We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Horizon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Horizon Resort
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at this resort recently and had a thoroughly enjoyable time as the staff were all very friendly and hard working
Our room was quiet very clean and comfortable and the pool was lovely and welcoming after a busy day sightseeing
Local buses were frequent and made getting around the island easy and Kamari open air cinema was very atmospheric and a great way to finish an evening

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Horizon Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 295 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Nice family run hotel. Rooms extremely clean ...
Nice quiet spot not far too from beach or restaurants... Bus stop for thira very close by next to hotel!
Included breakkie was great & very fresh!!
Was on bottom floor but actually found it very quiet & convenient with luggage
George & his mother very friendly and helpful + George makes amazing mojito's !!!
Bargain hotel ... Amazing Greek hospitality. Would stay again

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Frequentlyflyingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Horizon Resort Hotel in June 2014. Room clean and comfortable, safe and fridge in room, free air conditioning. Bathroom small but functional. Made welcome by George and family. Very helpful with advice. Lovely pool and plenty sunbeds. Beach bar serving snacks. Great location - short walk into town - near bus stop. Would recommend staying here!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank 433Cathy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just returned from Horizon resort in Santorini and what a lovely stay. If you want a relaxing and peaceful time,this is the place. George and his mum work very hard to make sure their guests are happy. No problem getting a sun bed around the pool,which is always clean. Continental breakfast is adequate.The rooms are bright,clean and fresh. The cleaner comes everyday with clean towels. A/C and a safety deposit box in the room are included,no extra charges. The pool side bar has plenty of snacks and drinks to choose from and George performs a work of art when he cooks. Karmari beach is ten minutes walk away and the whole seafront is made up of lovely Tavernas.
In summary my wife and I can,t wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Top floor with balcony because of the views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

having stayed at the Horizon resort recently for a fortnight I would just like to say I would highly recommend it.
I find it a lovely peaceful place.
The rooms are both quaint and fairly spacious, the beds are comfortable and large.
The owners are very friendly and cannot do enough for you, whether its advice on the island or helping arrange taxis\ quad\\ car hire etc.....
I find this a very friendly hotel, with a lovely swimming pool with plenty of sun beds, which in my time have never been totally filled, so no disappointment there.
the hotel itself is scrupulously clean and George is very meticulous with his cooking to ensure a lovely snack at the bar.
For the price I really couldn't ask for more.
to sum it up.... a tranquil peaceful little paradise yet close enough to everything you need
i would highly recommend and look forward to my return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thebear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hotel is more like a B&B than a hotel/resort. It is in Kamari which turned out to be a great part of the island because it is quieter than Fira. Very basic room that was clean but with old furnishings. No telephone, a very old and small TV in the room but there is a mini-fridge. The curtained shower was very small with no room to move around so the floor always got wet. No elevator so we carried our roll aboards up to the 3rd floor.

The breakfast is very basic. Cereal, yogurt, canned fruit cocktail, hard boiled eggs, several breads and packaged croissant. This hotel is very convenient. It is a 2 minute walk to the public bus stop (Kamari Village is the stop), 15 minute walk to the beach and all the restaurants and lots of shops along the way where you can buy bottled water.

George, at the front desk, is very nice and helpful with recommendations on where to go, where to eat and will help make arrangements for you. We went thru him to book a car for the day. He made it really easy and in fact, the car was brought to us at the hotel within 10 minutes of making the reservation and they came back to the hotel to pick up the car. On our day of departure, he ordered a taxi to pick us up later in the day and the taxi was right on time.

Overall it is a nice little hotel without any frills. They do have a pool which my wife and I didn’t use but we saw other guests using. The important thing is it is clean and it is not expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I would like to dispute a previous review. Having stayed here 5 times now. I can only say each and every stay has been a pleasure. For the cost this hotel is a wonderful little gem. I suffer from fibromyalgia yet find the mattresses very comfortable and we have stayed in various rooms. As for noise we have never even had to close the shutters we are both light sleepers yet have peaceful nights each and every time.
Breakfast is plentiful and varies a little each day.
I have never come across mould in any of the bathrooms we have stayed in. The walk down to the beach is slightly less than ten minutes ( and I'm not a fast walker )
Having stayed her on five seperate occasions I hope people reading reviews will take into consideration that we have spent a long time here and our opinion will hopefully count more than someone who merely stayed a night and has black marked a real little treasure which I find very sad, knowing how hard the owners work to ensure a great stay, nothing is too much trouble.
Pluses ..... Outdoor cinema is two minutes walk away and is a lovely surreal experience, we find so much welcoming kindness from the locals and of course George and his family.
We find this hotel to be perfect as it is far enough away from the town to be peaceful yet only a stones throw away from anything you wish to enjoy.
Very clean and friendly too. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GlosBuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.3 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#23 of 75 in Kamari
418 reviews
2.3 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#33 of 75 in Kamari
387 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bella Santorini
Bella Santorini
#6 of 11 in Perivolos
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Resort

Address: Emm. N. Bambakousi, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#16 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: $68 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Horizon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Kamari
Horizon Resort Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing