We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday Sept 2012”
Review of Horizon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horizon Resort
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Excellent hotel and service cannot fault it for the price we had 2 weeks here and didn't want to leave, continental breakfast very good, pool area great never a problem with the sunbeds, you can get drinks and snacks at the pool bar the hotel is run by George and his mum, they can't do enough for you. bedding and towels are changed very regularly for crisp clean ones.the rooms are cleaned daily we were in room 25 and if i had a complaint it would be you can feel some of the springs in the mattress this said it didn't cause discomfort.
From the balcony you can see the sea. The walk to Kamari beach takes approx 10 minutes at a slow pace looking in shops. There is also a laundry on the way to the beach which was very handy as it meant we didn't have cases full of dirty washing to take home. If you turn right onto the main road outside the hotel and walk for 3 or 4 minutes you come to the open air cinema which is great value and the film changes every 3 nights. it is also worth checking out a bar / restaurant called " The Liverbird" excellent food great coffee and a friendly hostess
It is well worth hiring a car to get around the island around 20 euros a day, this way you can see everything at your own pace, the cable car at Thira is worth a go. we drove to the lighthouse and saw an amazing weather carved shape in the cliff face, it looks like a red Indian head has been purposely carved.
Kamari beach is excellent with lots of value restaurants although it is recommended you wear beach shoes to get in and out of the sea on most beaches. For us the best beach on the island is Perissa beach. All in all a great relaxing holiday experience.
We will be going back there next year with friends

Room Tip: Room 25 is on the back so the balcony is more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 297 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here in July 2012 and July 2010. Both times were spectacular. George and his mom (hi Rudy) run the place and they are super people. Rooms are clean and we had one with both mountain and sea views from the balcony. Pool is nice to have after a long hot day in the sun. Breakfast if buffet style. Not huge but enough to satisfy in the morning. Plus for us North Americans....filtered coffee. Very important! Walk to Kamari Beach in 5 minutes. 100% recommend to anyone to stay here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcbridecorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We visited Santorini for the first week of August and stayed at the Horizon!! I have to say that we completely agree with the other reviews!!! The value for money this hotel offers is exceptional; new and clean and add in the fact that the A/C and safety deposit box are included too and its fab. the minifridge is a godsend for the aftersun!! George and his family are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble!! The hotel was full but it never felt so and there's always sunloungers whatever time of the day around the pool, not that we did much sunbathing on this beautiful island!! George makes a lovely sandwich and is always on hand to provide a welcome refreshment!! He's so laid back hes almost vertical!!
The hotel's location is great for exploring the island and Fira (capital) is only 10 mins away by car for example!! The resort of Kamari is a short 5-10min stroll so the location was perfect for us!! George helped book our car, book restaurants and recommended many other things to do!! Two of Georges restaurant picks were; Bacchus tavern opposite the bus stop (2 mins), which is perfect for traditional Greek cuisine and at night Almira (far left on Kamari beach) serves amazing seafood and beef too!!
Some do's: Go to santos wines and grab a bottle of wine and be amazed by the view, visit Perissa (relaxed version of kamari) by taxi boat (launched opposite captain hooks), go to imerovigli its stunning (a peaceful Oia), go on the volcano cruise (take decent shoes), go the openair cinema its great and last but not least visit the monastery on top on the mountain, the views of the whole island are absolutely amazing, and its a hidden litle gem!! (this was a tip from george!! -thanks)!! Overall we loved Horizon and Santorini and we'll definately be returning!!
ps little tip, grab a cab to and from the airport, its cheaper (and quicker) than the pre-bookable transfers!!
pps for that extra holiday treat grab a taxi and head into Oia at night and have a beautiful meal whilst watching the sunset (we went to Fanari villas). Its the most perfect location ever!!!
Ian and Danielle

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Iancallan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Horizon is a real find. We stayed for a week with our family at the end of July and can honestly say it was one of the most relaxing places we have ever stayed.

George and his family were great, from the initial welcome, to our farewell when our taxi failed to turn up and George rescued the day.

The rooms are spotlessly clean with good air conditioning, a very useful fridge and good hifi reception. The balconies are large with good furniture and views of the pool and mountains.

The pool is a good size, was never crowded and George makes a great milk shake!

I would also recommend going to the open air cinema one night. It is only five minutes walk away and and a really memorable experience.

We will definately return to the Horizon.

Stephen and Sandra, Melton Mowbray

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be similar with balconies facing the same way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Borghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just returned from a lovely relaxing two weeks holiday. Many positives which include, lovely pool and grounds which are nice and spacious compared to hotels closer to the centre of Kamari, high standard of cleanliness, free Wifi with a really good range, good bar snacks and a nice walk to the town centre, but it can be a little far during the hottest part of the day. George and his family are really lovey and helpful.
The hotel can be used as a nice base to explore the island or as we did relax and chill by the pool and meander in for a nice dinner at night.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is our second time at Horizon Hotel.
I couldn't recommend this hotel more.
George and his family are so welcoming, the rooms and hotel is still as clean as ever. The pool area always has spare sun beds even though all rooms were filled. There is a bar by the pool to meet your needs.
Personally we find this hotel to be situated in just the right place. Everything is within five minutes walk yet your far enough away to enjoy peace and quiet.
We will definitely be returning to this lovely hotel.
Simon and Fiona

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlosBuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our second stay at the Horizon, Kamari. George and his family are exceptional hosts, and it is a home from home. We stayed for 18 days and cannot ever fault any aspect. Breakfast is lovely, and George is on hand at the pool bar all day to offer drinks and very nice snacks.

The pool is a good size, and the grounds of the hotel are beautifully kept. It's a 10 minute walk to the front, with the huge advantage being that you have peace and quiet. The rooms are perfectly equipped, the balconies are superb with nice furniture, and the cleanliness is first rate.

We will return, without question. Thank you George!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshine2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.3 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#21 of 75 in Kamari
423 reviews
2.3 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
385 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bella Santorini
Bella Santorini
#6 of 11 in Perivolos
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Resort

Address: Emm. N. Bambakousi, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Kamari
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: $76 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Horizon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Kamari
Horizon Resort Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing