We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Boathouse Hotel
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not impressed ”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a week with my girlfriend. I guess it was ok for the price, the location is good right on the beach. The room was comfy and clean. The breakfast is very basic and certain stuff like the towels and the linens should be replaced. Also note that it is very noisy in Kamari due to the proximity to the airport. The airplane approaching would frequently wake me up.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Sébastien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMZ, Owner at The Boathouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Sebastian,

We would like trip advisor readers to know that our hotel is a 3 star hotel. The room that you booked (and the price reflects this) was one of our Non-Sea view Economy Rooms - please note at the time of your booking there was availability for our more expensive Sea view Rooms - yet you did opt for our Economy Rate ( we have 4 economy double rooms at this lower rate and they actually are in very high demand due to our cleanliness and location, breakfast and the size of our beach side pool). We would also like our readers to know that our breakfast is also one of the most extensive breakfasts on Kamari Beach including Italian coffee, tea, orange juice, fruit and vegetable mixed juice, grapefruit juice, toast, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bacon, sausage, turkey, salami, ham, cheeses, yogourt, fresh fruit salad (including apple, watermelon, honey melon, banana, oranges, peaches and pears) muesli, cornflakes and then a large assortment of jams, marmalades and honey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    80
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
101
201
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at the Boathouse in mid-July this year and had a really lovely time. The hotel itself is clean, tidy and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We also felt the hotel was very reasonably priced and although we actually spent the last two days in a much more expensive hotel in Oia, if we had known how good the Boathouse was and how close everything on Santorini actually is by bus, we would have stayed there throughout (and saved ourselves a few quid in the process!). I really recommend getting around the island on the buses. I was a little dubious at first but they are painfully simple to negotiate, very frequent, run until midnight and the island is so small that you can basically get anywhere from Kamari in 45 minutes. When we stayed in Oia it really highlighted just how friendly and cheap Kamari was in comparison and we would not hesitate in going back to the Boathouse if we go to Santorini again. Thank you so much to all the team for a wonderful holiday!!! x

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor with a sea view which was really lovely as it had a large private terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VickyM237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago with 4 friends. We arrived early hours of morning and the keys for the room were left in reception - little note you have to inform the hotel if you are arriving after midnight as staff leave at this time and leave the keys for you.

Rooms are basic but have everything you need.

The hotel is on the beach which is perfect and the walk along the beachfront has plenty of restaurants and some bars. For the best bars I would go to Fira (murpheys Irish bar is particularly good).

Kamari is a lovely part of the island and I would visit here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staceyjane03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoghton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

From the moment we walked out of Santorini airport we were greeted by Spiro, the owner of the Boathouse who gave us an excellent overview of the Island on our 10 minute journey to the hotel. We arrived at the hotel and were met by Kelly was absolutely lovely and friendly, making us feel very welcome while taking us to our room. The hotel is beautiful and when people walked past who weren't staying at the hotel they took pictures of the lovely building. The rooms are traditional Greek, they're impeccably clean and have fantastic air-con. The rooms are basic in terms of the amenities but the out doors are beautiful so the basic rooms are really irrelevant as we spent very little time in the room. The Boathouse is in the best location in Kamari, it's right on the beach and next to all the best restaurants and bars in what we would call the quieter, classier and best value for money area of Kamari. I would definitely return to this hotel, the pool is fantastic and the cocktails were excellent! Spiro, Diane, Effie, Kelly, Will, Finn and all the staff working at the Boathouse made us feel like we were part of their extended family! Effie was great company in the evenings on the bar before we went for our meals and Will, Finn and Kelly were great help around the pool. Thank you all so much for making our stay so great!

Room Tip: We chose a room with a beach view, this was great as it meant we had a fantastic balcony area all to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We are here at the Boathouse hotel in Phuket enjoying being treated like royalty. It's really everything you could want in a tropical getaway. Feels like we own this stretch of beach. Beautiful views from both restaurants. We just ate breakfast right next to the waves. The food here is awesome. The whole package is at a level of sophistication that you don't often find for this price, even for off season. Good job Boathouse!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon-N-Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We spent a few days in this little nice hotel in kamari. The location is great, right on the beach promenade (north end). The hotel itself is nice, with a cosy swimming pool and a little bar. The room was simply furnished (no TV).

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bigjim33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

If I ever returned to santorini, I would stay here. A true family hotel, small and friendly and every everyone could not do enough to help, either with the small baby or to help with hire car. Hotel rooms basic but clean and all u need. Lovely small pool and just on the beach and at the quiet end of town.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mjr1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.2 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#16 of 75 in Kamari
401 reviews
2.6 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
427 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 80 in Fira
805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#18 of 75 in Kamari
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Hotel

Property: The Boathouse Hotel
Address: Kamari Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamari
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kamari
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#11 Family Hotel in Kamari
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boathouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the spectacularly beautiful island of Santorini, a major stop on many cruise ship tours, the Boathouse Hotel is a family run waterfront Hotel on Kamari Beach about a 5-minute walk from the center of Kamari and about a 15-minute bus ride from the main town of Thira. We offer Deluxe rooms with air - conditioning, telephone, safe-box, bathroom and balcony. Our rooms are spacious and have either Seaview or Mountain- view. An extensive Buffet Breakfast is served daily from 8am until 11am, Poolside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Boathouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kamari
Boathouse Resort Kamari
Boathouse Hotel Santorini
Boathouse Santorini
The Boathouse Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing