We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb 2 week Stay”
Review of Hotel Maria Preka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maria Preka
Ranked #40 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb 2 week Stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed July 2012 for 2 wks through Thomson
Set 5 minutes easy walk from the beach, centrally located in Kamari up a quiet no through road.

The room was ideal, the well equip kitchen in fact the best equip we have come across even tea towel and washing up liquid, lovely firm beds slept well every night, hand help shower as is the norm I have found in Greece, always hot water, towels and sheets changed regularly by the wonderful Nota and Maria, how they work all day in that heat I will never know.

The pool was clean, there were always sunbeds no 'towels out at dawn'.
There were a number of 'Czech' guests staying at the MP through and another Company, nice to have a mix of nationalities. - There was a lovely Texan family staying on a 'long stay' with an adorable daughter, hope she finds some new friends to play with her 'Barbies'.

We enjoyed self catering at the MP as there are so many options for breakfast, eat out or DIY, recommend the Pain au Chocolate and Pain au Pineapple pastries from 'Smart' Supermarket directly down to beach front and turn left first shop you come to less than 5 minutes away it was the best supermarket we found, shop so clean and staff really helpful- get there early before the pastries are gone - they were the best we found -"Now on a Diet!"

The MP is is directly opposite The Anassa Hotel run by Fotini, Maria's daughter, Fotini showed us to our room on arrivial.
We had lunch, drinks and snacks delivered to us at the MP from The Anassa, popped over and got a menu also ate lunch at the Anassa lovely banana ice cream with chocolate sauce.

Fotini also offered comprehensive advice on trips to take. Tickets for trips are delivered to the Anassa you don't even have to go and get them, she can also organise car and quad hire. We stuck to the very well organised Santorini Bus service, get on the bus, sit down and a conductor comes around and collects your money then all change in Thira.

The Thomson Rep at our hotel was Nikki, super girl a credit to Thomson, also met John who dealt with other Kamari hotels really professional and helpful too. Our Welcome meeting was at The Loveboat on the beach road, past Smart Supermarket and keep going, it's really close. Nikki was the first rep we have met who could speak Greek which in my opinion is 'a must'. She was excellent most helpful.

Ate out some evenings our favourite was Petrinos, also liked Taverna Sellada, Lolos, Bacchus. Also ate on main strip, you do have a marvellous view but you pay for that and sometimes the quality of the food suffers at the expense of the view.
My tip would be eat off main strip and then go for drinks on 'The Strip' after.
My particular favourite bar was The Arion Bay the waiter was so friendly and his cocktails were wonderful. Having said that you are spoilt for choice as everyones 'benchmark' is different - go explore when you arrive and see what takes you eye.

To sum up - Maria and her lovely family made us feel ''at home'' and would throughly recommend the Maria Preka hotel.
We arrived as guests left as friends.

ευχαριστώ Maria
Mary (Baa Baa)

Room Tip: Saw 3 different rooms all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarmersUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    28
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
72
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have never felt so uncomfortable at a hotel as i did at maria preka. I had no problem with the actual accommodation and for a 2 star it was good. very clean and great location. From the start we were not made to feel very welcome, We felt like we were children on a school trip with the teachers watching over us, even down to the camera around the pool., We were not allowed to have glassware or crockery around the pool, which maybe is a good idea if we were children, but nearly all of us that stayed there were adults in our 40's and older. we were even told to be quiet because we were laughing and talking around the pool near another guests room, THIS WAS 4 O'CLOCK IN THE AFTERNOON !!! Also there is far too much clorine in the pool, after 1 swim all our bikinis and swim shorts turned a lovely shade of yellowy green.. We saved up hard all year to go to a beautiful island (which Santorini is) just to have it ruined by someone who didnt even want us there.. Thomson guests seemed to be treated as second class citizens even down to the fact we were the only ones who were not offered a bed and breakfast option and our showers were all hand held and the other guests had showers on the wall.

Room Tip: Don't take room 22.. it overlooks washing line
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. We had not booked a room before our arrival in Santorini but we found this wonderful hotel after a little search in Kamari. The rooms in Santorini are expensive, but the price in this hotel was reasonable (50 Euros without breakfast), We actually stayed in an appartment which was spacious, had a seperate bedroom, kitchen, bathroom with a shower an a living room with a sofa. Everything was great and we will definatelly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Just returned this morning from a weeks stay at the Maria Preka hotel. We had a studio (right by the pool) which had a seperate bedroom with a double bed, a kitchen area with table and chairs and a single bed and a bathroom with sink, toilet and shower. The only downside although not a major issue was that the shower was not on the wall, you had to hold it as you showered and the whole bathroom including the toilet and seat was soaked through - we got used to it. The room was cleaned daily. Towels i believe are changed weekly although i am sure if you asked, Maria would change them. Air conditioning was at a charge of 8 euro per day which was worth it. We also paid to keep a room on as our flight home was in the evening, this cost us 20 euros per person.
The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the beach and prom where there are many bars and restaurants. We mainly ate at the Family Taverna which was brilliant for food, very good quality and the owner is very accomodating and friendly. For english food/breakfast the Liverbird Cafe is perfect. The Loveboat bar is good for drinks and watching the world go by.
We took the boat to Perissa (4 euros per person each way) which takes around 20 mins, Perissa beach is a lot nicer and is more sandy than Kamari beach.
We also hired quad bikes from the hire shop down the road from the hotel to the right - good price and you get them for 24 hours rather taking them back in the evening like some hire places. We paid 15euro per quad.
The pool was quiet for the majority of the week, it did get busier towards the end of the week though.
All in all the Maria Preka hotel was a perfect base and in a brilliant location for exploring with everything you need at a short walk...beach, supermarket/shop, bars, restaurants, car and bike hire - everything a stones throw away!
I would definately go back to Maria Preka and recommend it to people who want clean accommodation but do not want or expect the ritz! If you go expecting 2 star you will be pleasantly surprised with the size and cleanliness of the hotel rooms and grounds, i know we was.

Room Tip: Take your own towel...the towels are only changed weekly and are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trude_sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I knew when I booked this holiday it was only a 2 Star hotel - so I had an idea of what to expect so dont understand how other reviewers seemed to expect more?
Anyway GOOD POINTS: Maria and her staff are friendly, very helpful and approachable. The cleanliness of the hotel is 2nd to none - above a 2 star rating. The LOCATION - could not ask for better - 1 minute to a great range of hotels, shops and bars and as you step out of the hotel you can see the sea/beach which is literally 5 mins away. Beds are firm and I suffer with lower back problems- not in these beds - clean linen EVERY day and clean towels. Swimming pool is a sun trap and is lovely with comfortable beds for everyone.
There is a safe and AC in the rooms and they are chargeable extras. Maria puts on breakfast each morning - we didnt have this so cannot comment on the food but Maria allowed us to take coffee back to our room at no extra charge!!
Rooms - are dated in decor and furniture but they are spacious and very clean - this hotel is to be used as a base and the one positive we found was as there was no bar facilities - you were not witness to drunken guests and as there are no facilities for children other than the pool - there were no children during our visit which was a bonus for us as we were on our 2nd Honeymoon,
KAMARI - as a resort - friendly, vast array of shops, bars and excellent authentic Greek Restaurants - our favourite - KORALI on the corner - best supermarket near to hotel - Johnnys - we found this the cheapest and the owner friendly. The beach is black stone/shingle so wear beach shoes - there is a boat to take you over to the beaches at Perissa for 4 euros and brings you back again,
WE LOVED SANTORINI- its laid back and very friendly and we will be back again
Trips - we visited the volcanic island via a boat trip - worth a visit for the history, also did another boat trip around the calderra and watched the amazing sunsets
We booked with Thomsons and the staff were excellent especially our rep Nicky,

Room Tip: If you want a double bed request one as they are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohannacMCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

just returned from kamari in santorini maria preka, was a bit worried about 2 star and other comments i had read on here but found them to be clean ,in a brilliant location for bus stops and beach just 5 mins down the road . hairdryer in the bathroom which was good . you have to pay extra for the aircon but going in june only needed it for the last few days . we also had to ask for extra pillows but the maids were very happy to oblige . we found maria very nice and pleasant . i would say take your own towels as the ones they provide are very small and a bit hard but all in all had a great stay and eat out every night at lots of excellent tavernas .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StokeOnTrentMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

For what we were after it was perfect. The rooms are very clean and Maria is brilliant. She looked after us and there was a nice atmosphere by the pool.
The room is like a little apartment with kitchen, bathroom and balcony. The bathroom isn't amazing but it's not terrible - it's clean and you have everything you need.
The maid comes once a day and they provide towels.
We just hired a bike and drove around the island exploring. Our room was a perfect little base, 3 minute walk from the beach and main strip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.3 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.0 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#32 of 75 in Kamari
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#18 of 75 in Kamari
404 reviews
2.4 mi away
Orizontes Hotel & Villas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zephyros
Hotel Zephyros
#26 of 75 in Kamari
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Preka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Preka

Property: Hotel Maria Preka
Address: Kamari Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Kamari
#29 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Maria Preka 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maria Preka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Preka Hotel
Maria Preka Kamari
Hotel Maria Preka Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing