We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great”
Review of Fomithea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fomithea Hotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2009

I stayed in this hotel a few years ago. There was myself, my mam and my friend.

The room we were in was awful, round the back, dark, dingy and a terrible view onto wasteland, luckily we were moved to a room with a balcony for our second week.

We didn't find the owners friendly, infact I don't think they uttered a word to us until we were shouted at on our way home from a nice meal at about 11o'clock at night. I'd be the fisrt to admit if we were casing a ruckus but we were chatting quietly, the owner then started yelling at us and telling us to be quiet.

For most of the two weeks we went down to the beach as we found it did not have much of an atomosphere.

The next year we changed back to our normal hotel, I would defiantly not go again

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Santorinilover24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 111 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2008

We was aprehensive after reading the other reviews but for the price we paid (£265 for a week), we was more than happy. We had a large ground floor room which on tiptoes you could see the sea and the morning sunrise. But here comes the word of warning for anyone who's staying at Fomithea, DO NOT use the adjoining pool next door at the Selina Hotel. We used their pool and met some great people. We didn't realise we wasn't allowed to use the pool as the hotels are very closely linked by a footpath and there are no signs anywhere saying you can't use the pool. On the 5th day the rude and leering owner (ogled the girls all day long), then made a spectactle and embarassed us greatly by shouting in greek and telling anyone who would listen we was from the hotel next door and that we shouldn't be in his pool. We felt like naughty yobbo teenagers and not the late 30s couple we are! He put a dampner on a good week and he wasn't a great advertisement for the greeks! ..But back to the Fomithea it is a gem of a bargain and Maria the owner is a good advertisement for the greeks. Money saving tip - the low euro has seriously pushed the prices up, try the local wine in a wooden barrel outside the nearby supermarket next to 'Taverno No Name', at 2.3 euros for a litre its a nice early evening balcony drink!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klrobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Hotel Fomithea is in a quiet location only five minutes walk from the beach and main promenade of Kamari.

The hotel is basic, but clean and as stated in the other review it is best to ask for a room with a balcony and specify 'pool view' as these rooms are the brightest. We too stayed in a bunker with a patio that faced two other rooms.. it was too embarassing to even open the curtains as there was always someone a meter away, staring back at you! but fortunately we travelled with another couple who had a more spacious room and so we spent the early evenings on their balcony.

Furnishings are typically greek with two pine beds and a dodgy shower, but for the rating and price you pay for staying here, you wouldn't expect the lap of luxury.

Kamari itself is a wonderful resort, lots of restaurants and lounge/cocktail bars to keep you occupied but with an emphasis on relaxing, you'll be hard pushed to find late night discos but the bars are open till late and music is provided in many of the bars.

Food wise, well, we didn't have a bad meal. The best by far though, was the Indian/Chinese restaurant set on the back road from the Fomithea... possibly the best Indian food i've ever eaten and the chinese was wonderful too.. very authentic and very spicy which is nice as Indian restaurants in the greek islands tend to be quite bland.

I would definately go back to Kamari, I think it's the perfect base for a holiday in Santorini as Thira and Oia are very much geared up for the Cruise liners and it's unnecessarily expensive. A taxi up to Thira cost us about £10 and it's worth going over there for a couple of evenings just to experience the sunsets, but you can quite easily hire cars or quad bikes to get around the island to explore during the day.

Kamari is the perfect base to escpae the tourist traps and it's all on the flat too, which is great if mobility is a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chickie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2005

Good location, about 5 minutes walk from the beach.Near lots of restaurants. Very friendly owners.Our room was clean but we called it the bunker, down some steps from the pool and only light was through patio door, not ideal..better experience would have been a room with a balcony as was requested. Could have air con but room was quite cool anyway. Shower leaked but that's Greece for you! Good price for Santorini, only paid £224 each for the week via Kosmar Hols. Would go back to Santorini but stay in a better class of hotel. Kosmar rate it 2.5 stars, I would agree.
Kamari, nice resort, relaxed atmosphere, good bars, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank tinka14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Hotel wielopoziomowy, brak udogodnień dla osób niepełnosprawnych ruchowo. Dużo schodów i ciasne kory...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wojciech S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Paola U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Upper floors, in the renewed part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Piotr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0 mi away
Selini Hotel
Selini Hotel
#37 of 75 in Kamari
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#19 of 75 in Kamari
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
La Mer Deluxe Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fomithea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fomithea Hotel

Address: Zoodoxou Pigis, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Kamari
Price Range: $91 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fomithea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Fomithea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fomithea Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing