We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon at Maria Preka”
Review of Hotel Maria Preka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Maria Preka
Ranked #40 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Reviewed June 20, 2012

For what we were after it was perfect. The rooms are very clean and Maria is brilliant. She looked after us and there was a nice atmosphere by the pool.
The room is like a little apartment with kitchen, bathroom and balcony. The bathroom isn't amazing but it's not terrible - it's clean and you have everything you need.
The maid comes once a day and they provide towels.
We just hired a bike and drove around the island exploring. Our room was a perfect little base, 3 minute walk from the beach and main strip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maria Preka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 154 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

Lovely holiday at Maria Preka. Owner very friendly. Pool area spotless as are rooms. Only drawback is the lack of a pool bar.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oovavooWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Santorini itselfs is a woderful place. We were lucky to stay in Maria Preka which was excellent choise. Nice rooms, queit location, lovely owners...can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaNi777984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Santorini was beautiful and only surpassed by the warm welcome we received from Maria and her delightful daughter at the adjoining hotel where we ate lunch on several occasions. We had the charming apartment rooms which amply allowed us space and facilities for 2 adults and 2 teenagers staying for one week. Thank you to maria and her lovely family who did everything to make our stay quite delightful.
we had several trips out and used the accessible bus service to markets etc. Truly magical and beautiful island which we hope to return to.

Room Tip: the apartment on ground floor was spacious and away from the main part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This hotel is very centrally located for all the many restaurants of Kamari. I have just returned from a weeks holiday and we were very lucky with the weather being a lot warmer than they usually get at the beginning of May with temperatures in the late twenties. The room was nice, my only criticism is the shower is hand held and I did think I would struggle washing my long hair with one hand but the pressure was good and it wasn't as much of a pain as I thought it would be. I am a bit of a sun worshipper and there is no topless bathing for ladies at this hotel. We liked Kamari, the restaurants were good, we particularly liked the Liver Bird for breakfast and the Seaside Restaurant for evening meals. The beach is black gravel, so we didn't lay on it which is a shame as the sea was clear and beautiful. Thira the capital is a 25 minute bus ride away and it is a lovely place and Oia which is a further half an hour on the bus is very pretty. Overall we had a great time and liked being based in Kamari, we were happy with the hotel. I did get bitten by mosquitos which I wasn't expecting so early in the season. The restaurants of Kamari are great with the waiters being very helpful, their English is great. Cost of a meal, roughly the same as here. Would definately go back as the whole island is so pretty, probably not the best place to go if you are really a beach lover.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19 which had a double and single bed in and still lots of room. A fridge, basic cr...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Santorini is beautiful and a must see Greek island. We stayed at Maria preka and it was a lovely base for exploring the island. Rooms are basic but very clean. The service is amazing, family run and very friendly. Thanks and we will return

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzie75_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

My girlfriend & I stayed at the Maria Preka a while back. We found it to be clean, but the studios were very small. We had to pay Thompsons a supplement, as we were told that it was meant to sleep 3. When I complained in writing to Thompsons on our return, telling them that you couldn`t possibly fit another bed in the room, they wrote back, saying that a member of staff had gone round & measured the room, & that it WAS possible to fit a 3rd bed in.
There would have literally been a 2ft strip of floor at the bottom of the beds, & we`d have had to climb over the bed to access the balcony doors.
Never had any problems with the owners though. They were very friendly throughout our stay. The central location was great too. The only bad meal we had in Kamari was at an Albanian run pizza place on the promenade.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.0 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.5 mi away
Epavlis Hotel
Epavlis Hotel
#34 of 75 in Kamari
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#23 of 75 in Kamari
419 reviews
2.4 mi away
Orizontes Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Sea Side Beach Hotel
Sea Side Beach Hotel
#11 of 75 in Kamari
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Preka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Preka

Address: Kamari Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Kamari
#29 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: $60 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Maria Preka 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maria Preka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Preka Hotel
Maria Preka Kamari
Hotel Maria Preka Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing