We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and private”
Review of Horizon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Horizon Resort
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in September and had a lovely time. George and his mum made us feel very welcome and gave us ideas on sightseeing on the island. The hotel and grounds are spotless and the rooms bright with comfortable beds. Breakfast was buffet style with a good choice. The swimming pool area was lovely and mostly we had it to ourselves. It was about a ten minute walk down to the beach and tavernas. I'd definetely recommend staying at Horizon Resort.

Room Tip: One to the front of the hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summitgully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 298 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

My girlfriend and i had a fantastic two week holiday at Horizon in September 2011!

The hotel is small and well run by George and his Mam, who were helpful, polite and attentive throughout our stay. The whole place was kept spotless at all times and the breakfast was always a welcome start to the day. The rooms are simple but clean and have everything you would expect. The pool is quiet, with a bar for drinks and a small selection of snacks. We spent most of our time by the pool, sitting on our balcony and exploring the local sites.

George was happy to give advice on where to go and what do to whilst in Santorini. Tours and transport can be booked through the hotel, rather than travel agents. We did the Volcano boat tour around the Caldera, which was a great day out. The hotel is well located, being on the outskirts of the small town of Kamari. It is situated within easy walking distance of all the restaurants, bars and shops along the beach front (the best beach in Santorini). The excellent open air cinema is also in the close proximity to the hotel.

Conveniently, Horizon is positioned right next to the bus stop in Kamari village, giving you good access to the rest of the Island... particularly the main towns of Fira and Oia. Ancient Thira is also nearby and worth a trip.

If you are looking for a lovely family run greek hotel where you can relax and enjoy the sun, then this is the place for you! We loved it and would sincerely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevas84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Horizon Resort, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

George was extremely accommodating and we found his local knowledge absolutely invaluable and included information on local taverna's, winery's, day excursions and general directions around the island.

The Horizon was meticulously clean and the room was cleaned daily.

We found the breakfast to more than adequate and the pool / sun lounging / pool bar area to be extremely comfortable.

After investigating several locations we chose to opt for Kameri and this proved accurate as its easy to reach from the airport and centrally located to be able to travel north to Fira (capital), Oia and southern resorts.

With George's help we were able to find a great local Teverna and avoid the expensive tourist type restaurants located on Kameri beach.

We would also recommend hiring a vehicle (moped, quad or car), which are available through the Horizon. This is a great way to view all the attractions that Santorini has to offer.

However, a car is not required to visit the brilliant open air cinema in Kamari as its a 5 minute walk along the road from the horizon.

In our opinion, you will be extremely hard pushed to find better value for money accommodation in Santorini than the Horizon Resort.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is a gem of a hotel, located just 10 mins walk away from the beach front, restaurants and shops. The location avoids numbers of holiday makers traipsing past all the time, which makes it more relaxing and a bit more private. A lot of attention to detail has been paid to make this a pleasant place to stay - the pool area is amazing, with volanic stone and lots of tropical plants. We spent more time than we had planned to at the pool as it was so relaxing. George and his family are very friendly and welcoming - George provided us with a map of the area on arrival to get our bearings, was always on hand to give advice and answer any questions and sorted out day trips and car hire for us, which saved us the hassle of arranging it ourselves. George runs the poolside bar and does really nice food - do try! Our room itself was always spotlessly clean with free air-con, wi-fi and mini safe. We had beautiful views of the mountains, sea and pool area, which is lit up at night and looks really good. Our stay in Kamari was excellent - it is a very good base to explore the rest of the island. This was one of the best holidays I have ever had, made more so by the stay at Horizon Resort. George and his family work hard to make this an enjoyable, relaxing and inviting place to stay. I would highly recommend Horizon Resort, and we cant wait to return!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed in Horizon Resort for 4nights in July 2011. George welcomed us to the hotel and showed us to the room. The rooms are a nice size, beds comfy with a reasonable balcony. Most days we were the only people by the pool so sunbed numbers were not a problem.

Taxi cost from the airport is €15 and i'd recommend getting the local bus around the island (€1.60 to Fira).

Hotel is ideal location of 5-10min walk to Kamari beach, which has a nice array of tavernas and bars along the promenade.

All in all a lovely stay.

Thanks, Laura and Steve

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank stevehaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We were welcomed by George, who we found to be very pleasant and helpful.... when we were shown to our room, we were offered an alternative room if we liked... which we accepted as it had the beds we wanted... George and his mother were so friendly and accomodating throughout the weeks stay... although Georges mum didnt speak english she always had a warm smile for us...
Breakfast was lovely, and we could choose to eat inside or outside.....
The room: very clean and fresh, cleaned every day.... beds were comfortable...
As for the servic,: George and his mum could not do enough to help, and we spent lots of time by the bar, with George and his great sense of humour...Rudy the dog ws also a source for humour as George had many stories to tell.....The pool was very clean, and even though the hotel was full, the pool was never busy and there were always spare sunloungers.....
the local amenities were within walking distance, and there was plenty to do and many tavernas..... The hotel was also very quiet and peaceful as was the surrounding areas.
We visited Santorini last year and didnt think we could have found a better hotel than the one we had last year, but we did and definately look forward to returning to the Horizon and would highly recommend.... Simon and Fiona

Room Tip: preferably a front facing room with view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlosBuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Would just like to say what a great place to stay, George and his family are so nice and helpful from the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome, our bags were taken to our room on the top floor which we had asked for and the room was bright clean and airy.
George was very helpful telling us the way to the beach, shops etc and where to catch the bus and also arranging car hire for us.
The hotel is a short walk from the beach etc about 10 mins but this is not a problem, 2 beds and a parasol on the beach were 6-7 euro. We spent some days at the pool some at the beach, we tried the Big greek salad at the pool and the cheese burgers both are very good value for money and enjoyable.
Whilst we were there they changed the breakfast to self serve, the breakfast is very good which consisted of hard boiled eggs, yoghurt, bread, cheese, meats cake, jams & honey cereals, tea, coffee, juice so plenty of choice and very adequate.
Thank you George and family for making our holiday so special, don't think we will find any where else as nice and welcoming as the Horizon.
Don't forget to ask George for an Horizon Sunrise cocktail.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.3 mi away
Hotel 28
Hotel 28
#5 of 75 in Kamari
711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Megalochori
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atalos Suites
Atalos Suites
#7 of 75 in Kamari
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#15 of 75 in Kamari
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Resort

Address: Emm. N. Bambakousi, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kamari
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: $80 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Minutes walk away from the hustle & bustle of Kamari Beach, Horizon Resort on Santorini island, features an outdoor Swimming pool surrounded by Tropical gardens as well as free Wi-Fi in the entire premises of the Hotel. A buffet breakfast is served in the lounge, while snacks & drinks are available all day at the pool bar. The Superior rooms which are located on the top floor, have side sea view and panoramic mountain view. The Standard rooms which are located on the middle floor, have mountain view. All our rooms have been refurnished with new furniture & comfortable beds. The bus stop & an A.T.M is 100 metres away from the resort and the open air cinema is just around the corner. We organise boat excursions, semi private catamaran excursions, car and quad rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Horizon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Kamari
Horizon Resort Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing