We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re: mikewerx review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Boathouse Hotel
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband & I have just returned from our second visit to the Boathouse & it didnt disappoint. We were welcomed back like old friends & everything was fine.

I am shocked by the above mentioned review as the comments suggest he was expecting 5star luxury! Why if he was on a working holiday did he not check if there was wifi available & why choose a reasonably priced hotel & complain as if it claimed to be 5star?

When we went to the Boathouse for the first time last year, we chose it because it was relatively small & reasonably priced even staying in the 'Honeymoon suite'. This year it was not available but the economy room we had was fine. The room was spacious & the bed kingsize & everything was spotlessly clean. No bad smells at all!

We love it for its rustic charm & the staff are really friendly & ever willing to help. The hotel is at the quiet end of Kamari with the fabulous Almeri Restaurant (also owned by the Boathouse) right next door.

For anyone wanting a smallish, quiet hotel with privacy I strongly recommend it.

To Spiros, Kelly & all the staff. Thank you from Rosie & Alan Roach. Wales UK

Room Tip: If the Hoeymoon Suite is available it is worth th extra cost but the Sea View rooms are good as are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank rosielamphey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 456 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Upon arriving at the hotel, the location was great, right across the boardwalk from the beach. Upon entering our room, the stench from the bathroom made us have to request another room. The new room was also ocean view, less the smell - initially. The beds were old and stiff, and the room was tight. AC threw off a bad smell. No wifi in room, so we had to spend much time looking at destinations and emailing down by their main office. I had to work while on vacation, so spent much time down there. A couple days on, apparently the wind shifted, as a crazy horrible smell came from our bathroom again, from the sewer pipes. the owner said that was normal, and nothing we could do about it. so we had to bare the next 2 days in an awful smelling room. Breakfast was typical, but i was very jealous of the next hotel over with a much nicer spread. The bathroom was kind of gross, as the whole thing got soaked when taking a shower, which made it feel even worse. Another horrible point is we were there for 4 days, and they never changed our sheets! The only soap in the room for shampoo, body, or anything, was a little pump soap on the sink. Overall, this is an inexpensive place for the budget traveler, but don't expect anything too nice and high quality here, beyond how nice the workers were. The owner was a super nice guy.

Room Tip: Great location, just don't expect too much in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikewerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a fabulous time staying at the Boathouse hotel. The rooms are lovely, clean and very comfortable. The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful. It is very conveniently located right on the beach. We would absolutely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel to all of our friends and family. It was fabulous and we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmieo1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Have just returned from Kamari where we stayed in the Boathouse studios. It was a great location, right on the beach, yards away from the many restaurants. The room was spacious and clean and the surrounding pool area lovely and quiet. Just what you want from a relaxing break. A BIG thank you to Maria (the owner) for ironing my husbands shirts! I have never known that before! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philly3145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Kayla suites which also belongs to the Boathouse hotel. Maria, the owner was so sweet and made us feel so welcome. We had the best service. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the pool area was very beautiful. We had a view over the sea from our balcony and it was so beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Californiaforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

To set the scene, I've been to lots of Greek Islands over the past 20 odd years, and visited Santorini twice before, but I have to say that the Boathouse Studios are the BEST studios I've ever stayed at! New, clean, modern, spacious, quiet with the most amazing bathrooms! Staff very welcoming, walked us down from the main hotel building, chatting all the way.

Stayed with my best friend for a 4 day break. Studios have one double wrought iron bed and one single wrought iron bed, table & chairs (indoor and on the balcony), small kitchenette area with coffee maker and great bathroom with a proper shower cubicle (all inlaid with pebbled tiles - beautiful!) and FREE a/c and safe.

Got a bargain on Travel Republic's site and didn't expect it to be as excellent quality as it was. 2 mins from the beach and the main seafront promenade with it's wealth of restaurants, shops, cafes and bars. Yes, you are on the flight path as it's a 10 min transfer to the airport but with only a handful of flights each day it's more than bearable. 2 supermarkets within 1 min walk so perfect for a cold beer at any time!

The pool is perfect, not too big and no pool bar or noise - heaven! It honestly felt like your own little private villa complex once you shut the big wooden door to the grounds...would highly recommend! There are about 12 studios in the complex so it's nice and private. Go, you will LOVE it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelittle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Loved the Boathouse studios! Location: very convenient, 2 min walk to the beach and the main hotel building, same distance to the best (in our opinion) restaurants in Kamari: Almira and Ya Mas, where the guests get a 10% discount. 1 min walk to a small market just on the corner of the street, where you can buy all the necessities. I have to mention the wonderful service of sales personnel, they were all so friendly and kind, and as we were frequent customers, even gave us free souvenirs on the last day of our stay. Rooms: surprisingly spacious by any standards, very high ceilings, very pleasant decor, perfectly functional bathroom with great water pressure. The studio was spotlessly clean upon our arrival and was cleaned daily during our whole stay. The owners are very friendly and relaxed, and so is the lovely girl who works at the bar and reception. Studios have their own cozy inner yard with sunbeds and a small pool, but guests are also welcome to use the main pool at the hotel. Cocktails at the pool bar are cheap (all for 5 eur) and really good, watermelon mojito is fantastic! We have also used the airport transfer provided by the hotel, it was cheaper than a taxi and efficient. I'd definitely recommend staying at the Boathouse studios.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the second floor provide more privacy, the ones on the 1st floor are on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ato-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.6 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#3 of 75 in Kamari
471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellonias Villas
Bellonias Villas
#2 of 75 in Kamari
822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#1 of 75 in Kamari
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#15 of 75 in Kamari
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#6 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Hotel

Address: Kamari Beach, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamari
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kamari
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#8 Family Hotel in Kamari
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: $71 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boathouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the spectacularly beautiful island of Santorini, a major stop on many cruise ship tours, the Boathouse Hotel is a family run waterfront Hotel on Kamari Beach about a 5-minute walk from the center of Kamari and about a 15-minute bus ride from the main town of Thira. We offer Deluxe rooms with air - conditioning, telephone, safe-box, bathroom and balcony. Our rooms are spacious and have either Seaview or Mountain- view. An extensive Buffet Breakfast is served daily from 8am until 11am, Poolside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Boathouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kamari
Boathouse Resort Kamari
Boathouse Hotel Santorini
Boathouse Santorini
The Boathouse Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing