We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel,nice view, excellent staff”
Review of Argo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Argo Hotel
Ranked #26 of 31 Kamari B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at Argo 1 week in May 2013. We had a two rooms apartment with kitchenette. The room was spacious enough for our family (2 adults,and a 4-year-old). The ocean view from the balcony was beautiful. Room was very clean and comfortable. We would especially like to thank the hotel staff, they were so friendly, nice and helpful. They helped us to rent a car and gave many useful route tips. The price-quality ratio of this hotel is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matkaonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at Argo in the end of July 2012. The outlook of the hotel is very nice but little things that could easily be fixed by the management are annoying.
We stayed in a studio apartment with a terrace and ocean view. The terrace had plastic chairs which was a turn off for me since plastic and metal in a 32 degrees celsius heat is not that comfortable to sit in.

The kitchen corner was cute, but obviously quite cramped and the fridge was in the other side or the room. The kitchen equipment was verry limited with a small (pretty unsafe) stove and a kettle. We only made breakfast in the room/studio so we managed well, but preparing a bigger meal would have been a challenge :D (who wants to prepare anything but breakfast anyway when you can eat out at the same price in Greece.)

Our studio apartment had separate beds which also was a downer for us, since travelling as a couple we would have naturally wanted to sleep next to each other. The beds were, how can I say, "walled up" as a part of the floor so there was no way or moving them together either. The beds where verry hard and the pillows were very hard too and seemed quite old.

On the plus side our cheats and towels were changed every day during our one week stay. Althoug one day the cleaning lady didn't turn up at all although she was in the next room and we were just leaving the hotel.

The outlook of the hotel is very nice and the pool area and the lobby are nicely decorated and homey. The pool area has sunbeds that were (like the beds) pretty uncomfortable. The pool area was calm we only used it two times during the week and for a couple of hours which sufficed.

The tv in our room was very small and had like 2 channels. We opened it once on the first day but didn't feel the need to do it again.

The bathroom was roomy and had nice stone tiling, The mirror could be changed and there should definitely be a shower curtain since once showering the water was all over the bathroom and the floor was extremely slippery. The cleaning lady did provide a bath mat once asked. The bathroom was damp and ventilation was nonexistent so it was smart to keep the bathroom door open when not in the room, otherwise the bathroom tended to get pretty smelly (= you can't flush the toilet paper anywhere in Greece and the dampness combined).

The studio and two bedroom apartments have air conditioning included. The condensation water (or what do you call it) had a container on the terrace, once full the air conditioner leaked and managed to leak down the curtains and on my boyfriends suitcase. We emptied it ourselves about three times but obviously would have thought that that was something that should have been mentioned before hand and been done by staff once you're on holiday.

We didn't spent that much time at the hotel so all the small things that could do with some fixing didn't bother us that much. I surely hope that the hotel does a few adjustments since the location is good (up the hill and with a nice view). I cant say anything about staying in the regular hotel rooms or two bedroom apartments, but these are my views on staying in a studio apartment.

IF you stay at the hotel I would recommend an early wake up on one morning and a hike up the hill to Ancient Thira, look at the sunrise on the way and then hike down the hill to Perissa and have breakfast there (we has breakfast at a cafeteria on the beach called Vienna - GREAT!) and then take the local boat back to Kamari (4€).

The wifi at the hotel only works in the hotel lobby and not anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buddhatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Room wasn't even close of pictures. We paid of two rooms apartment and got bedroom + kitchen with sofa. Not like in pictures (Living room, bedroom and small kitchen). We didn't see staff, because they didn't even say welcome, when we went. Television didn't work. BUT: View was GREAT, and because of high hill, there wasn't any screaming kids in pool and location is very peaceful. Bed was excellent and room was very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed at Argo for one week. The hotel is very clean, towels changed every day, room also cleaned every day. The breakfast is poor in variations, but the food served is good: one type of hard cheese, two types of ham, yogurt, 4 types of gem, honey, butter, coffee, juice. The same every day unfortunately. The hotel is close to Kamari Beach: 5-7 minutes walk downhill. A little bit difficult for old or inactive people on the way back. The slope is quite steep for half of the way. The staff is nice, but the only one who speaks English is the lady at the reception (the owner I think) and even she didn't understand it very well. The hotel is quiet, in a quiet and beautiful area, fairly close to the center (like 10-15 minutes walk to any tavern, bar, shop). No internet connection.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cantecel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for a week in August 2011. The pool area was nice and never too crowded. That's a big plus! There was a poolside bar where you could buy drinks and snacks. The rooms were tidy, and a bit worn down.

The minuses on the hotel were the bed in my single, which was extremely hard. Also the hotel is on a steep hill, which on a hot weather was tiring to walk. You could only watch two channels on the tv, one German channel and one Greek channel, the second with a very bad reception.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaisa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at the Argo Hotel in August.We found the young man very very helpful and our room was lovely the only negatives are, the towels are so rough they don't use softener , they serve the same breakfast everyday,the tv never worked and there was no kettle,the rooms are cleaned everyday. Although not on the beach it is in a nice location 5 min walk to the beach.Please be careful if you go on the Volcano boat trip they often mention the restaurant Captain John Dont be sucked in this place is self serve with no prices they rush you in and as you pay they type it on the calculator we decided to check the prices before we left because they seemed high and when we got the menu (with a struggle) they over charged us by 8.00 euros

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel looks OK from outside but the room where we stay was awful - the furniture was old, the toilet was like in a bad dream...if you took a shower the water was everywhere .... As I understood there are rooms which were renovated so if you really want to book a room at this hotel, make sure you will receive a room with new furniture and a clean toilet. The breakfast was basically not so variety but OK from my point of view[no eggs, bacon ]
I do not recommended this hotel if you pay for a 3 star hotel & if you have expectation for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CrisAndrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.1 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#3 of 75 in Kamari
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellonias Villas
Bellonias Villas
#2 of 75 in Kamari
821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#18 of 75 in Kamari
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santorini Kastelli Resort
0.5 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#1 of 75 in Kamari
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argo Hotel

Address: Kamari 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Kamari
Price Range: $59 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Argo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argo Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing