We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average quality, nice rate, impressive location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Boathouse Hotel
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 10, 2010

The boathouse is a nice hotel with a decent quality for the price. The beds could be better (a bit hard) and the room we had could be refurnished (especially the bathroom, clean but not a great shower and nice surroundings) but i guess the prices wouldn't be the same.
We had a very nice view on the sea (and the isle of Anafi) and a little balcony to take advantage of it. The fridge was a nice addition because we like to have some bottle of water (even though it was only the month of june the heat was already here). They have a nice pool, the breakfast is ok, and the staff is helpful : we were picked up at the airport, and they made an arrangement with the airport because one of our luggage was forgotten at Athen so that we would find it at the hotel the next morning.

The rate was 75€/night for a room with sea view breakfast included in june 2009.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 456 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2010

We spent the most wonderful fortnight @ The Boathouse in July with our family. We were recommended this hotel by my mum who has been 4 times and it gets better everytime they come back. Me, my husband and out 2 kids (under 10) my parents and my inlaws were all together. The Staff at The Boathouse were amazingly friendly and very helpful. Our room was a Seaview and the View was amazing. The room was spotless and the pool area was just lovely with enough sunbeds to go round.
My kids loved it and all the staff got to know them. Birgitta was wonderfull especially to my son !! When he went to the bar for a drink she would mix up a fruit smoothie for him cos she knew we didnt like him having coke !!!
Diane & Spiros the owners have got to know my mum and dad over the years and when my mum was looking for a church Spiros volunteered to take her to his church. Not only did he take her he took my dad and my inlaws. He then took them for a drive and a tour of where he grew up. Nothing is ever a problem for them all.
The Amira (the hotels resturant) Was just lovely and we ate there several times in the fortnight. We ate in Yamas (also belongs to the hotel ) every lunch time, if we didnt want to leave the pool area the guys at Yamas would bring our lunch to us.
We were at the quieter end of the street and 20 yards up the road there are endless bars and Resturants to choose from.
We loved this hotel so much we have already booked to go back in August next year, this time with friends and their little boy, who will no doubt love it as much as we do.
Thanks everyone at The Boathouse for making our holiday and we cant wait to come back in August xx

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brindleyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Really the location is perfect it's really on the beach and in a perfect place, but unfortunately the rooms were very bad as the curtains there were very light and even there window was in glass so you couldn't sleep after the sun rise. also there was a bad smell coming from the bathroom all the time and the light there was very low that you couldn't see anything. also our room was on the pool so the noise there from the early morning was very bad that you couldn't enjoy a quiet stay with your partner. but also people there were very nice and helpful and they know how to treat the tourists. at the end may be I had bad luck considering the room but I can’t recommend this place to honeymooners or partners I can recommend it to families

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jackline_romel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMZ, Manager at The Boathouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2010

Hello Milad,

Thank you for your feedback for The Boathouse Hotel, we are sorry that we did not have the opportunity to fix the problem with the curtains in your room - we can add blackout curtains to rooms that do not enjoy the sunrise and had we known while you were here we would have had Barbara and Sophia add these for you. The end of July and beginning of August is the most popular time for families with children (as school is out in most of Europe) and you were here right in the middle of that and at that time we did have many families. Right now, for instance(September), we have no families at all and there is no action or noise around the pool even though we are full. An option would have been to switch to one of our non-sea view rooms (lower rate) which are very quiet all season. Also, there are hotels in Thira and Oia that do not accept children but most hotels in Kamari are family friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed for a week at the Boathouse Hotel and I can honestly say that this was a wonderful place. The room was spacious, quiet, clean and very comfortable ( the bed was super!). The staff were friendly and helpful with all our requests. Whether sitting on the beach or around the pool, the atmosphere was great. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZanyZina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Diane and Spyros have a lovely small family run hotel. You get a great welcome here! Everything is very tidy and clean. The pool is well looked after and there are plenty of seats and sunbeds in the surrounding area. If you want to no about Kamari then ask your hosts, they really do have all the answers and are very willing to help.
The restaurant affiliated to the hotel is called the Almira. The food here is delicious and the are very professional. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spasmodic9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We returned on 3rd August from our 4th holiday at The Boathouse (8 of us). This time we went during the school holidays as we were with family including two grandchildren. We were a little apprehensive as to whether we would enjoy it as much with the inevitable extra children holidaying there due to the school summer holidays, but I can honestly say that we had a great time. Spyros, Diane, Brigetta, Evi & Barbara go to great lengths to make you feel totally relaxed and at home, even though this was a particularly busy time for them. Our grandchildren had a wonderful time and it was fantastic to watch them make so many new friends despite, in some cases, a language barrier.

Several of my friends have visited the Boathouse at different times this year on my recommendation and each and every one of them without fail has had a really good time and have come back full of praise for the owners & staff at this small family run hotel.

Love to you all at The Boathouse, can't wait to see you all again xx

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We simply loved our stay at the Boathouse Hotel. Incredible staff that made us feel part of the Boathouse family. I cannot find anything to complain about. We loved breakfast: lots of choice. I always started with the famous Greek yoghurt with honey and fresh fruit. Delicious! But there's a lot more to choose of! The pool is wonderful and the wine at the bar is very tasteful and not expensive! Our room was cleaned every day and the bed was made a different way every day too. Thanks for making us feel so much at home Spyros, Diane, Brigitta and Evy!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#19 of 75 in Kamari
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#8 of 75 in Kamari
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellonias Villas
Bellonias Villas
#3 of 75 in Kamari
821 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Side Beach Hotel
Sea Side Beach Hotel
#11 of 75 in Kamari
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Hotel

Address: Kamari Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamari
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kamari
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#11 Family Hotel in Kamari
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: $97 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boathouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the spectacularly beautiful island of Santorini, a major stop on many cruise ship tours, the Boathouse Hotel is a family run waterfront Hotel on Kamari Beach about a 5-minute walk from the center of Kamari and about a 15-minute bus ride from the main town of Thira. We offer Deluxe rooms with air - conditioning, telephone, safe-box, bathroom and balcony. Our rooms are spacious and have either Seaview or Mountain- view. An extensive Buffet Breakfast is served daily from 8am until 11am, Poolside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Boathouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kamari
Boathouse Resort Kamari
Boathouse Hotel Santorini
Boathouse Santorini
The Boathouse Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing