to be able to just do your own thing and be left to get on with it.
The rooms are small and a little tired. They are also pretty naff. Framed postcards on the walls for example. The bathrooms will be our main memory – for all of the wrong reasons. They are small and “traditional” Greek in style. The showers will flood the floor – and I mean flood!
If you have been to Greece before and you don’t mind all of that then you may actually like the hotel. Apart from the rooms it is finished off with style albeit probably a few years ago. They try hard and at night even light the way back home for you with rows of candlelit lamps leading up to the entrance. There is a fantastic bougainvillea to welcome you as well. The pool area is nice and probably bigger than average. There is a bar but it doesn’t get opened as such – apparently not even in high season. You can still get a drink but have to ask for it at the front desk and then wait for it to turn up. You are better off just stepping outside.
As regards location - the hotel is on a main road. You step out of the gate right onto it. So it’s not great for kids that way. The building next door is a tattoo parlour but it doesn’t intrude on your enjoyment of the hotel. There’s a restaurant/takeaway across the road and lots of tavernas and bars in any direction you want to walk. From all of that you’ll know that Kamari is commercialised – a typical “village” it is not! The beach is almost completely shingle or small pebbles and of course all of it black and very uncomfortable to walk on. If you stay in mid-May as we did then Kamari is actually quiet although I could imagine it being quite lively at other times. The weather was around 27/28 C (high-70's F) in the day but chilly at night.
Santorini itself is the most unusual and photogenic of places. It's small so you should be able to see everything in a week and still spend plenty of time around the pool.
We travel a lot and have stayed in places both simple and grand (’ish). We know what we like and either do the research beforehand or just book one night somewhere and then tour onward until we settle on something. In this case we looked at trip advisor and took everything at face value. Perhaps we shouldn’t have. We are glad we visited the island but have mixed feelings about the hotel and Kamari.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trekker512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmidsgirl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We cannot recommend George and Alina highly enough for their hospitality at Aqua Vatos Hotel. These two made our wedding a dream come true they helped with so many things, nothing was to much trouble. We arrived on Santorini having never been to the island for our wedding. After a few days it really felt that we were staying with relatives it was so relaxed. The hotel is beautiful and the service is fantastic. George and Alina will help to ensure that you really get the most out of the island. The breakfast is lovely, simple but relaxed and good quality. From the minute you arrive at this hotel you will feel instantly relaxed and at ease which is a rare experience from a lot of other hotels. Aqua Vatos is well placed in Kamari for the beach and for catching the bus to tour the island. Kamari is one of the best places to stay on Santorini lots of bars and restaurants to choose from in the evening but not too crowded and without the manic feel of Thira which in high season is packed with cruise passengers. For a fabulous holiday on Santorini you cannot beat Aqua Vatos it's the best !!!!!! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westmidsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trencin, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

The hotel has a good location close to the beach with a very nice swimming pool. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, car rent as well as bus stop. The hotel is very clean, with nice equipment, though the rooms are pretty small. Breakfast was various, with always fresh home made cakes!

Kamari is a good place to stay with a nice long beach, where you can find a lot of restaurants, shops and sports activities. On the other hand if you like and prefer more quiet places, you should find some other place on the east-south or west -north part of the island. The best choice is to rent a car and travel as there are beautiful places on the Island especially on its west part (oia, fira towns). Greek food and little tavernas will meet all your expectations about the good food and wine! :)

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#9 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.1 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#4 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#14 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crown Suites
Crown Suites
#10 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqua Vatos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqua Vatos Hotel

Property: Acqua Vatos Hotel
Address: Main Street, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#22 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acqua Vatos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of Kamari in Santorini and just a few passes away of the famous black sand beach, the Acqua Vatos has been fully refurbished and transformed into a hip boutique hotel in the spring of 2011. It is trendy, elegant and from time to time eccentric, with minimalistic design and exhibitionist bathrooms. Acqua Vatos is ideal for families with kids, since there are rooms designed and equipped especially for them. The XXL pool is a star attraction for adults and children of any age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Acqua Vatos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acqua Vatos
Acqua Vatos Kamari
Acqua Vatos Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing