We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hermes and its staff - A gem in Kamari”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Hermes and its staff - A gem in Kamari”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very nice, efficient hotel. Beautiful grounds, rhe rooms were serviceable and clean; bathrooms recently updated. The staff, Effie in particular, is what makes this hotel an absolute gem. She was so helpful. She regularly went beyond what was asked of her and seemed to be available almost any time you needed her! There was an issue with accessing wifi sercices while we were there but it wasn't terribly impactful to us, since many of the restaurants and cafes up and down the beach areas offerered free wifi. Food was quite good. Breakfast offerings were Mediterranean and tasty. The tomatoes seemed home-grown and I came to crave feta and olives with my bread and cheese for the entirety of my trip afterward. But, again, the highlight of our experience was the staff's friendly service, and Effie's presence in particular. As we moved on to Mykonos, we were a bit saddened to leave them behind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaramelTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    102
    29
    3
    3
See reviews for
50
172
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Beautiful multilevel hotel. It felt like i was staying in a villa with all the balconies, foliage, private terraces. The pools (2) were fantastic and the landscape is gorgeous. The morning breakfast was delicious and the bar service very good. very friendly staff. It also is so close to the black sand beach that walking was a breeze. The water was clean and the black sand interesting but you really need water shoes as it is quite pebbly. The beach front had many restaurants to choose from and much interesting shopping. The bus stop was onlly a block away where we picked up our bus to Fira and shopped in the most gorgeous area. I thought it was more beautiful than Oia.
The hotel room was simple and old fashioned but large and clean. The bathroom was plain but with a good working shower, soaps provided. The beds, low to the ground with bedspreads (i hate spreads on hotel beds), were hard. Though the room was of older decor, the grounds and location made this the perfect spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmlc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana, USA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff was just wonderful, but the lack of wifi in the rooms (regardless of advertising) and the COMPLETE shut down of power at 6:30 am...no lights, no AC, ugh...while the rest of the floor had power was very frustrating. Wine on the rooftop was a nice way toend an evening.

Room Tip: Street view or alley.... Ask for a street view. May be noisy but you won't be looking at another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel with great front desk staff (Effie is the best). Restaurant with bar on premises with decent food and service. Walking distance to Kamari's black beach and strip of shops. Many options for good food and cute beach view bars.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kizsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupun, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I am not one to write reviews but I had to after reading others. The staff did an absolutely terrific job making our stay wonderful. My wife and I took a Greek Isles tour 14 years ago and wanted to spend more time on the islands, Santorini and Mykonos. We booked through Gate 1 Travel which included the Hermes and were very satisfied.Had to get used to the low beds coming from the U.S.Everything clean and kept up so nice. a wonderful place with beach a short walk away. Breakfast had a nice selection.

Room Tip: Email before arrival and Effie will get you a nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a really amazing holiday at the Hermes. Staff were helpful and friendly and the environment peaceful and beautiful. The rooms were very clean and spacious with a lovely view from the balcony. Food was amazing and there was a good selection on the menu. Pools were clean and well maintained. Looking forward to another relaxing holiday there soon!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Gate One put us here. I would not come back unless I could be sure I was not getting a room like the one(s) we had, and all we use our rooms for is sleeping.
T Our first room was tiny and smelled of mildew. We asked for another and it was an improvement - larger, cleaner but not really clean. There was black mold around the bath tub, the bathroom sink didn't work properly, and when i picked up the hairdryer, it broke into three pieces. The beds were hard, more like sleeping on box springs than mattresses.

Contrast this with two lovely pool areas and attractive plantings throughout. Both rooms we saw were in the original hotel. There were other buildings around and I'm guessing they were nicer. Maybe they are renovating and we got rooms on the "to-do" list. I don't know. But based upon our experience, I can't recommend Hermes.

Room Tip: Based on other, positive, reviews, I have to believe that room quality varies wildly - make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.2 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#24 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crown Suites
Crown Suites
#10 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antinea Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#9 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#3 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acqua Vatos Hotel
Acqua Vatos Hotel
#25 of 75 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: Ermis Street, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#20 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hermes Hotel, a family run 4 stars Hotel where hospitality and personal care for every guest is a must. Hermes is a quality vacation A' class Hotel located in Kamari Village, in a pleasant walking distance of 200 meters from the most cosmopolitan and black sandy beach of the island. The Hotel, built with the traditional and unique Cycladic architecture, was partly renovated in 2016 and elegantly equipped to satisfy all your needs. It consists of two buildings with nice gardens between them, a stunning outdoor pool, a pool bar and a restaurant. Besides the pool are the hotel's everyday's meeting points. Relax under the shadow of the palm trees, surrounding the jacuzzi pool, on the other side of the garden, feeling a warm and homelike environment. A cozy lounge area is available all day long for moments of socialization, surfing on the internet, or watching your favorite TV program. In case you feel the need to exercise, the equipped fitness area will be at your disposal, all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing