We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT!! I would recommend anyone staying here!”
Review of Avra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avra Hotel
Ranked #49 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I'm 18 and stayed at Hotel Avra for 2 weeks last month with 2 of my friends and we simply had the best time, largely due to the hotel and its fabulous staff! As soon as we arrived at the hotel we felt welcomed and the receptionist Spiridoula was more than happy to help with any and all our questions. Throughout our stay she was intent on us having the best holiday possible and told us all the best places to visit and things to do, providing endless maps and information on her beautiful island. Her friendly and cheery disposition really did make our holiday!

The pool was lovely and clean with enough sun loungers to go around. The hotel had a beautiful little garden with space to sit out in.

In our room we had 3 single beds which fitted just fine. The rooms was beautifully clean with the maid coming every morning. The room also had a lovely little balcony with table and chairs to sit out on with a nice drink before heading out for dinner!

The hotel was in a brilliant location, just a one minute walk from the beach and a long strip of beach restaurants, all of which served delicious food and plenty of Greek dishes to try and once again all the staff were extremely friendly and professional. We went to a few karaoke nights which were such good fun and plenty of bars for cocktails!
Despite the hotels close proximity to the beach, because it was situated at the end of the restaurant strip it was in no way noisy at night.
The hotel is a easy 10 minute walk to the bus stop and main town where you can get a bus for about €2 to Fira (the capital of the island) and from there you can catch buses to explore the whole island cheaply, easily and throughout the whole day.
The hotel is only a few doors down from a mini market where you can get bottled water and all basic commodities.

Overall the hotel was perfect - lovely people, good clean facilities and brilliant location!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieRow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 227 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

I visited the Avra in July with two friends and was pleasantly surprised by the hotel! From the exterior the hotel is very inviting with a well maintained garden and a lovely, clean swimming pool with plenty of sun loungers. The hotel location is perfect, just minutes away from the beach and a strip of seaside restaurants and bars. There is also a mini-market nearly next door, which was great for picking up a bottle of wine to drink on our balcony before heading out to dinner! The hotel staff were friendly, particularly Spiridoula who is a real asset to the hotel. Spiridoula gave us plenty of information and tips for what to do and see during our stay and without her guidance our holiday would not have been the same!! She was more than happy to assist us with any of our queries and was on hand to recommend places to eat too! All in all we had a fantastic holiday and would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone considering Santorini!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Having just come back from the avra yesterday I would definitely stay again, rooms cleaned every day staff lovely and friendly , we found a lovely local bar straight out of the hotel across the road and first right lovely food and drinks a bit cheaper than the sea front , he even bought the six of us a present when we went to say good bye, we did spend a fortune on drinks which were extortionate ,but still had a great holiday , beautiful scenery too , forgot to mention breakfast which was continental, toast fruit yoghurt ham n cheese but enough to put you on till dinner time , the boat trip to the hot springs was enjoyable but didn't make it up to the volcano too steep for me.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is in a very good location in Kamari, it is just around 5 minutes walk to the beach.The LOLOS tavernas, shops and mini markets are very near by. It is around 10 minutes walk to go to the bus stop and Kamari tours. Our apartment was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. The apt was complete in all respects, two tidy rooms, with air conditioner, a small balcony, tv, a small fridge kitchen with all utensils and cutlary crockery. Avra has a beautiful garden and pool. The breakfast is simple and basic with ham, cheese, biscuits, cakes, toast, bread, juice, hot chocolate, coffee and tea, sometimes they provide egg, tomato and cucumber.

Room Tip: Choose the apartments with 2 bhk. they are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ad_dayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We are currently stopping here on a two week holiday,one week left to go.you can't wish for a cleaner hotel,the gardens are well kept,continental breakfast is good,staff are so friendly,and know all about the island,short walk to the main strip and beach,I would recommend this hotel to anybody..

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank BAZZA8469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This small hotel is in a very good location in Kamari, it is just around 5 minutes walk to go to the beach, to the beach promenade, tavernas, shops and mini markets. It is around 10 minutes walk to go to the bus stop for going to Fira.

We had our room on the ground floor near the reception. The hotel room is big enough, clean, tidy, with air conditioner, a small balcony, tv, a small fridge. A safe deposit is also available in the room with 1 EUR fee/day. The shower cabin is very small.

Avra has a beautiful garden and pool. The breakfast is simple and basic with ham, cheese, biscuits, cakes, toast, bread, juice, hot chocolate, coffee and tea, sometimes they provide egg, tomato and cucumber.

The hotel reception Ms. Spiridoula was friendly and provided the useful information for example about the good taverna near the hotel and other informations about going around the island. She tried to give the best service to the guests.

The location of Avra is not so far from the airport, but the flights did not really disturb us in the night. The most flights were during the day until late evening around 10.00 pm.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tine07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

2 week stay for a family wedding was made quite magical by our time at the Avra hotel.Staff were very friendly and helpful,nice pool,comfy clean room and we fell in love with Kamari. The staff kindly decorated the hotel for the wedding day and everyone we chatted to as we lazed round the pool agreed it was a superb hotel. Back in the UK now and wish we were back there!

Room Tip: Fab gardens,tended by owner,garden view good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.4 mi away
Sellada Apartments Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Akis
Hotel Akis
#67 of 75 in Kamari
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mary Hotel
Mary Hotel
#64 of 75 in Kamari
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#26 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kafouros Hotel
Kafouros Hotel
#31 of 75 in Kamari
216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#55 of 75 in Kamari
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Hotel

Address: Kamari 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: $75 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Avra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Avra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Hotel Kamari
Avra Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing