We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Avra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avra Hotel
Ranked #49 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Stayed for 2 weeks in June 09.
Basic room, in a family run hotel - but what a lovely peaceful location, we stayed in room 2, (i think, ask for the room over reception) balcony was private over the entrance to the hotel, facing the main road. We never heard a thing.
Breakfast was basic, but fine, the pool was great, room service was excellent all contributing to a very relaxing 2 week break.

Any review wouldn't be complete without thanking Dora who worked on reception, who was very friendly throughout our stay.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lazylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 227 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2009

stayed at Avra for one week wish it had been longer.The room was clean ,comfortable and typical Greek decor.The maid came round every day (Sunday included)bedding and clean towels everyday ,nothing was too much trouble for her .Dora on reception was a great help as we had forgotten our kettle but she boiled us hot water at any time of asking,thankyou Dora.
Breakfast is usual Continental style,bread cheese,meat etc very tasty to get the day started.
Pool area is nice and clean and plenty of sunloungers.
Location is great, being only minutes from the beach and restaurants on the front(must try Splash on the end and Raffaellos which does veal to die for)
All in all an excellent little hotel with great staff and great location ,will definately go back

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

This hotel is located in Kamari, one of the busiest beaches in Santorini that has a lot to offer. Only few yards away from the beach, the hotel is in an ideal location if you are a beach fan and you want to spend some days of relaxation.

The room was clean and from our balcony you could see the pool which in my opinion was the landmark of the hotel. Although my friends and i did not spend a lot of time sunbathing by the pool, the few times we were there, it was beautiful. Very peaceful and very clean water.

Breakfast was ok, just the typical continental breakfast many hotels in Greece offer. The lady that checked us in ( i think her name was Dimitra) was very helpful, kind and smiled at us. She spoke good english too.

One of the negative experiences i had from that hotel during my stay was an incident that took place one morning while we were having breakfast. This happened after i lit a cigarette and this was done after i checked around to see if there were any no smoking signs, which were not. A member of staff, a young short girl with curly dark hair asked her colleague in greek (being a greek myself, i could understand everything that was said) why she let us smoke in a rude way.In my opinion this should have been discussed in a private area or even better the management team should have ensured to put some signs in the room in order to prevent this from happening. This lack of professionalism followed by some of her constant talks over the phone with her mates while clearing the tables was by far annoying.

My overall impression of the hotel is still good although there were some things that i wouldn't like to experience again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elekout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2006

This family run hotel offered solid accommodations in a heavily trafficked beach town--luckily, it was off the main road so I never heard the crowds or the traffic. The pool was lovely--surrounded by beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers plus a view of ancient Thira. The hotel proprieter was particularly kind to us (we were a group of 25 staying for 7 days), she even brought us domatokeftedes and sherry one day as a few of us siesta'd in the sitting room.

Each room had a balcony, and the fastest maid service I have ever seen! The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the pebble end of Kamari beach, and 8 minutes to the sand (but it is via the strip, so it is worth it.) Breakfast was classic Greek hotel breakfast, with excellent yogurt.

And if you get a craving for Indian food while in Kamari--you are in luck as the only Indian restaurant in town in EXCELLENT!

If ever in Kamari beach, I would stay here--it was very reasonable, quiet, nice pool and close to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstySchweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Martam1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Alessandro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.4 mi away
Sellada Apartments Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Akis
Hotel Akis
#67 of 75 in Kamari
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mary Hotel
Mary Hotel
#64 of 75 in Kamari
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#26 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kafouros Hotel
Kafouros Hotel
#31 of 75 in Kamari
216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#55 of 75 in Kamari
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Hotel

Address: Kamari 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: $75 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Avra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Avra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Hotel Kamari
Avra Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing