We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Kamari”
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #49 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
cheshire
1 review
“Great time in Kamari”
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Subject: Sideris Sunflower Villa

Location: Kamari, Santorini, Cyclades, Greece, Europe

Title: Great week in Santorini

ID#: 20123307

My husband and i stayed at the Sideris Sunflower appartments for a weeks break.The island of Santorini is beautiful,even though the island is so small you can find lots of things to do.
Gregory and Sideris were our hosts and nothing was to much trouble for them no matter what time of the day.The rooms were basic but very clean,and with the complex being small everyone got to know each other.There are plenty of places to eat within easy walking distance all of whom would like you to sample their dishes we ate in different places each night and enjoyed everything we had.We both can understand why people want to go back year after year and are hoping to go back next year.
Gregory is the best frappe maker in Santorini
Dawn + Nick Hague

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank middlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    48
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
50
128
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

My husband and I have just stayed for one week at Sideris and what a great week that was. Gregory and Sideris were fantastic hosts, nothing is too much bother for them. The apartments are basic but are cleaned every day except Sunday by a hard working young lady. The grounds are kept immaculate and the pool is nice with plenty of comfortable beds. it is about 5 minutes walk to the beach and there are plenty of shops within easy walking distance. We climbed up to Ancient Thira early one morning, it took us about 40 minutes but it was worth it. Comfortable shoes or trainers are a must if you go on the volcano trip, which was really good.

  • Liked — Friendly attitude
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank freya23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We booked a week here via Kosmar, & I can honestly say, it was the nicest place I've stayed in Greece.
On arrival the owners Sideris & Gregory are there to meet you from the bus & show you to your apartment.They are great guys, very friendly & always keen to help.
The apartments are spotlessly clean, thanks to a lovely young lady who works hard every day. Beds and towels are changed frequently.
Some of the apartments overlook the pool & the higher ones get a sea view, but we were very happy at the back, overlooking the garden. We spent hours entertained by the many kittens living among the bushes & plants!
The pool area is great, kept very clean & there were always enough sunbeds.Most people seemed to spend time there, rather than the beach.There is a small pool bar, with beers & soft drinks etc & Gregory makes toasties. If there's nobody behind the bar you can help yourself, & leave the money in the ashtray!
Next door to the apartments is a travel agent owned by Lisos & his german wife. They both speak excellent english & were really helpful booking trips & car hire etc, cheaper than Kosmar or other places in town.
Kamari is a lovely resort. There is a great beach of volcanic sand. More like very fine gravel. It gets really hot, & you need shoes. Most people bought neoprene slippers for about 5 Euro & kept them on to swim.The water is clear & warm but does shelve off pretty steeply.
All along the seafront are shops & restaurants.We ate at a different one each night & they are all pretty good.Despite other reviews the only bad meal we had was at the " no name taverna " - wouldn't recomment it.
One thing we really liked was that it was nearly all couples in Santorini. No yobs, no drunks, no football shirts & very few children.There were a lot of wealthy young italian couples, & also germans, which made a good mix - not too many brits! I do like to feel I'm abroad on holiday!
Santorini is just stunning.An absolute must see is the town of Oia.It is breath takingly beautiful. The capital Fira is also very pretty, but very much geared up to the cruise ships that all stop there . There are great boat trips available and another must is to to watch the sunset. There are organised ( expensive ) trips, but basically anywhere west you'll get a good view,We went to a winery & watched the sun go down with cheese & a glass of Santorini white - very nice.
All in all we can't fault the accomodation, we fell in love with Santorini & can't wait to go back.Sideris & Gregory have a few apartments that they let privately, & they have a new website siderissunflower.gr where you can see more. We'll be going back for sure.

  • Liked — THe friendly owners
  • Disliked — I loved everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mamahen46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We have just returned from the sideris apartments.I could not fault them.As previously mentioned in reviews they are clean,spacious and in a great central location.The owners are lovely people and work hard all day keeping the guests happy.The downside is the road which runs past as it is quite busy in my mind for a greek island compared to other islands we have visited.Quad bikes and mopeds are the main culprits and some days it takes a good few minutes to pick a suitable time to cross.I would highly recommend the apartments though.However I dont want to be too negative but the area of Kamari was not as we expected.This is a purely personal preference and so i will simply tell it as it is and for many it will be perfect.The beach:Yes it is hot.there isnt actually any sand at all and it is all tiny bits of gravel and resembles a car park surface.The loungers are cheap enough at 7 euros a set where we were at the rock end.plenty of places to eat or buy snacks.The sea is not for families,non swimmers,snorklers or those like us who like to walk out far and play around etc. as after a few steps it drops off to 20 or so feet so you walk a litle then have to start swimming.there is no info about this and i bet some are taken by suprise.As for eateries there is a good half hour stroll along the seafront lined with bars,shops,restaurants and others on off shoot streets.again although very cosmopolitan and not in the least rowdy,this was not for us.The worst part is that they are all fronted by someone enticing you in so stopping to browse a menu is impossible as is strolling and chatting as they get you from all sides.we eventually found a way of skirting round some by taking a long detour to get to the front.The food is all much same but we prefered Hook bar as it was laid back,the waiter was lovely,value for money and more important we werent hassled to go in.No name must get a mention also.Cost of meals were about 85 euros for starters main and drinks.There are a couple of ATM's which we needed due to the Euro at the moment.There are probably a dozen or so supermarkets,bakeries.a pharmacy and medical centre.all told the weather was glorious and we had a good time it simply wasnt what we look for,having been to lesvos,kefallonia and samos we will be returning to one of them next year.

  • Liked — The pool area
  • Disliked — the road outside
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L.Mansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2008

We stayed at Sideris Appts for a week in June 2008 and had a fantastic holiday. Sideris Appts & Studios are the cleanest and best maintained accomodation we have stayed in for the money. Sideris and Gregory, the owners, can not do enough to help, they are genuinley some of the friendliest people we have ever met.

The appartments are conveniently located, close enough to the beach (a five min walk) but far enough away to be peaceful.

The restaurants on the sea front in Kamari are fantastic, we didn't have a bad meal throughout the holiday.

Against recommendation we hired a quad bike for the day and toured the whole island, we saw some absolutley beautiful places and views but Kamari is definately the best place to stay.

We would recommend Sideris Appts to anyone and will definatley be going back ourselves!

  • Liked — Clean & Friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyClarke01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea, wales
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2008

we have been going to santorini for over 10 years, i have stayed in several hotels & self catering appts, but when we found the sideris in 2004 we found the place for us & we have never stayed anywhere else. the appts are very clean & comfertable.the grounds & pool are fantastic & sideris & his brother gregory are the best. we spent a peacefull week there in june, but unfortunatly we can't make it in september as we have familey commitments, but roll on may 2009, WE WILL BE BACK. the location is great only a 5 minute walk to the resort centre. sideris gregory we will be intouch with the dates for may... take care .. stan & mary

  • Liked — clean, good location. friendly familey run apartments
  • Disliked — nothing. it was all good
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Recently returned from a super week in Santorini at The Sideris.
Ist floor studio (double bed) was basic but clean, with a balcony overlooking the pool with good sea and mountain views. The rooms at the back would get sun in the afternoon and overlook the lovely gardens. The pool was very clean, if a little cold in May, only 4 rooms occupied as early in season so plenty of choice of sunbeds.
Gregory was the perfect host, a gentleman and very knowledgeable about Santorini. The pool bar is well stocked and you just leave your money in the ashtray provided.
Short walk to the beach, shops and tavernas, never had a bad meal all week, food was lovely, service excellant, tried local food eg fava, tomato balls. Favourite was 'Amalthia' (?) 2 tavernas nearer to the sea than 'No Name', but as I said, tried somewhere different every day and all food was great.
Good supermarket just up the hill from 'No Name', sells local wine straight from the barrell.
Went up to Ancient Thira by mini bus and walked down, fantastic views!
Took water taxi to Perissa, seemed like a nice quiet resort, boat around 'The Rock' is spectacular, make sure you wear beach shoes to get on/off boat as those pebbles hurt if barefooted and hot sand burns!
Took local bus to Thira (packed on like sardines!) and an evening trip to Oia (booked through office next to appartments for 10 Euros each), left at 18.30 and came back at 21.30. hairaising zig-zag journey to Oia, time to wander around and enjoy the scramble for the sunset views, dread to think what it must be like in High Season!
All in all a great holiday, Gregory was top and Sideris appts great, good location, the best end of town.
Think Santorini would be too busy for us in High Season but in May it was peaceful sunny and warm.
Wish we were there!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.2 mi away
Sellada Apartments Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akis
Hotel Akis
#65 of 75 in Kamari
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Elena Hotel
Santa Elena Hotel
#25 of 75 in Kamari
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.3 mi away
Horizon Resort
Horizon Resort
#13 of 75 in Kamari
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zephyros
Hotel Zephyros
#30 of 75 in Kamari
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Property: Sunflower Hotel
Address: MESARIAS-ARXEAS THIRAS, Kamari 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#26 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunflower is a family-owned hotel run by Gregory and Sideris who are at your service from the very first moment. It is very well-known for its true hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sideris Sunflower Villa Hotel Kamari
Sideris Sunflower Hotel
Hotel Sideris Sunflower
Sunflower Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing