We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super hotel”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

just spend for the second time a great holiday at this lovely hotel. everyday our room was cleaned, new towels. they are very kind and friendly to help you when you are having a "problem" :) we had a very nice room, with nice bathroom, and a jacuzzi outside, altough the water was a little bit cold to really enjoy it. The Hotel is probably a 10 minute walk away from the beach with its huge selection of restuarants and bars. It is worth mentioning that the Hermes is only a 10/15 minute drive from the airport so the planes do come in very low over the beach, but after a few times, you don't hear it anymore. I would definately recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back for the 3th time :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soraya-angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 314 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just returned home from a 5 night stay at this lovely hotel and everything about it was wonderful. The hotel and grounds are well kept and spotlessly clean, the main pool and the jacuzzi pool are both great. The jacuzzi pool area is particularly lovely for those who prefer the shade as its surrounded by lovely trees and is very restful and quiet. The main pool is a very good size and it had enough sunbeds for everyones use (although there may be a problem if all guests wanted to stay in rather than go to the beach). We had a triple room overlooking the main pool and it consisted of a large double bed on a mezzine floor and a sofa bed downstairs, very nice bathroom with a decent shower. Room and bathroom were both spotlessly clean.
The breakfast provided a good choice of the usual continental breakfast fare and there was planty of it. You could also get snacks throught the day - the wraps were particularly great as was the banana milkshake and the homemade mint lemonade.
The Hotel is probably a 10 minute walk away from the beach with its huge selction of restuarants and bars. It is worth mentioning that the Hermes is only a 10/15 minute drive from the airport so the planes do come in very low over the hotel. Personally i didn't have a problem with it as there are only a handful of flights per day and it was actually quite exciting to watch them come in.
The Hermes has a very nice relaxed atmosphere about it , all staff were very nice and helpful - we even were given a complimentary 1/2 bottle of wine on arrival from the local vineyard. I would definately recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonFifi_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week in June and there is hardly anything we can complain about. It is a family hotel with pool and jacuzzi in typical white-blue color and greek architecture. There were dozens of different plants in the garden that created the great atmosphere. It was always quiet, but that was probably due to the fact that the season was only starting and the guests were mostly older.

The personnel always willing to help and very friendly. We wanted to swap our room, because we wanted a double bed instead of a twin bed and were given another room without hesitation.
Rooms were neat, cleaned every day.

The weather was great, we haven't seen a cloud for the whole week. Although it was a bit windy sometimes, it didn't matter as it helped with the heat. The beach in Kamari is black from the lava stone. You can either buy an umbrella in one of many shops on the beach for around 8 euros or rent one with two sunbeds for 5 euros/day.

The prices in the supermarkets were normal 'holiday' prices in our opinion, nothing too exaggerated. Food in restaurants could be more expensive, but it really depends on what you want to eat. You can get gyros in pita for 2.80 or a fish plate for two for 20 euros. There was one thing in common though and that is that the food was delicious.

Breakfast in hotel was buffet style, I mostly enjoyed the local Feta cheese, olives, tomatoes and yoghurt. Figs and watermelon were also great. The three course dinner was just amazing. Every day there was a special menu where there was always something new for starter/main dish, or you could pick from selected meals in the menu. I can't recall anything that would not be good. The portions were large and with starter, main dish and dessert there was only one downside - the number on the scale when we got home :). Also don't forget to try the famous local wines.

We also took a trip to Fira and Oia. Both cities were beautiful, but it was really hot there...it seems like on this side of island the wind doesn't blow that much. Here the prices were much higher, but we were still able to get a gyros plate for 9euros which was enough for two people.

Overall the Vacation was great and I would recommend this beautiful island to anyone who considers Greece as their holiday destination.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in the beginning of July 2013.

The reception was not really enthausiastic. 3 couples entering the hotel at once seemed at bit "overwhelming". For a four star hotel, having to carry your luggage to your room (up the stairs) seemed a bit strange to us.

The room itself was outdated with a very small and old TV and an ancient safe (for which you need to pay extra - 2 euro per night).

The bathroom needs renovation. The shower and the tab weren't properly attached. The plastic toilet seat seemed a bit cheap for a four star hotel.

We stayed for 4 nights, but after three nights we had to ask ourselves for a refill of the shower gell and shampoo. Also the glasses in the bathroom and for the minibar weren't cleaned or replaced.

The fact you need to pay extra for safe they recommend to use as well as for the pool towels, is a bit strange for a four star hotel.

Breakfast was fine but no variation was offered for the 4 nights we spent there. No fresh juices, no fresh fruit (except for the water mellon) and a limited choice. If you only spend 1 or 2 nights, it is OK, but for people staying for a longer period, more varition in the breakfast buffet would be nice.

The public areas were fine and even though most of the staff was friendly and helpfull, this doesn't make this a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broekie2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel was our choice due to the outstanding reviews and for our honeymoon we wanted sounding special but also within our budget.

Having read reviews before I knew they could be hit and miss but without a question this hotel lives up to the reviews

Firstly the location is right near Kamari beach where there Are lots of restaurants and shops. One in particular would be the White restaurant and bar which has a great atmosphere and amazing food. This is a must And is located at the end of the road from the hotel on the beach

Hotel facilities are just perfect, the pool is quiet And peaceful, food in the restaurant is delicious and you have everything you need. Rooms are a great size very clean and comfortable

The staff are the most outstanding of anywhere we have stayed in our last 6 weeks of travel and out of anywhere we have stayed before. Always willing to Give help where needed and with a smile. Bar tenders are friendly and we enjoyed our last night just sitting around. Having a chat.
All reception staff are helpful and Effie really made us feel like family

Without question we Will be back for years to come and will recommend this hotel to everyone we know

Cannot wait to be back next year

Room Tip: We had a room with a private spa which made the trip special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsvandamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Excellent hotel in all sense. Frienly desk people, very good and clean rooms. Very good breakfast and food. Situated 5 minutes from the beach and all restaurants and shops. Very nice decoration. free wifi and jacuzzi. Nice swiming pool. In one word...........Excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is in a fabulous location,
Very clean, spacious rooms, lovely views,very friendly staff.
Effie the receptionist is the heart of the hotel very welcoming, and has a wealth of knowledge of the area.
Would not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jossy048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.7 mi away
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#19 of 75 in Kamari
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#36 of 75 in Kamari
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#26 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: Ermis Street, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#15 Family Hotel in Kamari
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: $100 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hermes Hotel, a family run 4 stars Hotel where hospitality and personal care for every guest is a must. Hermes is a quality vacation A' class Hotel located in Kamari Village, in a pleasant walking distance of 200 meters from the most cosmopolitan and black sandy beach of the island. The Hotel, built with the traditional and unique Cycladic architecture, was partly renovated in 2016 and elegantly equipped to satisfy all your needs. It consists of two buildings with nice gardens between them, a stunning outdoor pool, a pool bar and a restaurant. Besides the pool are the hotel's everyday's meeting points. Relax under the shadow of the palm trees, surrounding the jacuzzi pool, on the other side of the garden, feeling a warm and homelike environment. A cozy lounge area is available all day long for moments of socialization, surfing on the internet, or watching your favorite TV program. In case you feel the need to exercise, the equipped fitness area will be at your disposal, all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing