We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only I could live in the Acqua Vatos........”
Review of Acqua Vatos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acqua Vatos Hotel
Ranked #23 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“If only I could live in the Acqua Vatos........”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I don't know where to start writing my review for the beautiful Acqua Vatos.....there is just so much to say about this beautiful beautiful hotel. Everything from the beautiful blue gate to staff and the food... it is without doubt one of the best places I have ever stayed.
Prior to our 6 night stay, I had been in touch with the hotel to arrange somethings, and everything the replies were so quick and anything I asked for was granted without a fuss.
Arriving at the hotel, it is exactly like it is in the pictures (something that doesn't always carry through for other hotels) and we were greeted by the friendliest of staff, who couldn't do enough for us during our 6-day stay..... they deserve credit when reviewing the hotel as they make the experience as much as the surroundings!!
The hotel itself is small, but this adds to the character. The lobby is quirky, as is the rest of the decor and the pool area is fabulous with lots of sun loungers which you are provided with clean towels for everyday if you wish. The pool is a welcome break from the Greek sunshine, along with a cold beer from the little pool bar.
The breakfast also deserves a mention.... which changes everyday ranging from French toast and spinach pies to scrambled eggs and omelettes along with a variety of delicious treats (banana bread, rice puddings and choc biscuit cake) and the delicious greek honey and homemade plum jam (I may go back just for the plum jam alone)!!
Everything else is the hotel is just as good, spotless bedrooms, beautiful bedrooms with rain showers which are cleaned everyday. We stayed in an economy room which I had reservations about, worrying it would be too small but given the area you are in and the rest of the hotel, they are a fine size for what you need.
If I could go back to Santorini and to the Acqua Vatos tomorrow, it couldn't come quick enough! I fell in love with the island and with this hotel and all it's amazing staff. They organised, on my request, a trip to their sister hotel Above Blue, for dinner on our last night. Not once did the staff let slip on front of my boyfriend and they went out of their way to ensure we had a fantastic time. If you are looking for a romantic idea while you are here, ask them about it at Acqua Vatos..... it's a must!

To all at Acqua Vatos.... Thank you for a wonderful time! I can say without doubt, we will be back sooner than later, I hope!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CazTreacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Acqua Vatos for your vacations and for taking the time to wright this amazing review! We are looking forward to welcoming you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    123
    47
    12
    11
See reviews for
84
456
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at the Acqua Vatos in June 2012 and loved everything about this hotel. The staff were lovely - especially the lady at the pool bar. The room was very comfortable - everything was spotlessly clean and the towels and bed linen were fantastic. The shower was one of the best we've seen at a small hotel - always plenty of hot water and the water pressure was just right. Breakfast was very good - always a good variety. Only one very minor issue was that the breakfast room was a little small and, as the hotel was busy, it meant that there was not a lot of space to move around and perhaps the toaster could be upgraded to cope with more than 2 slices of bread!! Other than that - perfect and we would definitely return. Thanks!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stilton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guests,

We are delighted to have matched your expectations and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Acqua Vatos Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at the 'Vatos' for 2 weeks in June 2012, our 3rd time at the same hotel which is a record for us and must say something really positive.
Since our last visit in 2010 the hotel has been refurbished and the interior now has a contemporary or 'boutique' feel. The main improvements from our viewpoint are that the rooms are light and airy and the bathrooms, which were not the best before, are now wetrooms and in line with the standard of the rest of the hotel.
We thought the breakfasts were good in 2010 by anyone's standards, but they are now even better and more varied and never failed to set us up for our time on the wonderful island of Santorini.
If you are thinking of Santorini as a holiday destination we would highly recommend Kamari as the place to stay (much cheaper than the more fashionable Thira & Oia, and only 20 mins away from Thira using the excellent local bus service). There are so many very good restaurants (our personal favourite was Almira) and bars (The Love Boat is the best!!).
We will certainly be returning for a 4th visit, God willing, in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Acqua Vatos in June 2012 and were really impressed with the hotel, it's facilities, location and most of all it's fantastic staff.

Upon arrival a welcome drink was offered whilst check in took place, and then we were taken to our room. The hotel concept is similar to a Boutique Hotel in the UK. It's a refreshing change from chain hotels, to stay somewhere unique with the kind of touches that just make you feel you are staying somewhere really special. It's those little touches, like the pictures in frames around the bedroom door, or the lovely tiled message in the shower or even the lighting that make this hotel just that little bit different.

The breakfasts are different every day, and are varied wit something for everyone. Tea and coffee is available all day.

We did spend some time around the pool, and echo everyone's comments that there is plenty of sunbeds, a lovely pool area, and the bar on hand is an added bonus! But the island also has much to offer.

The location of the hotel is extremely convenient for all amenities, a gentle stroll to the lovely beach, close to supermarkets, bakeries, laundry, shops and bars and restaurants. There is an ATM machine across the road.

We loved the beach, which was the first time we had come across black volcanic sand, and the beach chairs and parasols were 5 Euros when we stayed there. We used WHites Bar for our parasols as the sunbeds there had a lovely padding and there was table service.

The beachfront at Kamari is literally restaurant after restaurant so there is plenty of choice whatever your budget. We enjoyed Nykteri for a special occasion on the last night of our stay. The knowledge of the waiter on the local wine and wineries was brilliant!

We did spend some time in Perissa on the beach, which we felt was relaxing, but there was more activity and choice b Kamari, and that suited us for the time we stayed in Santorini.

One of the highlights of our stay was a visit to Santo Wines in the evening to watch the sunset. What a gem of a secret location. For the price of a glass of wine you can sit and watch the sunset across the volcano, it was just magical. We choose a 6 glass Wine tasting menu with cheese olives and bread which came to less than 12 Euros and was fantastic!

We also spent time at Fira, trekked to Firafestini and went to Pyrgos and Oia all of which are beautiful places to visit. We went to Akrotiri to see the ruins, which are extremely extensive but really you need some knowledge or a guide to make the most of the time you spend there.

We hired a car which was extremely easy and organised in less than an hour for us by the hotel staff. Driving on Santorini was an experience, with some of the views down as a passenger really scary! A sheer drop of around 500m means I had to have a lot of faith in my husbands driving skills!

A visit to the monastery just to see the views of the island from its highest point was amazing, being above the airport and watching the planes take off and land was quite fun!

We also took an organised trip out to the Volcano which incorporated a meal on the island of Thirassia. The meal was lovely and watching the sunset on the horizon was a lovely experience.

The island is amazing with lots to see and do, but the stay at the Acqua Vatos made the experience star special and we returned home with lovely memories of our time on Santorini.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guests

We are delighted to have matched your expectations and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Acqua Vatos Hote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Myself & my partner travelled to Aqcua Vatos along with 14 of our friends & family for our wedding on the beautiful island of Santorini.
We booked a year in advance & throughout the entire booking process the hotel director (George) and his team were quick to respond to my many questions, helpful at all times & so friendly.
Upon arrival I couldn't quite believe how beautiful the hotel was, we were greeted with a much needed drink & individually shown to our rooms.
We booked the master suite for our stay, and we were not dissapointed, the suite was huge, beautifully decorated & had 2 balconies to choose from, a fridge, plenty of storage space & an amazing shower (better than ours at home!).
Throughout our stay the staff jut couldn't do enough for us, even recommending a local dry cleaners to steam my wedding dress!
Breakfast was varied with a selection of local cuisine, the breakfast room was beautifully decorated & our friends were pleased able to use the high chairs for the kids.
Our whole group were totally impressed with the hotel & complimented throughout the stay.
The pool area is spotless & very modern with plenty of sun beds & furniture for all of the guests. Pool towels are also available at reception (saving you some space in your suitcase!), Joanna the girl who works in the bar deserves a special thank you, she was the nicest, friendliest girl, giving us tips on the island & constantly providing us with G&T and beers :-).
The whole team continued to ask if there was anything they could do or help with in preparation for our wedding, which was so re-assuring & comforting. They were all very excited that I was going to be te 1st bride of the season to leave from ACqua Vatos Hotel!!!!
On the wedding day the team were lovely & even plugged in fans at reception as it was so hot waiting for our transport!
I would highly recommend this hotel to any travellers, families, couples, singles......whoever you are you will be sure to be looked after 100% during your stay & come away totally relaxed.
We will most definitely be returning next year for our anniversary!!!
Thank you all so much at Aqcua Vatos, Rachael & Stephen Rafferty!!!!!! Xxxx

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Acqua Vatos.We are looking forward to welcoming you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

About a month ago, I had the pleasure of staying at Acqua Vatos. The small-medium sized boutique hotel is very clean, fun, and the staff is quite friendly. It's not superluxurious but has everything one needs to have a peaceful stay by the beach. Also, I loved the breakfast buffet and being able to grab a free cup of coffee in the eating area whenever I wanted. Kamari beach is a small area so the hotel was located only a few blocks away from everything including the beach. Overall, its a good value (they allow you to make an offer if you wish to pay a price that is different than the published rate - if you do this, please be fair lest the rest of us lose this option). The only suggestions I have for the hotel are: 1) offer free wifi service, and 2) for the ground floor rooms, install opaque curtains. Otherwise, I definitely recommend this great property. I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive review and we are really looking forward to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I fully agree with what most people are saying here. This hotel has it all, and more! From the moment we arrived the kind staff treated us like family members. Our room was on the ground floor and had direct access to the beautiful garden. It was truly peaceful to sit out there enjoying a drink in the afternoon. The pool area was great with enough space for everybody. Loved the pool bar and the lovely bar keeper!! Everyone is so friendly and helpful. We had a medical incident during our stay and could not have been in better hands. Thank you! We will definitely return, looking forwards to see you all again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treasuretrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Acqua Vatos Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Acqua Vatos for your vacations and for taking the time to wright this wonderful review. We look foward to wellcoming you again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#9 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.1 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#4 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#14 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crown Suites
Crown Suites
#10 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqua Vatos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqua Vatos Hotel

Property: Acqua Vatos Hotel
Address: Main Street, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#22 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acqua Vatos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of Kamari in Santorini and just a few passes away of the famous black sand beach, the Acqua Vatos has been fully refurbished and transformed into a hip boutique hotel in the spring of 2011. It is trendy, elegant and from time to time eccentric, with minimalistic design and exhibitionist bathrooms. Acqua Vatos is ideal for families with kids, since there are rooms designed and equipped especially for them. The XXL pool is a star attraction for adults and children of any age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acqua Vatos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acqua Vatos
Acqua Vatos Kamari
Acqua Vatos Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing