We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, cut above the rest”

Vassilikos Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 124 Restaurants in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
South London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, cut above the rest”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Just been to Vassilikos with my partner and had a fantastic 3 course meal with wine for €60.

The food is definitely a cut above the usual fair on Kamari Beach, innovative, well cooked, flavoursome with subtle use of spices to enhance the pork, fish and squid we ordered. All the food was cooked to perfection, the squid was exquisite and pork tender and the fresh fish flavoured with lime which I'd never had before. The pudding became a bun fight between the two of us, mille feuille with butterscotch sauce, chocolate and vanilla ice cream topped with cold custard. Heaven!

Service was a little slow, but it is the beginning of the season and I think they got caught out as they were very busy. Didn't put us off as the beach front location meant you could just enjoy the view whilst waiting.

Overall a lovely experience with friendly service and good recommendations along with the personal touch as they took the time to get to know you. Definitely going back.

Helpful?
Thank Grizz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    146
    58
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality and class stands out above a mass of local restaurants”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Food superb, original and of the highest quality. Service interested and professional. Waiters suggestions obviously based on knowledge of the fare not simply to sell an extra dish. Certainly the best meals (twice in a week!) of the holiday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jsm2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Best meals in out 10 days in Greece”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Had dinner there twice in September after it was recommended by desk clerk at our hotel. Great service and location. We told the waiter to just "feed us" with what he would want to eat. The food is really excellent. The Santorini salad was full of capers, onions, and the exquisite native tomatoes. I am very fond of calamari, and their grilled calamari with pesto appetizer was outstanding and really a meal in itself. My wife had the seafood moussaka, which was a surprising dish that was chock full of seafood, totally delicious and barely resembled what we would expect to see in America. The owner is from Russia and brings a different take on traditional Greek cuisine. Rarely have I enjoyed meals more than the dinners we had here. We recommended Vassilikos to several people from our hotel, and they all raved about the place afterwards. One party included a woman who left an envelope full of money on the table when she left. She called them later to ask if they had seen it.The restaurant employee's proceeded to through all their trash, found the envelope, and delivered to the hotel, refusing any tip or reward of any kind!! Not sure if many American restaurants would have done the same

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch and GREAT sun beds!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We only had lunch here a couple of times and enjoyed it very much! The waiter during lunch is quite a character! I thought he was very funny but some might need some time to get used to him. Even then, they do have the most luxurious sun beds of Kamari!!! ;)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hogwallop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quite tasty”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Not a bad meal although don't like the fact that they bring bread to your table without you asking for it and then charge 2.5 euro for it. Most other places we've eaten in have brought bread but not added it to the bill. Could have done with some vegetables with the main and portion size not generous considering the price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank het2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vassilikos Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vassilikos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing